Adam S. (AShaef) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The Brothers Karamazov
Review Date: 11/2/2006


The best novel ever written in the best translation available. Pevear and Volokhonsky do a beautiful job of bringing Dostoevsky's Russian to life in modern English. This book is a must read.


Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana
Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 4/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Beautiful, tender, and sweet.

Telling this story in the first person was a bold move, but it gives us a taste of what life may have been like for Christ: fully man with all the temptations, pains, and difficulties that brings, yet sinless in their midst; and fully God--powerful and strong, yet gentle and compassionate.

Especially poignant, heartbreaking even, were the scenes involving Avigail. The baptism of Christ in the Jordan and his temptation by Satan in the wilderness were wonderful passages as well.

I greatly enjoyed this book, and at just 242 pages, the story flies by.


Ender's Game (Ender, Bk 1)
Ender's Game (Ender, Bk 1)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 963
Review Date: 11/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is by far the best science fiction book I've ever read, and I've read a few. I can't recommend it highly enough, even for those who don't typically enjoy sci-fi.


A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 1)
A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 1)
Author: George R. R. Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 768
Review Date: 10/31/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Good fantasy series, but not for the faint of heart.


Hood (King Raven, Bk 1)
Hood (King Raven, Bk 1)
Author: Stephen R. Lawhead
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 12/8/2006


This is the Stephen Lawhead we've come to expect. Very Celtic, very Welsh, very fun to read!


The Last Unicorn
The Last Unicorn
Author: Peter S. Beagle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 3/2/2008
Helpful Score: 5


This is a beautifully told story that lingered with me for days after I finished reading it. For anyone who wants to write fiction, I strongly recommend you pick up this book and revel in Beagle's prose--it is simply magnificent.


The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Patrick Rothfuss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 221
Review Date: 1/18/2008
Helpful Score: 24


A mere 2 hours or so after finishing this novel I picked it up and started reading it again. Now why in the world would I do this? I asked myself that question a few times and my answer is:

* It's damn good writing.
The language Rothfuss uses is beautiful, absolutely beautiful. I found myself rereading sections simply because they were so delightfully and beautifully written. He has a poetical turn of phrase, and there are passages that simply sing.

* But it's also a riveting story.
The story pulled me in, immersing me in Kvothe's world so much that I half expected to see the scrael scuttling through my backyard (a truly terrifying thought for anyone who hates spiders as passionately as I do).

* And the characters are absolutely believable.
Kvothe is a living and breathing character who practically leaps off the page--unruly red hair and eyes bright green like new growth grass. He is absolutely believable, especially to anyone who remembers being a boy and the awkwardness that comes with growing up.

I guess that's three answers.


The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Patrick Rothfuss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 4/19/2007
Helpful Score: 9


A mere 2 hours or so after finishing this novel I picked it up and started reading it again. Now why in the world would I do this? I asked myself that question a few times and my answer is:

* It's damn good writing.
The language Rothfuss uses is beautiful, absolutely beautiful. I found myself rereading sections simply because they were so delightfully and beautifully written. He has a poetical turn of phrase, and there are passages that simply sing.

* But it's also a riveting story.
The story pulled me in, immersing me in Kvothe's world so much that I half expected to see the scrael scuttling through my backyard (a truly terrifying thought for anyone who hates spiders as passionately as I do).

* And the characters are absolutely believable.
Kvothe is a living and breathing character who practically leaps off the page--unruly red hair and eyes bright green like new growth grass. He is absolutely believable, especially to anyone who remembers being a boy and the awkwardness that comes with growing up.

I guess that's three answers.


St. Luke's Missiology: A Cross-Cultural Challenge
St. Luke's Missiology: A Cross-Cultural Challenge
Author: Harold Dollar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/31/2006


The best book of its kind.


The Well of Ascension (Mistborn, Bk 2)
The Well of Ascension (Mistborn, Bk 2)
Author: Brandon Sanderson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 3/31/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A great follow-up to a great first book. This is an exciting story, packed with intrigue, action, and characters who feel authentic in their actions and motivations. Sanderson has a great story building here, and I eagerly await book three this October. If you're looking for solid epic fantasy with interesting characters and a unique system of magic, look no further than the Mistborn trilogy.


1 to 10 of 10