Jody M. (jodymcgrath) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 92 - Page:
The Adventures of Gracie & MonkeyBear, Book 1: Summer
The Adventures of Gracie & MonkeyBear, Book 1: Summer
Author: C. S. O'Kelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/16/2016


* I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review *

Jody McGrath's review Sep 16, 2016
really liked it
Read on September 16, 2016

Gracie is a dauntless child and she takes advantage of her Saturdays to go on backyard imagination adventures with her brilliant companion (and dog), Monkeybear. On this beautiful Summer day, the dog up a dinosaur and send him yo his home, help a space alien fix his ship, and help rescue a young whale trapped in a net. Gracie and Monkeybear even manage to do all that before grandma calls them to dinner!

First, I would like to thank the author for sending me this gorgeous book. She had it wrapped so beautifully it was as if I was receiving a present. It made the book seem precious.

The story was very cute and I liked that a simple play date in the backyard with her dog could turn into such an amazing adventure in her mind. The illustrations were amazing. They had bold colors and beautiful, yet child-friendly renderings of the pair and their daring deeds. I liked how the artist showed the everyday object and how it interacted with the imagined scenario. It was really cool. Monkeybear always talked in Roofs which I thought was sweet. The hard part was some of the language and made up language in the book is geared for older children, while perhaps the story is geared for younger children. I guess a parent would definitely have to help any child of a average reading level under 8 to understand some of the words. An example would be the Cretaceous Period. I know some adults that might have to google that one, lol!

The book was beautiful and imaginative though. I would definitely recommend it to 2nd graders, with maybe some discussion with an adult afterwards.


All-Butter Shortdead (Oxford Tearoom, Prequel)
All-Butter Shortdead (Oxford Tearoom, Prequel)
Author: H. Y. Hanna
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/7/2016


Gemma Rose has given up her life as a high paid executive in Australia and is moving back home to open a English Tea Room in Oxford, England. On the plane ride home, she starts chatting to the woman sitting next to her. She finds out that her name is Jenn and she is traveling to visit Oxford as well. When they land, Jenn accidentally leaves her scarf behind and Gemma picks it up. They meet to exchange the scarf and get to chatting some more. The next morning Jenn is found murdered in her hotel room and Gemma is the number one suspect. How can she open a tea room if she is in prison?

This book is a prequel to the Oxford Tearoom Mysteries, but it was my first foray into the series. I really enjoyed it. The characters were likable and funny and Gemma was a great lead. This book really sets up the storyline for the other books, so I am really glad I read it first. The conclusion to the mystery was a little far-fetched, but I still enjoyed the journey.

* I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review *


All Is Not Forgotten
All Is Not Forgotten
Author: Wendy Walker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/24/2016


This is a story about how the mind works. How emotions are connected to events, and what happens if the event is removed, but the emotions remain. What happens when the nightmare is forgotten, but you are still scared and crying. What happens when your mind has a hole, but your soul still feels the pain.

Jenny Kramer is a 15 year old girl in the wealthy, affluent town of Fairview, Connecticut. At a high school party, Jenny has to much to drink and stumbled in to the woods to escape the ridicule of her peers. Jenny is attacked, savagely and repeatedly raped and branded. There is a cocktail of drugs called The Treatment that will allow Jenny to forget all the brutal details of what happened to her that night. Her mother readily agrees. Jenny still knows what happened to her; she had to be told. She was tore up and the whole town knew. But The Treatment stops her from reliving the nightmare. The problem is that just because the nightmare is erased, the fear, helplessness, and guilt are still there. What happens when these feelings build and build with nothing to put them into perspective? What happens when the nightmare becomes that you can't remember the nightmare?

This story is told from the POV of Jenny's psychiatrist. He is trying to help Jenny recover her memories. He is also separately counseling Jenny's parents, helping them help her and helping then come to terms with their own nightmares. As a narrarator, The Doctor tells the story in bits and pieces, with twist and turn, connections to his own life, and good and bad decisions made by everyone. Eventually everything interconnects to tell the whole story of Jenny's forgotten nightmare.

First, I want to say that this story is not a thriller, if that is what you are thinking. It is a psychological literary fiction. There are twists, and secrets, and devious acts, but it is not a thriller or a suspense. The story being told from the doctor's POV keeps it clinical at first, but then his emotions start to creep in and color the retelling. He is an amazingly honest narrarator, he knows he is bias, but he tells the facts truthfully. He maybe tells them in an order that leaves reader guessing, but he tells everything factually.

Overall, this was a very interesting story. I thoroughly enjoyed the passages of the way the mind works, and how memories are made and stored, and how these memories can be recalled, completed, or corrupted. I also liked that the doctor told us the whole story from his conversations with almost every character in the book.

I didn't care for how unemotional the book left me. I wanted justice, but everything was so sterile that it was hard to empathize with any of the characters. This was also because of the narrarator and probably done on purpose, but I wanted more. I also had a love/hate relationship with how everything ended up being intertwined. I loved that it wove together and it made sense, because why else would he be telling us these things if they were not pertinent to the story. I hated it because it was too easy. Everything was wrapped up with a bow; all the i's were dotted and the t's were crossed. For some reason that bothered me. It was too clean.

I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars, but it was probably more of a 3 1/2. I do recommend this book, just know what type of genre you are reading so you can read it for what it is instead of being disappointed in what you thought it was going to be.


Aspirations of the Heart
Aspirations of the Heart
Author: Katie Heart Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/11/2016


Historical novels are not my most loved genre, but this one was great. The characters seemed so real and 3 dimensional. I am lucky to have had a chance to read this novel. I definitely recommend this book!

* I read an ARC of this book and have written an honest review *


The Babylon Line
The Babylon Line
Author: Richard Greenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/28/2016


This I should a play and maybe it is better received that way. I read the whole thing and found it boring. I think maybe it is suppose to show...something about the times, or people? I don't know. I didn't understand the reason for its existence. The characters were uninteresting, the story was weird, and nothing really happened. I think this was just rubbish.

* I voluntarily read an Advance Reader's Copy of this book and have given an honest review *


Beartown
Beartown
Author: Fredrik Backman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/13/2017


The book was very good, written from many, many people in the town's perspective. Some you will hate, others you will just feel ashamed of, some you will love.

The beginning is very, very slow. I am a hockey fan and I was losing interest, but it picks up. It is obvious what the Event is going to be and what the town is going to do. So much of it was just blatantly obvious at what was going to happen I had to remove the first star.

When we get closer to the climax and we see what choices each individual makes, some make you so proud and some make you so angry. I live in a sports town, so I know how true this is.

The vagueness of some of the endings lost the other star. Some were very clear, while other were eluded to or straight out made into a freaking puzzle. I I'd not like that at all.

Everyone is saying that this is such an amazing book and how poignant the subject matter is, but I just didn't read it that way. I thought it was very good. But a lot of the perspectives were so vague and trying to be deep or profound or telling stories that weren't relevant. I sort of skimmed some of those. I would recommend it though!


Being a Girl
Being a Girl
Author: Hayley Long
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/11/2016


* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review *

This book was one of the best books I have ever read for preteen to teen girls. It was completely informative, easy to read, humerous, open-minded, and nonjudgmental. It started off with the basics, like how your body is going to change and what is normal and what is not. She also stresses that everyone is different and there are absolutely no absolutes. She also addresses make-up, hair, crushes (both straight and gay), dating, sex, and becoming a woman. It was a great book.

There are a lot of books similar to this one out there, but this one was so reader friendly and nonjudgmental that I would recommend it to moms, aunts, big sisters, librarians, doctors, or even girls themselves to buy. A+!


The Best Mistake Mystery: The Great Mistake Mysteries
The Best Mistake Mystery: The Great Mistake Mysteries
Author: Sylvia McNicoll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/14/2016


* I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review *

Stephen Nobel is a pretty anxious 7th grader, everyday he counts all his mistakes. He also counts other people's mistakes also, but not to judge them, just because he is a very observant kid. His best friend has just moved away and to help him fill in some of his spare time his dad, who owns Novle Dog Walking, assigns two new dogs for Stephen to walk, Ping, a little Jack Russel Terrier, and Pong, a great big greyhound.

Suddenly though weird things start to happen. First their is a bomb threat at his school and then someone crashes a car into the school. The culprit believes Stephen knows more than he does and threatens to hurt the dogs if he tells anyone. Not knowing what to do, Stephen is befriended but a super-smart a sassy girl in his class, Renee. She wants to help him solve the crime because her older brother is being charged with it and she knows he is innocent. Stephen and Renee are an unlikely pair, but just like Ping and Pong, maybe they can learn to be friends and solve the crime!

This book was fantastic! I liked how they made Stephen have an anxiety complex, but then showed how it wasn't always a negative. Renee was such a great character, showing Stephen that his observations weren't necessarily a bad thing. I also liked the juxtaposition of tall, lanky Stephen and short, petite Renee, to giant greyhound Pong and little terrier Ping. It added another layer to to the theme of the story.

The mystery was very age appropriate, and although I had half of it figured out, I did not see the other half coming. That surprised and delighted me. Middle grade kids are going to love this book. Heck, I loved this book. I sure hope it is a series!!!


Better Late Than Never (Library Lover's, Bk 7)
Better Late Than Never (Library Lover's, Bk 7)
Author: Jenn McKinlay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/20/2016


Librarian, Lindsey Norris, has decided to hold "Amnesty Day" at the library, where patrons can return late or damaged books and the fines will be waived. This is a huge success! The library gets a ton of returns, including a book that was checked out over twenty years ago. When she learns that the book was checked out by a young teacher who was murdered the same day and the murderer was never caught, Lindsey goes straight to the police. Lately in town there has been a rash of break-ins, and while the police chief will eventually get to it, a cold case just doesn't take precedence over an ongoing investigation. Well, everyone in town knows what a snoop Lindsey is, and she just can't handle not knowing. Lindsey finds out exactly what happens when a cold case starts to get red hot?

This is book 7 in the Library Lovers Mystery series. Unfortunately, I have not read the first 6, but this novel reads fine as a stand-alone novel. I was enchanted by the character of Lindsey. She is so curious and inquisitive, which is why she became a librarian in the first place, but she just cannot let a problem go unanswered. By now the whole town seems to know this about her, and it appears it is a running joke. She is resourceful and smart, which I really liked. The rest of the library staff was fantastic. They all had such unique personalities. Robbie, the Watson to her Sherlock, was very funny. He mostly just caused more harm than good, but really tried to help.

The mystery was awesome. I had no clue who the murderer was until the end. There are some twists that I saw very early, but some that I never even glimpsed. The conclusion was well thought out also, which I appreciated.

My only complaint about this book was the enormous amount of time spent on her romance. Instead of a cozy, it was starting to read like a romantic mystery. I realize that falling in love does sort of take over your thoughts, but I was here for the crime-solving! It was sweet, but there was just too much time devoted to this.

I would definitely recommend this book to mystery lovers out there and probably romance lovers also!

* I voluntarily read and Advance Reader Copy of this book and have given an honest review *


Big Little Lies
Big Little Lies
Author: Liane Moriarty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 11/15/2016
Helpful Score: 1


This is a story about a murder. This is also a story about three women and the love, pain, and lives they live. Jane, Celeste and Madeline all have children starting kindergarten at the same time. Their friendship blooms, but do they dare reveal their real lives to each other?

Liane Moriarty is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. He books have suspense and intrigue, but they are character driven, which I love. This is not a fast paced action book. This is a book about people. The people are flawed and real. They are not perfect. Sometimes you like them and sometimes you don't understand why they do what they do. Just like real life.

I definitely recommend this book! Great story!


Briar Blackwood's Grimmest of Fairytales
Briar Blackwood's Grimmest of Fairytales
Author: Timothy Roderick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/20/2016


Great YA retelling/blending of fairytales. I really enjoyed the realness of Briar. Be warned this book contains foul language. I know a lot of parents don't like their children reading book like that and I completely understand. I figure they have heard all these words multiple times and probably use them on a regular basis. The story could have been just as good without the foul language though. It wasn't needed.

The book really felt like it was suppose to be a trilogy, but I haven't heard of anymore coming out. How depressing


British Manor Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 23)
British Manor Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 23)
Author: Leslie Meier
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/16/2016


* I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review *
This is my first foray into the Lucy Stone series. The book begins with Lucy being very depressed because her grandson who had been staying with her returned to his parents and they moved to Alaska. She cannot seem to get over him being gone. Lucy's friend Sue Invites Lucy to tag along with her to England. Sue has been invited to Moreton Manor by her friend Perry, who happens to be the Earl of Wickham. Perry is putting on an exposition of hats entitled "Heads Up!" and has invited Sue to come and help him. Hoping to relieve her depression, Lucy readily agrees and off to England they go.

Perry and his sister, Poppy, are not at all the stuffy aristocrats Lucy thought they would be. Instead they are living in the renovated servants quarters, while the manor is being used as a tourist attraction. Even with this income, they are having a lot of financial problems. The upkeep of the castle is enormous and things just seem to be piling up. When a dead man is found in the manor's maze and then another in a secret nook, Lucy fears that her time in England will be a little more exciting than she had planned!

I found there were pros and cons to this book. The pros first. The author has a great flow with her writing and the book was a quick, easy read. Her descriptions of the manor and surrounding areas were beautiful, but not to overloaded with information. I also found the problem the Earl and his family were having to be very interesting. The were titled, and acted superior occasionally, but at the same time they were working hard to maintain the manor.

The cons were a little more prevalent. Lucy was a bit of a whiner through the beginning of the book. It seemed stupid that she had raised her own children and apparently coped when the left home, but her grandson, who she only had for a few months, broke her down so much by leaving. The mystery portion of the book was such an afterthought. It wasn't a very good mystery at all. I had almost all of it figured out.

Although I will read more of the Lucy Stone mysteries, this one fell pretty flat. I probably would not recommend this to anyone who really enjoys mysteries.


Caillou The Road Trip: Travel Bingo Game included (Playtime)
Caillou The Road Trip: Travel Bingo Game included (Playtime)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/29/2016


Going on a family road trip with no destination can be a little confusing. Caillou learns though that it can be pretty awesome also!

This is a really cute book. Fans of the cartoon will love it. The illustrations are nice and bright, but have the simplicity of the show. Kids will really like this one. I recommend it for those 4-6 years of age.

* I voluntarily read an ARc of this book and gave an honest review *


The Calamity Cafe (Down South Cafe, Bk 1)
The Calamity Cafe (Down South Cafe, Bk 1)
Author: Gayle Leeson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/13/2016
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book in the new Down South Café Mystery series by Gayle Leeson.

Amy Flowers is sick and tired of her job as a waitress at Lou's Joint cafè. She was professionally trained as a chef and if tired of being belittled and bullies by her boss Lou Lou. She puts in her notice and offers to buy the place, her dream always having been to own her own cafè, but Lou Lou is determined not to sell. When Lou Lou's son calls her and asks her to meet him and his mom at the cafè to talk about a sale, Amy is doubtful but hopeful. When she arrives, she finds herself alone with Lou Lou, and Lou Lou is clearly dead. Being suspected of homicide is not what Amy was planning to put on the menu!

This was a great start to a cozy mystery. The characters were interesting and either likable or despicable. Amy was a fun narrator with a sense of humor, curiosity, but not TSTL. The mystery itself was a little too simple and even the twists were pretty easy to figure out. I don't think it is because I have read a lot of mysteries either. I just think it was blatantly obvious. That did not stop me from enjoying the book though. I will definitely be checking out the next book in this series. (It has recipes also!!!)


Calling Time
Calling Time
Author: Judith Hereford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/1/2016


This is the story of two very different women, Angela and Kristine. In New Zealand in thr 1950s, both women worked at a nursing home. Angela, who was much older than Kristine, was mean and bitter. She abused the residents, and "put down" 4 of them without getting caught. Kristine, on the other hand, was 17, yet patient and kind. She would be studying to be a nurse, and had compassion in spades.

46 years later, we return to these two women's lives. Angela is getting elderly herself and would rather go out fighting than go into care. Kristine is facing the dilemma of what to do with her mother-in-law, who needs assisted living. She always judged the people who put their elders into these homes, but now her and her husband are struggling with their decision. This book looks at the care of the elderly, the choices of their families, and the struggles of the institutions that provide care.

This book was very interesting. Part 1, in the 1950s, had some horrible parts in it, but I wish more of the book was set there. It is only about a fourth of the book. The characters are very real and very multi-dimensional. This book looks at needing care from various angles. It is a little judgmental, but at the same time admits there is no solution. A solid, touching story. It was very thought provoking as many of us have to think of our parents or ourselves when care becomes a factor.

*I voluntarily read an Advance Reader Copy of this book and have given an honest review *


A Catered Tea Party (A Mystery With Recipes)
A Catered Tea Party (A Mystery With Recipes)
Author: Isis Crawford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/1/2016


*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review *

A Catered Tea Party is the 12th book in the A Mystery with Recipes series by Isis Crawford. Bernie and Libby are back. This time they are trying to help their friend Casper when he becomes the prime suspect in the murder of supposed billionaire Ludvoc Zalinsky. Zalinsky was a horrible man, and everyone disliked him, but someone is trying to frame Casper for electrocuting him with a tea kettle and making off with a 2 million dollar teapot. The girl have got some serious sleuthing to do and of course some serious cooking to do also!

I want to preface my review by saying this is the first book in this series I have read. Their might be some backstory and character dynamics that I am unaware of, but boy those sisters were some major whiners. Especially Libby. She also seemed stupid. Is that her normal character? It was annoying. The other sister, Bernie' was more likable, but a little rude. I think the author was going for spunky, but it definitely crossed the line. Their father was dating a woman they didn't like, and they acted like spoiled, little children about it. The man is old enough to make his own mistakes. Back off!

The plot was a little weird. I didn't actually understand a lot of why things were happening. Some of it was so completely unbelievable that it was about impossible to suspend my disbelief. I didn't figure out the end though. And the end was pretty exciting

The ending was exciting and I didn't figure out everything before the end. So, the mystery portion of the plot was interesting, and not overly simple. But I don't think I will be reading the rest of this series. I have heard that the earlier books are a lot better, but if this is where it ends up...no. I'll pass.


Cease & Desist
Cease & Desist
Author: Stephen David Hurley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/6/2016


Cease de Menich, is a teen actress who has been cast to play Jeanne de Arc in a "reality-drama." The show cast teen girls as historical figures that have to fight to be the last one standing. There are also teen boys in the show, but they just play themselves and fight and hook up with girls. The girls are suppose to find love. That is the first layer of the story.

Before Cease was cast in this role her Mother tried to kill her, her brother committed suicide, and she lives with her aunt that has some secret genealogy. Cease also talks to Jeanne de Arc and believes her power is her virginity.

Okay, if my description of this book was confusing, it is because that is how I felt through the whole book. I gave it two stars, because I did finish the book, but it wasn't because I was enjoying it. I wanted to see how much more it tried to become. This book was not just a cross genre. This book was floundering in an identity crises of genres. It was desperately trying to be something, it just couldn't make up its mind what that was. Dystopian? Paranormal? Christian? Literary fiction? Coming-of-age? Metaphorical? Action? I have no clue. It kept changing. One minute it was graphic violence and almost sex scenes, and the next was very preachy. I never quite figured out Cease's backstory.

I cannot recommend this book to anyone. I still don't know what I read. I tried to explain it to my husband and he said just stop reading it now. It doesn't deserve to be read. That is a little harsh, but not entirely wrong.

* I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review *


The Chemist
The Chemist
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/26/2017
Helpful Score: 2


I was really surprised by how much I liked this book. I was not a fan of the Twighlight books, but this book sounded very intriguing so I thought I would give it a chance. The main character used to work for a secret sector of the government that dealt with retrieving vital information from terrorists by using chemical torture. Now she is on the run from the same agency who is trying to kill her. She has been focused on living for three years, but when she finds out that there is more to her story than she knows and she isn't as alone as she thought she was, is she going to be able to let her guard down and trust anyone else, if it will help save her?


The Clancys of Queens: A Memoir
The Clancys of Queens: A Memoir
Author: Tara Clancy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/26/2016


* I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review *

This is the story of Tara Clancy half Irish American and half Italian American. Her parents split when she was quite young, so her upbringing was unusual and amazing. She spent weekdays with her Italian Grandparents in their lower middle class Italian American community. Many of these people were older and she mentions talking louder than any other 1st grader in her class because she was use to talking to 75 year olds. Her weekends were split between her mom and dad. Her dad, a NYPD bounty hunter, lived in a boat shed in a poor neighborhood in Jamaica Bay. It was a one room shed, but she made some of her most amazing memories there. Her dad would take her with him to the local Irish bar and grill every Saturday, and they would become regulars, Tara being spoiled rotten by the burly Irish lot. The she would go to her mother's boyfriend's home in the Hamptons. There she would talk about the universe and philosophy', go antiquing , and learn a third way of life. Due to her age, Tara never thought any of this was strange. She was such a headstrong, curious, and self-knowing child, that she took it all in stride and loved every bit of.

This is a beautiful coming-of-age memoir that explores her unique life. How the three lives she led, made her into the woman she is today. How the love and acceptance of so many unique and diverse people helped her achieve everything she has, and reminds her that her roots are strong and deep, it will take a lot more than a hurricane to put Tara down.

I sincerely recommend this book to any memoir or biography lovers. It is beautifully and wittily written, with an amazing voice. The people in the story, who have all agreed to allow Tara Clancy to use their real names are just as amazing as she is. This is definitely worth the read and it is a very quick read at that. A+


Conclave: A novel
Conclave: A novel
Author: Robert Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/12/2016


Cardinal Lomeli is devasted by the death of the Pope. He never believed or hoped to attend another Conclave, the congregation of cardinal electors to choose the next Pope, as this will be his third. Cardinal Lomeli is the Dean of the College of Cardinals, therefore, he is tasked with the running and management of the Conclave. With 117 (?) Cardinal electors, emotions run high as support is given to individuals and taken away as secrets are discovered. Will politics or the Holy Spirit guide this election?

First, I must say that I am not Catholic, so a lot of this information was new to me. At first I found some of it confusing, but after awhile, it became clearer as the author explained people's roles more in depth. I don't know if I would call this a thriller, which I see many people have done. I guess I would call it an intrigue because the reader and the protagonist, Lomeli, have the same information. I also suppose I feel a thriller should be more suspenseful or dangerous. This one was more of a religious/political intrigue, more twists, but no danger.

I really enjoyed all of the research the author put into the happenings of a Conclave. The actual ceremonies and rituals, as well as the feelings of boredom and waiting. It made the characters much more real. It also surprised me by how political it all was. It shouldn't have, but it did. Although they are spiritual leaders, they are just humans. Some of the things just seemed so below them. There were also many secrets that came out that didn't so much shock me, as repelled me. It was like any other election, mud-slinging, campaigning, compromising, etc. I did not see the major twist at the end and I did find it pretty far fetched. This Conclave happens at or after the year 2018, I cannot remember exactly, but the end was still unbelievable.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes books that are information and character driven as opposed to action driven. I throughly enjoyed it!

*I voluntarily read an Advance Reader Copy of this book and have given an honest review *


1 to 20 of 92 - Page: