Kris T. (runner770) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
American Assassin (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
American Assassin (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 11/30/2011


Finally, an answer to the question...How did Mitch get to be where he is today? This book answered this question and several other ones I've had reading Flynn's other books. I just wished it was a little bit earlier in the series. Compared to the first 10 books, I would consider this a light read. Not as suspenseful as the other books, but it does a good job of laying down the foundation for Mitch, Kennedy and the other folks mentioned in the later books. While it won't keep you glued to the seat, it is a good book.


Beat the Reaper
Beat the Reaper
Author: Josh Bazell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 10/9/2011


The title of the book initially peeked my interest when I purchased it. Once I got into the book, I realized that I was going for a ride of my life. The basic premise of this book focuses on Peter Brown, a medical resident, whose under the Federal Witness Protection Program. How did he get here? Imagine that Peter was once a mafia hit man in NYC. Between the stories of being a hitman and life in a second-class hospital, this book will leave your head a spinning. The author's use of flashbacks in this book will definitely keep you on your toes.


Coup d'Etat
Coup d'Etat
Author: Ben Coes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/2/2014


Ben Coes does it again. If you seek a book that you can't set down, then this is the one. This book finds the main character (Dewey Andreas)trying to find a less stressful life in the middle of the Outback, only to be targeted by a death squad. Survival in the world of espionage forces Dewey to live by his instincts. I found every chapter leaving me with the desire for more. If you like the works of Vince Flynn, you won't be disappointed with Ben Coes.


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1727
Review Date: 9/7/2011


What a marvelous book. I put it up against books written by Vince Flynn (who I consider my favorite author). Even when I thought I had figured it out, Brown throws a curve ball that caught me totally off guard. This is a book that you won't be able to put down.


Digital Fortress
Digital Fortress
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1738
Review Date: 9/7/2011


After reading The DaVinci Code, I had high hopes of another Dan Brown book with twists and turns on every page. Unfortunately, this book did not reachg my level of expectation. At times, I forced myself to read just to complete it. While there were a few unexpected turns in the book, I didn't really experience any suspense until near the end. I give the book 2 stars based on the last 50 pages. If you really want to read one of Brown's better books, then pick up Deception Point. That one had me reading it while cooking dinner.


The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1)
The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1)
Author: Alex Berenson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 6/23/2012


I stumbled upon this series by accident and am glad I did. Being a diehard Vince Flynn fan, every CIA/Black Ops book I read now is judged to what Flynn writes. I can honestly say that Berenson holds his own against Flynn. Like Flynn's books, this is one you don't want to put down.


The First Commandment (Scot Harvath, Bk 6)
The First Commandment (Scot Harvath, Bk 6)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 4/15/2012


Having recently stumbled across the series of books written by Brad Thor, I have to admit they're good. If you are into suspense and espionage, then these books are right up your alley. Thor's book offers the reader a number of twists and turns. Just when you think you've figured out the "who done it", another bit of extraneous information is dropped into your lap. This info changes the direction of the plot and adds another element to the story.

Although this book falls within the same genre as Vince Flynn's series, it doesn't keep you on the edge of your seat like Flynn's books. I give it 4 out of 5 stars.


The German Generals Talk: Startling Revelations from Hitler's High Command
Review Date: 5/27/2015


If all you read are books written from the American perspective, then it's time for you to read from the German perspective. I found this book very informative. The strategies used by these generals capitalized on the errors made by the Allied forces. I highly recommend this book.


Memorial Day (Mitch Rapp, Bk 5)
Memorial Day (Mitch Rapp, Bk 5)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 6/2/2011


After reading eight other books by Vince Flynn, I would have to say this one kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. All of his books are hard to put down, but this had to be his best work. What made this book even better was that I was reading this book when "Seal Team 6" knocked off Osama Bin Laden. (Hint, Hint... there are some similarities between an event in the book and the take down of Bin Laden.) Three cheers to Vince Flynn and to Seal Team 6!


My Side of the Mountain (Mountain, Bk 1)
My Side of the Mountain (Mountain, Bk 1)
Author: Jean Craighead George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 9/22/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Who has not ever thought about running away from home? This book speaks about a boy who acted on his instincts and actually did so. For a chapter book written around 50 years ago, it's still relevant today as it was back then. It's ideal for an older elementary or younger middle school student who has a vivid imagination. The author's ability to create a picture of the boy's adventures is outstanding. A must read for boy or girl.


On the Far Side of the Mountain
On the Far Side of the Mountain
Author: Jean Craighead George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 10/2/2012


I found this book to be a nice follow-up to her first book, My Side of the Mountain. This book picks up where the first one left off. Sam's challenges continued when his family decides to return to the city, but with one less child. His little sister convinces her parents that she wants to stay with Sam for the next year, much to his chagrin. What will Sam do now with a sister who is just as free spirited, if not more, as he is? His challenges are multiplied when his sister runs away shortly after his falcon, Frighten, his confiscated by the local conservation officer . What will he do?


Shooter : The Autobiography of the Top-Ranked Marine Sniper
Review Date: 10/3/2011


After reading several books written by retired generals, it's nice to read a book from a soldier's perspective during a war. From preparation to completion of tasks, Coughlin has given us a glimpse of his daily routines and challenges. Overall, this book is a light read. While a few excerpts slowed the tempo of the book, the rest of the book kept you rivited to your seat.


Takedown (Scot Harvath, Bk 5)
Takedown (Scot Harvath, Bk 5)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/3/2012


After stumbling across Thor's first book,I've become a big fan of his. So much that he now ranks up there with Vince Flynn (my favorite). Compared to his first book, Takedown grabs the readers' attention immediately and doesn't let go. With a number of twists and turns within the chapters. one is torn between setting the book down or ignoring the world around them. I give this spy novel two thumbs up.


Untold Valor: Forgotten Stories of American Bomber Crews over Europe in World War II
Review Date: 7/18/2012


The author did an outstanding job researching the various topics presented. More importantly he collected the thoughts and feelings of these veterans whose stories may have been told to family members and friends, but not the rest of the world. Their stories must be told! The atrocities these vets experienced clearly shows the perils of war for soldiers, prisoners as well as civilians. This book will also provide the reader a good picture of the cultural environment of Europe and America during the 1940s. Soldiers faced faced various forms of discrimination by the military command that will leave the younger generations speechless. I highly recommend this book for those readers who are interested in military history during the 1940s.


Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life Again
Review Date: 12/9/2016


Crystal's account of going to heaven and her experiences is truly inspiring. For those who question if God exists or not will find her story as confirmation that God does exists. Crystal learns that God even loves those people whose lives are less than perfect. This is a book I highly recommend.


The Witches
The Witches
Author: Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 6/24/2012


Cute book. My daughter read it every night before bed. I also enjoyed it as well.


1 to 16 of 16