Arlene M. (luvtworead) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
Cage of Stars
Cage of Stars
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 11/26/2007


Very good book. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Mitchard has a very nice writing syle.


Faith Bass Darling's Last Garage Sale
Faith Bass Darling's Last Garage Sale
Author: Lynda Rutledge
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/8/2013


Tremendous. Beautiful. And quite unique.


Fortune's Rocks
Fortune's Rocks
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 7/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Simply wonderful. I felt lost when I finished it!


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1894
Review Date: 5/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Very enjoyable...I highly recommend. I miss 'the club' now that I'm finished!


Garden Spells
Garden Spells
Author: Sarah Addison Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 2


A delightful book. Would love to be invited to lunch in their garden! Looking forward to her next book.


The Gathering
The Gathering
Author: Anne Enright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 225
Review Date: 5/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


very disappointing, especially given all the good reviews/press.


A Good Year
A Good Year
Author: Peter Mayle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/13/2007


Delightful, an entertaining read.


Holiday Cookies and Chocolate Recipes, with Nutracker CD
Review Date: 10/14/2007


includes a cd of The Nutcracker!


An Irish Country Doctor (aka The Apprenticeship of Doctor Laverty) (Irish Country, Bk 1)
Review Date: 5/29/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Delightful! I'd love to visit Ballybucklebo. Can't wait to continue reading about this cast of characters in An Irish Country Village.


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 924
Review Date: 11/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I truly did not like this book. I didn't even finish it, which is something I rarely do. Just too weird.


No One You Know
No One You Know
Author: Michelle Richmond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 8/6/2009


Good book in its own right, but when comparing to The Year of Fog, it is not AS good.


The Other Boleyn Girl
The Other Boleyn Girl
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2779
Review Date: 10/28/2007


Although I thought this wasn't "my type of book" it grabbed me from the 1st page and never let go 'til the end! I couldn't put it down.


Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2109
Review Date: 8/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Simply put: wonderful!


They Did It with Love
They Did It with Love
Author: Kate Morgenroth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 6/2/2008


Very, very enjoyable! Especially if you grew up anywhere near Greenwich, CT.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5265
Review Date: 10/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I did not really care for this book. Some of the time travel was very confusing, and I agree with a previous reviewer that there was unnecessary vulgarity. It didn't seem to fit in.


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4718
Review Date: 2/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best books I've read in awhile...lives up to its reviews.


The Winter Rose (Tea Rose, Bk 2)
The Winter Rose (Tea Rose, Bk 2)
Author: Jennifer Donnelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 8/20/2011


Couldn't put it down - can't wait for the next and final installment!


The Year of Fog
The Year of Fog
Author: Michelle Richmond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 398
Review Date: 6/20/2008


Un-put-down-able.....makes you want to go hug your child!


A Year Without "Made in China": One Family's True Life Adventure in the Global Economy
Review Date: 1/2/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I think everyone who shops should read this book. Not to boycott China, but to make informed buying decisions! An excellent read.


1 to 19 of 19