Judy B. (Hoody) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 53 - Page:
As Simple as Snow
As Simple as Snow
Author: Gregory Galloway
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/31/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I don't know how every one else feels but I like to have the mystery solved by the end of the book, or at least have clue what the answer is. If you don't mind never knowing what the end is you might like. I didn't care for it. It wasn't that interesting.


Autobiography of Henry VIII
Autobiography of Henry VIII
Author: Margaret George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 12/27/2008


Excalant book. Lets you see the story of Henry VIII through his eyes. It makes you think that maybe he wasn't so cruel after all.


The Barefoot Girl: A Novel of St. Margaret, Patroness of the Abused
Review Date: 12/22/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was a good story, heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time. Margarita's strength, courage, and love of humanity allow her to do wonderful things even when she faces terrible consequences. We can all learn a lot from Margarita.


The Big Girls
The Big Girls
Author: Susanna Moore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/28/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I don't really know what to say about this book. It wasn't great but it wasn't bad either. It was written in a way that makes you feel trapped in the characters head. It is insightful yet confining. I would like to say that this book gives a good Idea of what it is like inside a women's prison, but I don't know as I have never been to one. I know that when I was reading The Big Girls I wanted to continue reading it but I can't really say why. It is hard to call this book enjoyable yet it did keep my attention. In the end I would not recommend this book however, I do not regret reading it. And this is the most wishy washy review I have ever written.


The Birth of Venus
The Birth of Venus
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 752
Review Date: 7/22/2009


The Birth of Venus could have been a great story. It was slow in the beginning and I had a difficult time staying focused on it. Itdid, however, get considerably more interesting towards the end. In fact, I very much enjoyed the last 1/3 of the book. However, there was so much detail lacking, in this story , that I had a hard time envisioning the time period, Florence, the people, or anything other than the art. The art was very well described. Also, the passage of time was not well marked. It was difficult to know if it was weeks or years later in the story. Lastly, I know this is fiction, but there were certain details that she completely ignored. If you are not a big history buff and you just want an entertaining story this may not bother you. I gave this book 3 stars because I did enjoy it but it could have been so much better.


Bitten (Otherworld, Bk 1)
Bitten (Otherworld, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 4/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I picked this book up because I wanted to read somthing that was different from my norm. Bitten turned out to be so good that I can't wait to read the rest of the series. It's about a female warewolf (the only female warewolf) who is strugeling to find her place in the world. She wants to make it in the human world but her pack needs her help. This story has a little of everything. A little love story, A little mystery, alot of excitement and plenty of twist and turns. The charicters are great and the story is even better. I would highly recommend this book.


Briar Rose
Briar Rose
Author: Jane Yolen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 5/12/2009


Briar Rose was a little slow to get into, but considering it is a short book it didn't take too long. The story that was told was heart breaking and horrifying. It was only made worse by the knowledge that it was based on actual events. This is not to say that the book was not good, it was, just be prepared, there is no happily ever after to Briar Rose.


Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, Bk 1)
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, Bk 1)
Author: Roald Dahl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 5/7/2010


What a great book. I read this with my 8 year old daughter and I'm not sure which one of us enjoyed it more. So glad that I have her to give me an excuse to read classic childrens books that I missed out on when I was a kid.


The Crucible (L.A. Theatre Works Audio Theatre Collection)
The Crucible (L.A. Theatre Works Audio Theatre Collection)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/22/2011


This was very enjoyable. I have always been curious to read The Crucible but the idea of reading a play was off putting to me. I found this at the library and thought I would give it a try. I'm glad I did. It was like listening to the play and was very easy to follow. It is a very short story and only lasted a few hours. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in the Salem Witch trials.


Damsel Under Stress (Katie Chandler, Bk 3)
Damsel Under Stress (Katie Chandler, Bk 3)
Author: Shanna Swendson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 3/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book almost reads like a teenagers diary and is a bit cheesy with the talk of their enemies and the ultimate showdown and such. However, if you can get past that it is a fun story and sweet romance. Defiantly clean and absolutely nothing trashy, just sweet. I very much did not like the ending, though. I'm not looking forward to the 4th book as much now that I have read the ending of 3, but hopefully 4 will surprise me.


Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Dexter, Bk 1)
Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Dexter, Bk 1)
Author: Jeff Lindsay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 351
Review Date: 8/19/2009


I thought this book was decent. I didn't think it was very funny, the plot was slow, and I was amazed at the obvious things that the characters seemed to be missing. I did, however, enjoy the premise of this book and I will read the next in the series. Hopefully it will be better.


The Dead Father's Club (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Dead Father's Club (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Matt Haig, Andrew Dennis (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/8/2016


Honestly I did not like this book. I found it a bit annoying. The only reason I finished it was because I thought at the end they may be something more to it. But the worst part about it was that the story is never finished. You are left with so many questions.


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2038
Review Date: 8/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a very enjoyable book. Along with being a good paranormal it also had a decent mystery and little romance (without going overboard). I really like Sookies charicter. If she were real and lived near me I would want to be her friend. She is sweet and a little inocent but she has back bone and doesn't take crap off of any one. I can't wait to read the next book in this series.


A Dirty Job
A Dirty Job
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 10/8/2009


What a treat! I laughed my a$$ off reading this book. The story line was entertaining as well, although a little predictable. It didn't matter though, A Dirty Job was so much fun to read. I recommend it to anyone who needs a giggle.


Dragon Tears (New on CD)
Dragon Tears (New on CD)
Author: Dean R. Koontz
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/8/2013


Good story, great naration, and I loved the dog :)


Enchanted, Inc. (Katie Chandler, Bk 1)
Enchanted, Inc. (Katie Chandler, Bk 1)
Author: Shanna Swendson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 207
Review Date: 5/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fun book. At first I wasn't sure how I would like it. It isn't my usual style of book, but I am glad I read it. Katie is a charicter you real come to like and I think everyone can relate to her on some leval. The plot was entertaining and the story flowed realy well. I can't wait to read the second book.


Exit Strategy (Nadia Stafford, Bk 1)
Exit Strategy (Nadia Stafford, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 165
Review Date: 5/25/2009


This book was great. It had lots of action and kept me interested from begining to end. The caricters were well developed and fasinaiting. I can't wait to read the next book in this series.


False Memory
False Memory
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 2/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I don't know why I don't read more of Dean Koontz's books. He is a master of suspense. This book is no exeption of the masterful style that I have come to expect from Koontz. Althought there are still many of his books I have not read (I will be reading more after this) this is by far one of my favorites. There is much depth to the charicters and you come to really care about them and the outcome of thier lives. Throughout thae story I was trying to piece together the puzzle and every time I thought I had it Koontz through another twist in. The synopsis of this book dosn't do it justice but it can't realy say more withour running some of the suprises. I would highly recommend this book.


Feed (Newsflesh, Bk 1)
Feed (Newsflesh, Bk 1)
Author: Mira Grant
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 4/19/2014
Helpful Score: 1


It took me forever to get though this book because it was so slow. This is not an action pact zombie book like I expected rather it is a book about reporting the news in the post apocalyptic zombie world. I don't know why I kept reading but I did and it finally got interesting in the last 75 pages or so but the previous 500 were not worth it. I will not be continuing with this series.


The Fourth Queen
The Fourth Queen
Author: Debbie Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/7/2009


A bit raunchy, but overall a good story. Very loosley based on a true story. It has a strong beging and the kind of ebbs in the middle, but picks back up. I found the charicters to be both likable and appaling at the same time. The Fourth Queen allows you to look inside the harrem, a world that is very different from ours. This book has love, tretchary, and a little mystery.


1 to 20 of 53 - Page: