Susan F. (PrairieBlue) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 77 - Page:
All Our Tomorrows
All Our Tomorrows
Author: Irene Hannon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 9/4/2006


After losing her photographer fiancé in an act of violence overseas, reporter Caroline James sought solace in home and family in St. Louis. Hoping to heal her shattered life, she threw herself into work at a local newspaper. Then David Sloan walked into her office.
Since the day he'd met her -- as his brother's fiancée -- David had secretly cared for Caroline. Surely the Lord had led him back to Caroline for a purposeto help each other past their mutual tragedy and to learn to live and love again.


Along Came Love (Love Inspired, No 345)
Along Came Love (Love Inspired, No 345)
Author: Carrie Turansky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Lauren Woodman is a woman with a secret only her Aunt Tilley knows. When she sees a man walking in a Vermont blizzard she drives on past, afraid to stop. It isn't safe to pick up strangers, even in this remote area. But a deer runs across the road in front of her, causing her car to slide into the ditch. The stranger helps get the car back on the road, and she doesn't feel she can drive off and leave him, so she takes him to Aunt Tilley's house.

All Wes Evans wants is a place to rest while he decides what to do with the rest of his life. A missionary in the Middle East, Wes was arrested for sharing the gospel and accused of being a CIA spy. After eighteen months of brutal intererogtion and torture in a Middle Eastern prison, he is hiding out from the press. He's attracted to Lauren, but he's having trouble dealing with his past. Besides he has nothing to offer her. All he knows how to do is be a missionary and even that is closed to him now.

Lauren is perturbed by the growing affection between Wes and her six-year old son. How would he feel if he knew the truth about her. It takes a near tragedy to teach Lauren and Wes about God's wonderful gift of love and forgiveness. Carrie Turansky does a good job of pulling the reader into the story.


An Honest Life (Love Inspired)
An Honest Life (Love Inspired)
Author: Dana Corbit
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 9/4/2006


A preacher. A deacon. That was the kind of man nurse Charity Sims planned to marry. Which is why her lovesick behavior around Rick McKinley, the contractor building a family center for her church, so confused her. He refused to go to church, let alone lead one. So what if he was handsome and charming? They couldn't be more different.

Infuriating as Rick was, Charity's mission was clear: Help him see the light of church. As a loner who depended only on himself, he'd be tough to reach. But Charity was determined, even though she knew she risked her own strongly built convictions -- about the man who should have her heart.


Angel Angel
Angel Angel
Author: April Stevens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


When it finally dawns on Augusta Iris that her husband has left her, she pulls the shade, climbs into bed, and pretty much just quits her life.
The story revolves around Augusta and her two sons Henry and Mathew, who have little in common and have had little to do with each other but are now forced to cope.
Bette first appears as Henry's girlfriend. There is conflict, a brief romance triangle, but Bette ultimately brings the family back together.

I found this to be a quick and very enjoyable read.


Any Man of Mine (Love Inspired, No 355)
Any Man of Mine (Love Inspired, No 355)
Author: Carolyne Aarsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 9/4/2006


Living with three brothers has taught me what I don't want in a husband. "Guys" who can only converse about farming, welding and hockey won't cut it. And those who prefer a rodeo to a symphony or dusty jeans to a nice suit are not for me.
Unfortunately, my hometown is full of guys just like my brothers. So I've been planning to move to the city for a fresh start. But now I'm having second thoughts. There's a new man in towna churchgoer who's cultured, wears suits and, most important, is nothing like my brothers.


Before Women Had Wings
Before Women Had Wings
Author: Connie May Fowler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 9/13/2006


Raised in an atmosphere of poverty and violence, 6-year-old Avocet Abigail Jackson, or Bird as she's called, is wise beyond her years. After falling to abuse by her alcoholic parents and the destructive upheaval of moving from one flop house to the next, her one solace is Jesus, whom she fantasizes as a possible suitor. While her older sister discovers romance with a local boy, Bird discovers Miss Zora, a mysterious black woman who lives alone in a cottage near Bird's school and comes to teach the little girl about dignity and her own capacity for forgiveness.


Best Friends Don't Tell Lies
Best Friends Don't Tell Lies
Author: Linda Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/9/2006


Best friends don't tell lies . . . But Jill does. Jill didn't used to be like that. Jill used to be a sweet, terrific person to know. Once, I even considered her the best friend that I'd ever had. But that's all changed now. There's something really wrong with Jill. She gets terrible headaches and yells at everyone. When she's not angry, she sulks and refused to talk--even to me. It really hurts to see Jill act like this. But the absolute worst is her lying. It's like she doesn't care about anyone--not even herself. I don't know how much more I can take. Best friends aren't supposed to give up on each other. And I don't want to. But what else can I do?


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 465
Review Date: 1/20/2007


In the town of Big Stone Gap, Virginia, not much happens. The highlight of 35-year-old Ave Maria Mulligan's week comes on Friday, with the arrival of the Bookmobile, the sight of which sends her into raptures. Her favorite book concerns the ancient Chinese art of reading faces. Through her face-readings, we come to understand the hostilities simmering within her family: her father whose small eyes are the clear "sign of a deceptive nature." Her aunt who "has a small head and thin lips. (That's a terrible combination.)" Adriana Trigiani's first novel concerns the family scandals that befall Ave Maria in this seemingly uneventful town. Greed, lust, envy--all the ancient emotional elements--manifest themselves even in this hamlet of "ordinary folk."

**A good book with lots of interesting characters. I'm looking forward to reading the sequel.**


Blissfully Yours (Love Inspired)
Blissfully Yours (Love Inspired)
Author: Diann Walker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 9/4/2006


It was an offer I couldn't refuse: take some time off from teaching and help out at the opening of my friend's brother Mitch's fabulous Bliss Village ski resort. After all, thanks to my mother, I'd already dated most of the so-called eligible men in Tumbleweed, Arizona. What was left to hold me here?
Um, cowardice? I haven't taken many risks outside of my familiar environment. Okay, try none. Still, if risk comes in the shape of tall, blond and handsome Mitch Windsor, how can I say no?


Butterfly Summer (Love Inspired)
Butterfly Summer (Love Inspired)
Author: Arlene James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/4/2006


The Gossip Guru has some shocking news: devout Wallace Hamilton, head of rival newspaper the Davis Landing Dispatch, is not Jeremy Hamilton's father! Word is, his wife was already pregnant when they wed and now that Jeremy has learned the truth, he's quit. Who'll run the company while Wallace is in the hospital?
In more Hamilton news, quiet Heather has had a makeover -- who knew she was so stunning? Maybe photographer Ethan Danes, who seems to have taken an interest in Heather now that she's started this butterfly summer.


The Case Of The Logical I Ranch (New Adventures of Mary-Kate & Ashley, #23)
Review Date: 8/28/2006


Do you believe in dragons? Ashley and I didn't -- until we went to the Logical I dude ranch. Strange noises in the middle of the night...a terrible smell coming from the well...things at the Logical I weren't logical at all! We were on the case!
An old ranch hand, Dusty, said a dragon was behind it all. Ashley and I didn't believe him -- until we found giant pawprints outside our bunkhouse! Were we really on the trail of a dragon?


A Countess Below Stairs
A Countess Below Stairs
Author: Eva Ibbotson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/4/2007
Helpful Score: 2


After the russian revolution turns her world topsy-turvy, Anna, a young russian countess, has no choice but to flee to england. penniless, Anna hides her aristocratic background and takes a job as servant in the household of the esteemed westerholme family, armed only with an outdated housekeeping manual and sheer determination. Desperate to keep her past a secret, Anna is nearly overwhelmed by her new dutiesnot to mention her instant attraction to rupert, the handsome earl of westerholme. to make matters worse, rupert appears to be falling for her as well. As their attraction grows stronger, Anna finds it more and more difficult to keep her most dearly held secrets from unraveling. And then theres the small matter of ruperts beautiful and nasty fiancée. . . .


Cw2
Cw2
Author: Layne Heath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/18/2007


Warrant Officer Billy Roark's love of helicopters brought him back to the deadly A-Shau Valley after a year spent stateside. Now there were new choppers to pilot, new missions to fly over the killing fields of Vietnam--and an old enemy grown bolder, deadlier and more elusive.But this time Billy was going to make a difference. This time outhe was going to do it right.


Dawn on a Distant Shore (Wilderness, Bk 2)
Dawn on a Distant Shore (Wilderness, Bk 2)
Author: Sara Donati
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 3/21/2007
Helpful Score: 2


In the winter of 1794, on the edge of the New York wilderness, Elizabeth and Nathaniel Bonner have settled into the comforts of domestic bliss. Typically, however, adventure seeks these two out. Alone but for her stepdaughter Hannah, Elizabeth gives birth to twins, while Nathaniel and his father Hawkeye are imprisoned in Montreal. Determined to help her men, Elizabeth packs up the children and sets off to free them. Liberty does not bring relief to the Bonner clan, however, as sinister forces conspire to pirate them to Scotland and embroil them in a complex family feud.


Dear Napoleon, I know you're dead, but...
Dear Napoleon, I know you're dead, but...
Author: Elvira Woodruff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/28/2006


Faced with a school assignment to write a letter to a famous person, Marty chooses to write to Napoleon Bonaparte. He has heard all about him from his grandfather, a lovable old coot. When the elderly man is forced into a nursing home, he tells Marty that one of the other residents can actually deliver the letter to Napoleon. Several weeks later, Marty astounds his classmates and teacher by receiving a letter, postmarked Paris, from the Emperor himself. The boy goes on to receive other missives from, for example, Abraham Lincoln and Thomas Edison, and eventually comes to believe that his grandfather has pulled off an elaborate hoax. However, following the old man's death, a last letter arrives from Vincent Van Gogh, adding a bit ambiguity to the story. This unresolved element does not detract from the mystery, since most readers would be disappointed if the letters were the mere product of playful scheming. Throughout, a nice balance is maintained between the story's serious elements and the humorous, fantastic parts. The affectionate relationship between Marty and his grandfather is particularly well rendered.


Die Laughing (Nightmare Club)
Die Laughing (Nightmare Club)
Author: Vincent Courtney
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/28/2006


The Night Owl Club is the coolest place to hang out in Cooper Hollow. The kids have renamed it the Nightmare Club because it's the place where weird and terrifying things happen.


Die Trying (Jack Reacher, Bk 2)
Die Trying (Jack Reacher, Bk 2)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 333
Review Date: 1/18/2007


Jack Reacher is in both the wrong and the right place at the same time when FBI Special Agent and daughter of the chair of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Holly Johnson is abducted from a Chicago street. It is the wrong place because Reacher, a former army major drifting around the country, is kidnapped as well. It is the right place because only he has the instincts to foil the complex, deadly plan of the kidnappers, a Montana militia group headed by a charismatic, brilliant, but psychotic leader.


Does Third Grade Last Forever?
Does Third Grade Last Forever?
Author: Mindy Schanback
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/28/2006


When her mother remarries, eight-year-old Tracy has to get used to a new school and a new obnoxious stepbrother.


Dream of Me / Believe in Me (Viking & Saxon, Bks 1 & 2)
Dream of Me / Believe in Me (Viking & Saxon, Bks 1 & 2)
Author: Josie Litton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 3/21/2007


Far older than his legend, the immortal Vlad Dracul has wandered the earth for centuries in search of the reincarnation of his wife, Elisabeta. Now he believes he has found the woman possessed by his beloved's soul and is prepared to make her his for all eternity.


Ellen Tebbits (Ellen & Otis, Bk 1)
Ellen Tebbits (Ellen & Otis, Bk 1)
Author: Beverly Cleary, Louis Darling (Illustrator)
Book Type: Other
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/9/2006


Ellen was eight years old and wore bands on her teeth. Her best friend had just moved away and she missed her. Still, as she walked to the Spofford School of the Dance one Saturday, she was almost glad she had no best friend. Best friends do not have secrets from each other, and Ellen had a secret she did not want to share with anyone. But by the time the dancing lesson was over (surely the most devastating dancing lesson on record), Ellen had found a best friend and shared her secret. The best friend was Austine, and the secret was that Ellen was wearing woolen underwear. So was Austine!


1 to 20 of 77 - Page: