Carly S. (artsyangel2007) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 100 - Page:
100 Years: 100 Stories
100 Years: 100 Stories
Author: George Burns
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 11/25/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Collector's Edition gold leaf, gold dust jacket book written by George Burns for his fans to thank them for their support and devotion throughout his 100 birthday. Rare, never told before stories by G. Burns with his usual wit, humor and charm.

He tells stories of his favorite encounters with people that he had close relationships with such as Bob Hope, Ann Margaret, Al Jolson and many many more.

I actually think this is one of the better books I have read in the category of non-fiction biographies where the author tells you surprising things. I didn't expect some of what he actually was willing to talk about.

Great read, interesting and most of all of a legendary performer that I have great respect for. Fast read!


10,000 Garden Questions Answered by 20 Experts
10,000 Garden Questions Answered by 20 Experts
Author: Marjorie J. Dietz
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent reference with everything you ever wanted to know about gardens. This is the 1974 edition/hard cover with a solid bound cover but the information is excellent for any level gardener! Highly recommend it! There are two volumes of this edition!


14 Peck Slip
14 Peck Slip
Author: Ed Dee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/30/2007


In 1982, while on a stakeout, detectives Joe Gregory and Anthony Ryan see neighborhood enforcers dump a white barrel into the East River, which happens to contain the body of Jinx Mulgrew, a detective who disappeared 10 years ago. Months on the NY Times, best seller. Mystery, murder, police action and suspense. Five star writer!


302 Advanced Techniques for Driving a Man Wild in Bed : The New Book by the Bestselling Author of 203 Ways to Drive a Man Wild in Bed
Review Date: 10/21/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A must read for anyone interested in relationships. Very well written. Full of techniques, fun scenerio's. I would recommend this book a 10 of 10! There's never a dull moment in this book!


The Advocate's Devil
The Advocate's Devil
Author: Alan M. Dershowitz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/13/2007


A very intense yet great read!
From Books:
The Advocate's Devil
by Alan M. Dershowitz

hat do you do if you are a defense attorneyâ"and you suspect your client is guilty? From Alan M. Dershowitz, one of America's most celebrated legal tacticians, comes a riveting novel about a basketball player accused of rapeâ"and the defense lawyer who tries to save him.

Equally compelling, Dershowitz has crafted a brilliant legal investigation in to the ethical underpinnings of law. He shows how the imperatives of winning a case can sometimes blind the lawyer to the conflict between his duties in the courtroom and his responsibilities as a human being.

This is the story of Joe Campbell, a handsome and charismatic basketball star with the New York Knicks, known as the "White Knight," who is accused of raping a woman after she invites him up to her hotel room in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The athlete engages a prominent local attorney named Abe Rinvel to defend him. From the initial facts of the case, Abe believes he has found an easy victory to stop what has been a recent losing streak in the courtroom.

As the case unfolds, and the legal defense team performs its own investigation, Abe's associates become concerned that Campbell is concealing facts that may show him to be guilty and dangerous. Abe disagrees. To help sort through the issues, Abe calls upon his mentor, an aging lawyer and talmudic scholar named Haskel Levine. Together, these men explore the ethical dilemmas faced by a defense attorney who wants to win his case and serve justice at the same time.

On one level, Alan Dershowitz tells a pulse-pounding story, filled with courtroom drama and populated by a cast of memorable characters, including Abe's rebellious daughter, Emma, and his mysterious girlfriend, Rendi.

On another level, Dershowitz uses the fictional medium to dissect the mind of the defense attorney at work and to explore the inner soul of the law itself It is this additional dimension that gives The Advocate's Devil such resonance and power.


All He Ever Wanted
All He Ever Wanted
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 11/30/2007


From: Amazon.com
Anita Shreve's All He Ever Wanted reads like Virginia Woolf's A Room of One's Own told from the perspective of the husband. The wife gains a measure of freedom, but how does the repressive, abandoned husband feel about that freedom? Set in the early 1900s in the fictional New England college town of Thrupp, and narrated by the pompous Nicholas Van Tassel, All He Ever Wanted is at once an academic satire, a period novel, and a tale of suspense. Shreve's ability to nimbly hop through genres brings a liveliness to this story of love gone depressingly wrong. Van Tassel is an undistinguished professor of rhetoric at Thrupp College and a confirmed bachelor when he meets--in no less flamy a scenario than a hotel fire--the arresting Miss Etna Bliss. Immediately smitten, he woos and wins her. At least, he persuades her to become his wife. But Van Tassel hasn't really won her. Etna keeps her secrets and her feelings to herself. The extent of her withholding only becomes clear after a couple of kids and a decade or so of marriage. Then we find out that she's been creating a secret haven for herself all along. Van Tassel is in turn revealed--through his own priggish, puffed-up sentences--as something of a monster. The book is cleverly done; watching Etna through Van Tassel's eyes is like looking at beautiful bird from a hungry cat's point of view. But Van Tassel's voice might be too well written; he's pedantic and dull and snarky all at once, and by the end we find that we, like Etna, can't bear his company a minute longer. --Claire Dederer

Incredible book, incredible writer! Shreve at the best!


American Wine: A Comprehensive Guide
American Wine: A Comprehensive Guide
Author: Anthony Dias Blue
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/25/2007


The most comprehensive book on wines, wineries, locations and serving suggestions I have ever seen. Details owners of wineries, costs of wines, ordering information, addresses, types of specialty wines, whose makes the best of the wines and much more. HUGH book with invaluable information for gift-giving, serving and buying collectible or regular wines.

Great section on touring wine country and must see in all US locations. Tours available and travel information are also included in this what I would call encyclopedia of American wines, wineries and more.

Invaluable book to wine collectors!


America's Crochet Book
America's Crochet Book
Author: Gertrude Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/28/2007


If you love crochet, this big book is the one for you. Patterns, techniques, illustrations are jam-packed in this book. It's an excellent pattern book, it actually helped me learn to crochet as well as advance my techniques. Great book that is good for advanced and beginning crochet artists. I'd rate this 5 stars.


An American Mystic : A Novel of Spiritual Adventure
An American Mystic : A Novel of Spiritual Adventure
Author: Michael Gurian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/15/2007


One of the best books I have read this year. Written to keep interest in a very clear, concise style. Loved this book! Had to share it.

From Publishers Weekly
Psychotherapist and parental-advice author Gurian (The Good Son) ventures into fiction with a novel that traces a young American's journey to enlightenment and that is likened by the publisher to Siddhartha and The Celestine Prophecy. Ben Brickman, a 30-year-old psychology student in Paris, has the first of a series of intensely symbolic--and as it turns out, prophetic--dreams, and soon embarks, with teacher/guide Josef Kader, on a quest to discover his life's mission, the purpose of humanity and the divine truths of the universe. These pursuits take Ben and Josef to Turkey, and to the mystical figure known as "The Magician," an enlightened person able to span the dimensions and bring forth cosmic knowledge. Ben's adventures are presented as a series of "found" diary entries, and his notes reveal both his epiphanies and the testing of his faith. Saddled with heavy-handed foreshadowing, Ben's discoveries--about his dreams, his ability to travel outside his body, his strange sicknesses and his worst experiences--unfold with few surprises and little dramatic tension. It turns out he is destined to play the role of "messenger," sent to explain to the world the Magician's 10 steps toward spiritual revelation. These steps are simply those precepts espoused by each major religious faith embracing the common concept of love and universality; while the tenets contribute a spiritual, educational core to the novel, Gurian provides no justification for rejecting the differences between the major religions. His prose style is best when it's down-to-earth, as in describing the atmosphere of Turkish locales, but he repeatedly sacrifices full characterizations and plot consistency for less compelling, albeit dramatic, passages of mystical truth telling. 6-city author tour. (Mar.)
Copyright 2000 Reed Business Information, Inc.


The Angel of Darkness (Laszlo Kreizler and John Schuyler Moore, Bk 2)
The Angel of Darkness (Laszlo Kreizler and John Schuyler Moore, Bk 2)
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 11/25/2007


This is another great Caleb Carr suspense filled book. Historical read with a twist on murder and mystery. I didn't guess the ending throughout the book as I usually do in mysteries but felt intrigued to keep reading till I got more details.
This is not a fast read and certainly not one that you want to put down. It's a HUGH book filled with details,suspense and characters set in a historical climate.
I read it twice and found I missed much the first time I read it. Caleb Carr has a way of writing that keeps you wanting more.
Good read for mystery fans!


Angels
Angels
Author: Billy Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/30/2007


From : Amazon.com
Angels: God's Secret Agents is Billy Graham's one-volume introduction to one of the most popular spiritual phenomena of our time. Firmly grounded in Graham's close readings of scripture, Angels testifies to Graham's own encounters with the heavenly beings and also records the many similar stories that other believers have told him over the years. Graham devotes entire chapters to the questions of whether angels are visible or invisible, how they differ from men and women, and how the angelic hierarchy is organized. He also discusses the much-debated theory that UFO sightings are in fact angelic appearances.

Perhaps the primary purpose of this book, however, is to inform readers that armies of angels are ready and willing to help Christians in their daily fights against the forces of darkness. "Millions of angels are at God's command and at our service," Graham writes. "The hosts of heaven stand at attention as we make our way from earth to glory, and Satan's BB guns are no match for God's heavy artillery." Such stirring theological pronouncements are matched with practical advice for believers who wish to know the angelic powers in everyday life. --Kevin Attwood

Book Description

The world continues to be fascinated with angelsbut what does the Bible say about these beings? Billy Graham's book is the definitive resource. With more than a million copies sold,Angelsgives ringing assurance that we are assisted and defended by a powerful order of invisible beings.


Angels All Over Town
Angels All Over Town
Author: Luanne Rice
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 10/21/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A darling story of relationships, romance and closeness. There's no sexiness involved but an endearing tale of love and friends.


The Art of Breaking Glass
The Art of Breaking Glass
Author: Matthew Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/14/2007


If you like thrillers, you will love this book. Exceptional work!

From Kirkus Reviews
Imagine Hannibal Lecter with a social conscience, and you'll have the germ of Hall's diabolically sharp new thriller. Bill Kaiser is a man with a mission: He wants a Manhattan day-care center installed in the decaying Carnegie-Hayden building so much that he's willing to kill the project's opponents. Captured by the police after planting a bomb in sanctimonious Senator Arvin Redwell's high-rise, Bill fakes insanity convincingly enough to get committed for three days' observation in Bellevue, where he puts on such a winning (though demented) front that psychiatric nurse Sharon Blautner starts to open up to him. But Bill is determined to continue his campaign, so he manages to get the unwitting Sharon to smuggle in an innocuous-looking package that's filled with the goodies he needs to engineer a spectacular escape. Naturally, Sharon's accused of complicity in Bill's escape and fired from her job. Even worse, she sees that Bill's appointed himself her personal avenging angel, meting out condign justice to the randy surgeon who liked his sex rougher than she did and to the sniveling bureaucrat who fired her as he warms up for the coup de grace: going after Edward Mackinnon, the treacherous onetime partner who stole Sharon's father's business and drove him to suicide--the same Edward Mackinnon who just happens to be the megabucks developer who plans to turn Carnegie-Hayden into a maximum security prison. Nothing of Mackinnon's, it seems, is safe from Bill's high-tech wizardry and homespun moralizing, and as Bill scores triumph after triumph over this robber baron, Sharon, who's working with the FBI, finds herself wondering whose side she's really on. The final payoff, though ingenious, isn't up to the rest of this exhilarating yarn from Hall (Nightmare Logic, not reviewed). But for most of its length, it really does manage to make its villain both scary and unsettlingly appealing. (First printing of 200,000; $300,000 ad/promo) -- Copyright ©1997, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved. --


The Art of Food Processor Cooking
The Art of Food Processor Cooking
Author: Jane Salzfass Freiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/21/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Definitely, the best processor cookbook that I have ever seen .

"It brims with great ideas and teaches with precise explanations. In the world of cookbooks it is timely, revolutionary and exciting: a remarkable achievement. This is the perfect gift for every home cook no matter how skilled in the kitchen."

Taken from one raving review on back cover by: Paula Wolfert, author of Couscous & Other Good Food from Morocco * Mediterranean Cooking*


My review: Timeless recipes! I loved the pizza recipes and soup. Though older it's a must have and my favorite of the food processor cookbooks. I collect cookbooks and this is the second copy in my library.


Ateco Simplified Cake Decorating
Ateco Simplified Cake Decorating
Author: Elizabeth de Unca & Edith Latimer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/11/2007


This book is fabulous to learn how to use various decorating tips to create masterpieces for every holiday and special occasions. It was written by the same celebrated bakers that designed Eiseinhower's birthday cake as President also leading NY Times Food editor. Extremely simplified techniques with step by step directions and illustrations. Though it was written in 1960, it's a treasure if you love cake decorating!


Ateco Simplified Cake Decorating
Ateco Simplified Cake Decorating
Author: Elizabeth De Unda and Edith Latimer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/16/2007


Ateco Simplified Cake Decorating 18th edition written by the ladies that decorated Eisenhower's Birthday cake to show households how to use decorating tubes. Highly illustrated with recipes and notes. Real collectible for bakers.

I love the book and found some great recipes in it. The Illustrations are very good as well.


Better Homes and Gardens All-Time Favorite Casserole Recipes
Review Date: 10/21/2007


I wouldn't have traded this book for the word except I have owned it years and learned so very much. Outstanding recipes for outstanding people!


Better Homes and Gardens Pasta (Great Cooking Made Easy)
Review Date: 10/21/2007


If you love pasta, this is a must have! I have had it years and used it to the hilt. I wanted to share my find with others that share a love for pasta. It's all you could want and more for pasta recipes.


Bon Appetit Quick and Delicious
Bon Appetit Quick and Delicious
Author: Conde' Nast Publications
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/12/2007


The best small cookbook I have had the pleasure to own. Offers appetizers, deserts, main courses and much more in a small cookbook which I found easy to carry and plan menu's with. The appetizer section is especially wonderful!


Bread & Rolls
Bread & Rolls
Author: Koneman, Koneman
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/14/2007


Softcover 63 page Highly illustrated cookbook on any bread you could want to make. More recipes and information on baking than books twice it's size.

The recipes I tried never failed and I used many of the techniques that they use as tips. Highly invaluable book for anyone who loves to bake. The recipes include rye sourdough which is delicious, Swedish Tea-Rings, Monkey bread, Focaccia and more. It also includes lists of herbs and how to include them as well as flavorings.

Very handy to take with you as it's small and easy to use in the kitchen.


1 to 20 of 100 - Page: