Sandy D. (sandyd) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
And the Mountains Echoed
And the Mountains Echoed
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 7/11/2013
Helpful Score: 5


This book took my breath away as did A Thousand Splendid Sun's. It amaze's me how this author can introduce all of these characters and weave them together like a basket and actually pull it off. The most amazing thing to me about this book is how Dr. Hosseini ended this book and began this book...awesome literature here!! My only gripe is that I felt sometimes like I was reading a book of "long" short stories and felt there were a few pages that were not necessary...all of the characters yes..but the details..no.

I used more than 5 hankies here, but there were only 2 bouts of tears...near the end, when I realized how it would end (realizing how similar it was to the beginning) and at the last paragraph....but it was a river and so very powerful.

Awesome writing here Dr. Hosseini...please lets get started with another one, I want to read at least one more book written by you in my lifetime. In the meantime I will re-read the awesome 3 you have written.


Before I Go To Sleep
Before I Go To Sleep
Author: S. J. Watson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 7/5/2013


...the Protagonist in this book was right on when she described herself as "pathetic"....The dialogue was so repetitive that I was not sure I would make it thru it. I forged on and although I should have seen it coming the ending was a shocker. Read it...just do it! The movie is coming out in 2014 with Nicole Kidman and Colin Firth and I will see it as I suspect it may be better than the book...i usually think vica versa.


Chasing The Night (Eve Duncan, Bk 10)
Chasing The Night (Eve Duncan, Bk 10)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 10/26/2012


This was my first Johansen....read this one..have Eve, Quinn, and Bonnie lined up on my TBR pile...not sure if I even want to. There was so much small talk and the writing was just ...well it just wasn't good at all. It took me forever to get through it. My Mom (who knows how fast I go through a book) kept asking "you're not finished with that book yet?" ...like after a week. As soon as I finished went to the back and read the first chapter of Eve (which is included in my version of the paperback)...then picked up the book (Eve) and read the 2nd chapter........went strait from there to my shelf and picked up a Harlan Coben.......end of story.


The Double Bind
The Double Bind
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 7/29/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book does not even get one star from me (although I had to rate it something or I could not leave this review). I can't give a proper review without revealing the big "twist" so I will just say this...the plot seemed that it wasn't thought out very well. Horrible writing. It seems Bohjalian took his readers for fool's. At the big reveal ending you will look back and say "now how could that be"?. What a waste of time!!


Fear the Worst
Fear the Worst
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 10/13/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This is my first Barclay book and it won't be my last. Lots of twist and turns, a definite page turner. Don't plan a thing, once you start you will not want to stop.


Fool Me Once
Fool Me Once
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 4/3/2017


I found myself plowing through this one but not because it was a good read but because I wanted it to end. Come on Mr. Coben you can do better than this. The plot really made no sense at all and the ending was rushed. The characters were boring. What happened to books like Tell No One. Take a vacation then come back and write like you did in the beginning. Sign me disappointed.


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 494
Review Date: 6/28/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I don't intend to go on and on about this book, but I must give it the proper credit. I literally fell into this book, it was not until about the middle that my attention wandered a bit. Also I did figure it out shortly after the middle but I forged on and I'm so glad that I did. The book was a bit long and I felt if I had to sit through one more "cuppa" I would scream...but sit I did. The story comes together so well in the end and even though you may figure it out its still worth it to make it to the finale. This writing is almost poetic. The characters are so well developed and you find those you love and those you hate. This is so far from my reading style, I'm a thriller reader but because of this book I think I will delve a little further out of my genre in the future. Actually this was a thriller/mystery but written in a softer tone. Loved the book and think that Morton is fast making a name for herself. 4 Stars only because of the parts that could have been left out....a few cuppa's to name a few.


The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millenium, Bk 3)
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millenium, Bk 3)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 781
Review Date: 10/15/2012


This review covers this whole trilogy, just finished only moments ago. The first 2 books The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl Who Played with Fire were literally glued to my hands, I simply could not put them down.

I did not like Lisbeth in the beginning, but I do believe its what the author intended as we did not know anything about her past. Maybe it was not so much of a dislike as her being a complete and utter mystery. As her past unfolded I felt a compassion for her which grew to complete and total respect by the end of the 3rd book. I do not think I will ever hold in my hands a series as compelling as this trilogy, (by all means if you know of something please pm me)

The first 2 books were so well organized and the text just flowed. I did not find the 3rd to be quite as organized as the first 2 but it did not alter my opinion of the book, I just had to delve a little deeper and sometimes backtrack and reread portions. As one reviewer said, it was a little slower than the first 2. The author also tied up all loose ends.except for one..the sister, was expecting a storyline to develop about her.

It is so sad that death has robbed us of this master storyteller, that there will be no further adventures with Lisbeth and Mikael. The author succeeded in bringing all of the characters to life, especially these 2 main characters.

Rest in Peace Stieg Larsson..


Gone Girl
Gone Girl
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 760
Review Date: 6/30/2013


I'm not sure what to say about this book, maybe I should save my review after all of it sinks in..just finished it a few moments ago. For those that are contemplating reading this, don't let the reviews scare you away. If you can make it to page 219 you will hang with it because you just can't put it down. Most of the reviewers are justified saying that it was a lousy ending. It does appear that the author lost interest, it was a very dull ending. Funny thing the entire book was very UNpredictable but the ending was predictable...I saw it coming and it was like someone had let the air out of a balloon.

I'm curious now about Flynn's other 2 books and I think I will read them...may shoot myself in the foot after doing so but will give them a try. I'm even more curious to see what the author has planned next. I can't give this 5 stars so I settled on 3 and I'm not sorry I read it.


The Hit
The Hit
Author: Jere Hoar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/2/2013


This book will blow you away. Do not plan a thing because you will not be able to put it down. I promise...and the ending....wow!!


Hold Tight
Hold Tight
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 331
Review Date: 5/23/2013


I haven't read all of Coben's books but I really do not think he can write a bad one. About 3/4 of the way thru this one I'm like "how can he possibly tidy it up"..but tidy it up he does and very well. Tell No One is my favorite so far but this one is almost as good. Ok on to the next one..love this author!!


The Innocent
The Innocent
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 385
Review Date: 9/17/2012


Don't plan anything! Fast paced..gets you from the start and won't let you go.


Room
Room
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 417
Review Date: 7/5/2013


The dialogue told in the voice of a 5 yr old boy is tough to get past...but once you do, this book will make you cry, laugh, angry, sad, happy....its a work of art...Donoghue did an excellent work here and I do not read too many books a 2nd time but this one I definitely will. Its a quick read as you can't put it down. Like another reviewer said "Thanks Lil Jack for showing me what I take for granted on a daily basis".


She's Come Undone
She's Come Undone
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1372
Review Date: 7/10/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Ditto what Kat said...its truly a wonderful read. Its all kinds of emotions wrapped up into one book. I fell in love with Delores, she won my heart. I felt her stuggles, her pain, and her joy. Bravo Mr. Lamb!!! (i read this years ago when it first came out and on rereading posted this review) You won't see it posted by me either..its a keeper!


True Evil
True Evil
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 9/28/2012


This is my first Iles book. I found it to be a page turner and the book was glued to my hands, I took it everywhere! Love his writing style, however I did find there was a bit too much detail in some places and feel the ending could have been shortened. Looking foward to more of his work. I live only 60 miles from Natchez and visit there frequently. I found his descriptions of places in the city to be right on!


1 to 15 of 15