Taryn C. (TarynC) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 206 - Page:
18 Seconds (Sherry Moore, Bk 1)
18 Seconds (Sherry Moore, Bk 1)
Author: George Shuman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 7/1/2008


I really enjoyed this book. It was fast moving and added a bit more to the usual police drama. Never read this author before, but I hope he has more out there.


The Abstinence Teacher
The Abstinence Teacher
Author: Tom Perrotta
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 6/22/2010


this book was just OK. It could have been so much more. It was a great concept but the author just doesnt seem to be a talented enough author to pull it off. The characters could have been better developed and the ending could have been less obvious.


The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 466
Review Date: 5/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I did not like this book at all. It was not in the same class as, The Lovely Bones,very dissapointing and depressing.


American Heiress: The Wild, Strange Saga of Patty Hearst and the Symbionese Liberation Army
Review Date: 12/9/2016


growing up in the Patty Hearst Era I found this fascinating. I think it was fairly written and gave me insight into the entire affair. Some of it was boring and I needed to skim but worth the time reading it. Patty was an extremely unlikeable person and I dont think the book in any way glorified her or her actions. Sadly she was pardoned for her crimes due to her family money and politics and lived her life in comfort and wealth.


The American Plague: The Untold Story of Yellow Fever, the Epidemic that Shaped Our History
Review Date: 4/15/2012
Helpful Score: 2


fascinating account of Yellow Fever, its origins, the millions of lives it claimed and the way it was finally understood and fought by dedicated Medical scientists. I didnt know anything about Walter Reed other than a hospital being named for him, what a great history lesson!


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 6/8/2007


One of the most powerful books I have read. Its amazing to think that despite his horrible childhood Frank McCourt not only survived but accomplished all he has! This is even better to listen to on audio because Frank narrates it himself and listening to him is mesmerizing!


Another Day in the Frontal Lobe : A Brain Surgeon Exposes Life on the Inside
Review Date: 1/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


As a Neonatal Intensive Care Nurse for 30 yrs, maybe I am jaded. I figured this would be an interesting book. There were a few things I did find fascinating, but overall it's a little boring, a little too long and to me, just another typical Physician writing about their job/calling/ego "saving the world".


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 371
Review Date: 2/12/2008


I couldnt get into this book at all and then I saw the movie, which was also dissapointing.


Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother
Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother
Author: Amy Chua
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 2/28/2014


In my opinion Amy Chua should have been embarrased to publish this book. First off its very poorly written for such a self important, well educated woman. Secondly, CPS should have gotten involved with this family for the abuse she inflicted on her daughters. In this age of cultural sensitivity and Political Correctness perhaps she believed that would save her by blaming her Chinese heritage for the abuse, however, her American husband is also at fault for allowing her to behave this way towards his children. All I can say is that I didnt abuse my children and they graduated from Columbia University and are successful and well balanced and most important they love and respect me and my husband. Dont waste your time on this trash or Ms.Chua, she clearly deserved an F for this book.


Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 8/6/2009


I love this author but this book was boring and I couldnt get into it, I quit after I reread the first few chapters twice since I figured the first time I wasnt in the right state of mind.....sometimes I think popular authors in the quest to "produce" and meet their publishers deadlines decrease their quality and turn out substandard product. This seems to be, in my humble opinion, one of those times.


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 6/1/2007


This was a cute book. Light and fun reading. I enjoy Ms. Trigiani's books because her characters are wonderful and they really "come to life", nothing terribly exciting happens with the plot but I get attached to the characters and want to hear more about their "lives".


The Birth House
The Birth House
Author: Ami McKay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 9/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great book on women and their sexuality in WWII era Nova Scotia. Fast reading with a great message that resounds today, giving birth is a sacred event. Midwife care should be the norm for healthy women as our bodies generally know what to do. Highly trained physicians are wonderful for the problems that may arise and the two should work in harmony! Thank GOD they have come a long way since the poor OB care and medical beliefs of "Dr. Thomas" in the book!


The Birth of Venus
The Birth of Venus
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 751
Review Date: 7/14/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This was a very interesting book about a time in Italy that I didnt know much about. Good twists, well written. Highly recommended.


Blackbird House
Blackbird House
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 12/23/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I love Alice Hoffman and this book didn't dissapoint. It is basically a group of short stories that take place in a 200 yr period in the same cottage in New England. Some of the stories are connected in some way, some are completely different. The book is a quick read but thought provoking. I highly recommend this book especially if you are a Hoffman fan.


Bless Me, Ultima
Bless Me, Ultima
Author: Rudolfo Anaya
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book was deeply moving and well written. If you are Catholic it will make more sense as there is allot of symbolism regarding the Catholic faith.


A Blessed Event
A Blessed Event
Author: Jean Reynolds Page
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 4/18/2007


an interesting story with some twists


Blessings
Blessings
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 3/10/2007


sweet story, a bit predictable, not anna's best work in my opinion


Blindman's Bluff CD (Decker and Lazarus)
Blindman's Bluff CD (Decker and Lazarus)
Author: Faye Kellerman
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/25/2009


I guess I am just not finding the ongoing stories of Rina & Peter to be very interesting anymore, or maybe Faye is just not keeping up with engaging topics and twists in her writing. I used to love the decker/lazarus book series but maybe its time to retire these characters and find some new ones.


The Blue Zone
The Blue Zone
Author: Andrew Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 9/22/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This book was quick moving and kept me guessing. I recommend it!


Bobbi Brown Living Beauty
Bobbi Brown Living Beauty
Author: Bobbi Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


was not at all what I expected. Should have had more beauty/makeup techniques. BORING....


1 to 20 of 206 - Page: