Christie C. (ChristieC) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 142 - Page:
20 Times a Lady
20 Times a Lady
Author: Karyn Bosnak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 8/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is so FUNNY!!!! One of my new favorites! Very well written. I couldn't put it down and finished it in one sitting!! DEFINITELY RECOMMEND!!!


32 Candles
32 Candles
Author: Ernessa T. Carter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/30/2011


WOW! I really LOVED this book! Great story, great characters. Well written. Easy read. The story of Davie, a poor bullied girl from Mississippi, how she got past her terrible childhood, the mistakes she made, and how she made up for them. DEFINITELY recommend this one!


The Accidental Bestseller
The Accidental Bestseller
Author: Wendy Wax
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/19/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I really like this author, but I wasn't a huge fan of this book. It goes behind the scenes in the literary world. I thought it was pretty monotonous. It took awhile to get to the ending and how everything got wrapped up, and those parts were good. The rest just didn't do anything for me.


The Actor and the Housewife
The Actor and the Housewife
Author: Shannon Hale
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 2/28/2010


I really agree with the other reviewer of this book. The idea is great - who wouldn't want to meet your movie star crush and hit it off? But I didn't find the whole thing very believable. There were some funny conversations between the two, but a lot of the time the banter was annoying and so far out there that it would really happen, especially when they have absolutely nothing in common. The second half of the book is so much better and by the end, you really want it to turn out differently than it was written. I don't want to give too much away to those who haven't read it yet, but I liked how he provided her with support when she needed it, not only emotionally but the way he stepped up and paid for things without her even realizing, etc., and by backing off and letting her be until she came to grips with things on her own. That is a true friend. Again, mixed feelings but guess I'm glad I did read it.


All I Ever Wanted
All I Ever Wanted
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 10/15/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Great book! Nice easy read with likeable characters. Laugh-out-loud funny in spots too. Very enjoyable!


Amazing Grace
Amazing Grace
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 12/5/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I was pleasantly surprised that this was a great story!!! I finished it in a day. The story takes place in the aftermath of a major earthquake in San Francisco when several people with very different lives come together and form lasting bonds. This is actually one of her better books, especially considering some of the crappier ones she's put out lately. Yay Danielle Steel!! Keep the good ones coming!


Angels Landing (Cavanaugh Island, Bk 2)
Angels Landing (Cavanaugh Island, Bk 2)
Author: Rochelle Alers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/9/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I agree with the other reviewer. Some scenes were unnecessary and all over the place. I'm still not sure what the heck happened with her family in the end. Wrapped up in an instant and it really didn't make a whole lot of sense to me, how they hated her, didn't hate her, who the heck knows. And frankly, I don't care.


Another Dawn
Another Dawn
Author: Kathryn Cushman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/5/2011
Helpful Score: 4


Please note this is my opinion. I imagine there are many opinions on this book as it deals with a touchy issue. Grace's son, who was never immunized, was unknowingly exposed to measles in California, where they live. They fly back to her hometown to help her dad recover from knee surgery and inadvertently expose a church nursery full of babies, not old enough to have been immunized, to the measles. This book explores the pros and cons of immunizations and why Grace chose not to immunize her son because of a friend whose son is autistic, supposedly from routine immunizations. Grace isn't very likeable, in my opinion. She is one of those overprotective, preachy mothers that quite honestly get on my nerves - face it, we all know moms like this. :) Her decision to NOT immunize her son put the lives of other children in danger. I agree with one of the statements made by the author that she depends on everyone else immunizing their children so that her non-immunized son will not get these diseases. My heart went out to the mothers of those sick babies. Her decision put those babies in harms way. Difficult to read because of that situation. Grace is also dealing with the fact that she still blames her smoker father for the death of her mother due to cancer and still needs to come to terms with that. A really good read because of the controversial issue. Please remember this is my opinion only and you don't have to agree with me!! Grace just really made me angry in this book!! Also, the attitude of her friend with the autistic child made me angry too. She was the reason Grace didn't immunize her son and yet she was so callous about the whole situation. For the reason that it fired me up, I loved the book but hated the situation. Hope that makes sense to someone besides me!!


Ask Again Later
Ask Again Later
Author: Jill A. Davis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/20/2010


Laugh out loud funny in some parts. A pretty good story but didn't really go anywhere. Anticlimactic at the end as well, it just sort of ends. She has a lot of issues and goes to a therapist and I found those parts strange and pointless.


Autobiography of Us
Autobiography of Us
Author: Aria Beth Sloss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/4/2013


Not sure what to think about this one. Depressing for sure. The Alex character was very arrogant and manipulative, I just didn't like her at all. Rebecca seemed to think she was the greatest, but I thought Alex was not a good friend to her at all. Rebecca was very smart and wanted to be a doctor but being the years what they were back then, it didn't pan out, and really not much else said about that. Kinda dropped the ball on some of the storylines. The book describes this friendship but I didn't see friendship really, more of Alex belittling Rebecca and Rebecca just kind of gliding through her life. Disappointing read for sure.


Baby, It's Cold Outside (Alaskan Nights, Bk 1)
Baby, It's Cold Outside (Alaskan Nights, Bk 1)
Author: Addison Fox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/18/2012


Loved this book!! Sloan heads up to Alaska to lend support to a friend. Little did she know how the small Alaskan town would change her life. She ends up entering the town's annual bachelorette contest put on by some of the grandmothers to marry off their grandsons. It started out as a good topic for her travel article, but it takes a life of its own. Awesome!! Makes me want to go to Alaska!


BABY,BABY
BABY,BABY
Author: Nickles
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 2.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/3/2009


Book was so-so. Definitely not the best. I had a hard time liking the main character, Kate. The whole storyline with her husband, Matt, and their breakup before she found out she was pregnant, her workaholic and controlling personality, etc., I found myself more annoyed with her than anything. Of course, you know in the end, she realizes what's important, but it comes off making her sound fake and fickle, not sincere. Just not really a good book, disappointed I wasted the time reading it.


The Beach Club
The Beach Club
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The story takes place in a beach club/hotel on Nantucket. The story revolves around the relationships of the staff and the guests. Excellent! Fast read!! I really enjoyed this one!


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 8/8/2010


I loved this book and didn't want it to end. The author did a great job of telling each of the characters' stories and then bringing them together, etc. Loved the Nantucket setting too. Really a great story. Definitely recommend!


Beautiful People
Beautiful People
Author: Wendy Holden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/25/2010
Helpful Score: 2


LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. English author. A bit of Hollywood, a bit of London, a bit of Italy. Great characters. The story moves along nicely, though I didn't want it to end!! Definitely recommend this one!


Betrayal
Betrayal
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/3/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Quick read. I really liked it. How well do you really know those closest to you? A Hollywood director finds out the hard way. One of better books Danielle Steel has written recently.


Big Girl
Big Girl
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 5/5/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I have to admit I really liked this book. I felt so bad for Victoria. Her parents were so cruel. I did feel the weight comments were a little overdone and repetitious, but I think it was written that way just to stress to the reader how deep her pain was. One of Danielle Steel's better books!


Blame It on Paris
Blame It on Paris
Author: Jennifer Greene
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 4/26/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This was a great book! Makes me want to go to Paris! Some of the issues the characters were dealing with were wrapped up a little too easily at the end, but all in all, I really liked it! A fast read - I read it in one day - perfect for the beach or a long car ride!


Blue-Eyed Devil (Travis, Bk 2)
Blue-Eyed Devil (Travis, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 6/24/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Sequel to Sugar Daddy. I thought the abuse storyline was very well written. Great book!


Blue Moon Bay (Moses Lake, Texas, Bk 2)
Blue Moon Bay (Moses Lake, Texas, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Wingate
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/17/2014


This is one of my favorite authors; however, this book isn't even close to being as good as her other books. Usually they grab you from the first page. This book was boring and very hard to get into. I had to force my way through it. Very disappointing.


1 to 20 of 142 - Page: