Jackie S. (js) - , - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Always & Forever: Heartbreaker / Strangers in Paradise / Used-To-Be Lovers
Review Date: 5/30/2010


The anthology type romance books always enthrall me. I found at least one excellant author, and have three books with a common link. In this one, the stories were well written, and at times, humorous. It is true that this is probably some of the authors' older works, but that was a positive for me, as they did not finish in the rut that so many authors seem to do when writing hundreds of books. It was a refreshing read, perfect for Memorial Day weekend!


Baby Due Date (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1260)
Baby Due Date (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1260)
Author: Teresa Carpenter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/31/2010


This was a pretty good book. You knew that the girl would get the guy, but most romance books are like that, eh? Anyway, this book dragged in the middle, and seemed like the plot would end there. However, a twist in the plot made the last half of the book go way too fast for me. I skipped dinner just to find out what happened! A sweet read. :)


A Christmas Legacy (Welcome to Riverbend, Bk 5) (Harlequin Superromance, No 948)
Review Date: 5/31/2010


I usually love Ms. Shay's books, but this one was not one of my favorites. I still enjoyed it, but it was not up to her normal standards.

The conditions of a will is what the plot is all about. An estranged son must follow what he considers silly terms to gain his inheritance, or lose it forever. Nevertheless, romance blooms and love conquers all.


The Cowboy Finds a Bride / The Way We Weren't (Harlequin Duets, No 17)
Review Date: 6/24/2010


I am not into scenes with ranchers. But, even though this was set on a ranch, it had enough other tangents that I enjoyed. I was happy with this book. The second part was hard to put down. I laughed the entire way through, and gaffawed about how much it related to my life of sorts.


The Delaney Christmas Carol: Christmas Past / Christmas Present / Christmas Future
Review Date: 5/31/2010


This book was unique in that it took you through many generations of a family entwined with a magical mirror. Of course, there is murder, mystery, intrique and romance provided by each author in this anthology. The scenry sounds beautiful.

With no disrespect to the authors, I found the first story to be kinda boring, and not my cup of tea. It dragged on, and that is why I only gave the book 3 stars. I prefer more contemporary romances, and this one was not quite regency, but close.


A Home of Her Own (Dundee, Idaho, Bk 4) (Harlequin Superromance, No 1242)
Review Date: 9/6/2007


This is a bit of a tear jerker, as you feel so sorry for the star of the book, Lucky. She is a strong character that sticks her guns in. But, amidst the tears, many laughs were found as you relate to the struggles of growing up, family, and demolition derbys (repairs on your home)!


I Love Bad Boys
I Love Bad Boys
Author: Lori Foster, Janelle Denison, Donna Kauffman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 5/2/2010


This book was simply sizzling with the interplay of characters! The sex was scandlous and the plots were steamy. I have already reread the book because it was so good. Hopefully, you will like it too.


In Love and War: A Military Affair / Comrades in Arms / An Uncondiitonal Surrender
Review Date: 10/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This deals with the military, and what the war is doing in Iraq. It has some fiction mixed with non-fiction I think, as it gave me a better understanding of what our troops are going through. But, of course, it is a romance, so there is the happy ending. None of the books were real technical; they just explained military life as it is over there in the author's eyes. I liked the book as it did open my eyes, but it did not dwell on the bad parts of war.


Married in Spring: We Do! / Engaging Events / Malone's Vow
Review Date: 10/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book was really, really good. It was a fast read by three different, but talented authors who made the heroines come alive with their laughter and tears. Perfect for a Saturday afternoon, or a day at the beach.


The Men of Thorne Island (Harlequin Superromance, No 1120)
The Men of Thorne Island (Harlequin Superromance, No 1120)
Author: Cynthia Thomason
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/12/2007


Slow to get into just because there was no heavy action or drama. Just a nice fairy tale with everyone having a happily ever after. It is a good read, with the heroine a "do gooder."


Million to One (Harlequin Superromance, No 1316)
Million to One (Harlequin Superromance, No 1316)
Author: Darlene Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/6/2007


This book deals with real life struggles and does not have all the sex that most romance books do, so I really, really enjoyed it. You laugh, you cry, and you are shocked with the ending! A great rainy day read. Five stars and more!


Quinn's Complete Seduction (Bachelor Gulch) (Silhouette Romance, No 1517)
Review Date: 9/6/2007


This is your typical romance book tnat is set in a small mid-western town full of bachelors. It was a good read, but I am not into the mid-west, so I would not rate it off the charts for me. I prefer the royal castles and billionaires of Europe. But, there was a great story line. Try it so I can get a credit! Haha!


Real Marriage Material (Silhouette Romance, No 1213)
Real Marriage Material (Silhouette Romance, No 1213)
Author: Jodi O'Donnell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/30/2010


This book is sizzling with sexual undertones between the two main characters, even though there are no sex scenes, which I liked. (Not big into reading erotica.) The main characters finally bring it together for their shared love of a little girl. It was easy to let my imagination run away while reading this book; as I could really see myself as one of the characters.


Shop 'til Yule Drop: A Publicist and a Pear Tree / King of Orient Are / Jingle This!
Review Date: 5/31/2010


This book introduced me to new authors, and I loved every minute of it! This book was funny, cute, romantic, dramatic, and everything else all rolled into one. I will re-read this book before I list it for a swap.


Stetsons, Spring and Wedding Rings: Rocky Mountain Courtship / Courting Miss Perfect / Courted by the Cowboy (Harlequin Historicals, No 947)
Review Date: 6/24/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was set in olden times, where there was no modern conviences. Because of that, it was not my favorite book. All three stories were very well written, and had a lot to offer. I just prefer contemporary settings. Despite that, I did stay up until the wee hours of the morning to find out what would happen next.


Tender Expectations  (By Request 2's) (By Request 2's)
Review Date: 5/31/2010


Like any duet book, one story will always touch your heart more than the second story in the book. Both of these stories are true to form, but the one about a Mother having a second child to "cure" the first one is a bit of a tear jerker.

The second story in this book is what the synopsis says it is. A man thinks his fantasy woman is going to have his fantasy child, at the risk of another man being involved. Like all romances, the woman gets her man, and a happy ending ensues.


Trust Me (Silhouette Desire, No 1349)
Trust Me (Silhouette Desire, No 1349)
Author: Caroline Cross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/12/2007


A little slow to get into, but very good! A great page turner with lots of action!


1 to 17 of 17