janisbeth - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
101 Great Mail-Order Businesses : The Very Best (and Most Profitable!) Mail-Order Businesses You Can Start with Little or No Money
Review Date: 10/31/2011


Interesting ideas!


Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 1)
Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 1)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 2/27/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This quirky mystery features a socially-inept retired P.R. executive trying to adjust to small-town life after a career in London. I confess I was not able to like the protagonist, who solves the rather contrived mystery by a matter of persistence and luck. This has been a popular series, so obviously others are more enthusiastic!


Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, Bk 2)
Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, Bk 2)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 3/9/2010


Well, I read the whole thing, but I don't think Ms. Raisin is going to be a favorite. I find the character a little too unsympathetic, I guess. But she seems to have many fans, so hopefully someone else will enjoy the book more than I did!


The Anvil of the World
The Anvil of the World
Author: Kage Baker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/19/2010


This book was fun! I thought the environmentalist angle was just a tad overdone, but the story was engrossing and the characters appealing. Baker did a good job of creating a coherent alternative world.


Beauty
Beauty
Author: Sheri S. Tepper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 2/9/2012


This was a fun read, though dark in places. I enjoyed picking out all the different fairy tales that were interwoven into it; but it's not a children's book.


Belarus
Belarus
Author: Lee Hogan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/26/2010


This book turned out to be almost as good as I'd hoped! Good characters and an absorbing plot, with a quasi-Russian theme.


Chipi Chipis, Small Shells of the Sea / Chipi Chipis, Caracolitos Del Mar
Review Date: 6/17/2012


This lovely illustrated book for children is printed in English and Spanish side by side.


Complete Custom Closet: How to Make the Most of Every Space (Popular Woodworking)
Review Date: 4/17/2010


"The Complete Custom Closet" has some good ideas for maximizing the use of one's closets, mostly by creating built-in shelving and drawers. It's not fine furniture, but I'd advise anyone who wants to use the designs in the book to have a little previous woodworking experience. Or just use it for inspiration!


The Dark Fae (World of Fae, Bk 1)
The Dark Fae (World of Fae, Bk 1)
Author: Terry Spear
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/8/2013


I think I might have loved this book when I was about thirteen. Definitely geared to teenage girls, and unlike some works for children or "young adults," it's too simple in style to be really interesting to an adult. There's a little bit of implied sexuality, but on a very innocent level that shouldn't be a problem for most parents.


Death of an Outsider (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 3)
Death of an Outsider (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 3)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/9/2010


Although M. C. Beaton is not great literature, she does produce a fun and engaging mystery story, of which this is a typical example. Recommended.


The Death of Cousin Rose (Danny O'Flaherty, Bk 1)
The Death of Cousin Rose (Danny O'Flaherty, Bk 1)
Author: Jonathan Harrington
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/28/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This story is interesting because of the genealogy angle, but otherwise depends entirely on the rural western-Ireland setting for its interest; the characters are kind of flat. It breaks one of the cardinal rules of mystery writing: that the reader have all the information the detective does. Not a bad book, but not a superlative one, either.


Enchantment
Enchantment
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/5/2010


A modern fantasy based on old fairy tales. Beautifully done, though the ending is a bit weak, I think. Still, an enchanting story!


Enchantment
Enchantment
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 8/2/2013


Enchanting!


Enemies (Roc Science Fiction)
Enemies (Roc Science Fiction)
Author: Lee Hogan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/26/2010


Maybe not quite as good as Belorus (first book in the series), but still gripping.


An Excellent Mystery (Brother Cadfael Chronicles)
An Excellent Mystery (Brother Cadfael Chronicles)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Delightful reading of this lovely non-murder mystery! Highly recommend.


Fantasy Gone Wrong
Fantasy Gone Wrong
Author: Brittiany A. Koren (Editor), Martin H. Greenberg (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/26/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Much better than most sci-fi/fantasy short story collections I've read! Enjoyed the tales in this book thoroughly!


Friday
Friday
Author: Robert A. Heinlein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 5/2/2012


Fun futuristic sci-fi incorporating thoughts about computer security and Heinlein's unusual ideas about sexuality. A good read.


Getting Started in Birdwatching
Getting Started in Birdwatching
Author: Edward W. Cronin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/21/2010


An excellent starting place for the beginning or casual bird-watcher who doesn't know where to begin!


The Gypsy (Tor Fantasy)
The Gypsy (Tor Fantasy)
Author: Megan Lindholm, Steven Brust
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/27/2014


Interesting and somewhat surreal retelling of a Hungarian folk story, set in modern-day Detroit. I found it a bit confusing in the beginning; this was due in part to the frequent changes in points of view, and in part because the book plunges right into the story with no setup, leaving the reader to figure out for oneself what's going on. But I persevered and ended up with that delighted, surprised feeling one sometimes gets at the end of a good story.
I'm not familiar with Megan Lindholm, but I regard Steven Brust as one of the most interesting and creative fantasy authors I have read.


The Initiate Brother (Initiate Brother, Bk 1)
The Initiate Brother (Initiate Brother, Bk 1)
Author: Sean Russell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/11/2011


I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It was a little frustrating that the book ends in the middle of the story, but I was able to find a copy of the sequel quickly on PBS and am now in the middle of that. I enjoy the pseudo Sino-Japanese flavor of the culture, and the story itself is interesting and a little different. It's not "great literature," so I didn't give it five stars, but it's well thought out, believable, and absorbing.


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: