Krista L. (Kristalo) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 71 - Page:
16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, Bk 1)
16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, Bk 1)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 567
Review Date: 8/1/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This seems like it's going to be a great series. Fun characters, and interesting stories. Here is the order of the series: Notice that the 1st number of each book's address is the order that the books go in.

16 lighthouse road
204 Rosewood Lane
311 Pelican Court
44 Cranberry Point
50 Harbor St
6 Rainier Drive
5-B Poppy Lane Novella
74 Seaside Ave.
A Cedar Cove Christmas
8 Sandpiper way
92 pacific blvd
1022 Evergreen place
1105 yakima st
1225 Christmas Tree Lane


311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove, Bk 3)
311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 477
Review Date: 8/5/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is the 3rd book in the series. I realized half way through that I was still not remembering who was who, and that's not a good thing in a series. The relationships were dragging on and on, and it was pretty boring. As a result, I didn't finish, and will not read anymore of this series. Pretty disappointed!


Acts of Love
Acts of Love
Author: Judith Michael
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/11/2010


Not my favorite book. The book is in 3 parts. The 1st is very long, and somewhat tedious. It is full of detailed scenes that really do not add to the storyline.

The second part is better. It's the romance, so it's fun, but still, not "wow".

The third part is probably the best. We follow the female character as she rebuilds her life. The problem with this section is that it is not detailed enough. It seemed like the authors were tired of the story, and wanted it over.

Not really recommended, sorry!


All She Ever Wanted
All She Ever Wanted
Author: Barbara Freethy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 8/17/2011


I really enjoyed this book! It was a good mystery, with great characters. Highly recommend!


Already Home
Already Home
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 5/21/2011
Helpful Score: 6


I really like Susan Mallery, even though a lot of her books follow the same formula: Husband cheats, divorce, woman goes back to her childhood home, and discovers the life, and love, that she's been looking for. However, even though this book has the same formula, it was wonderful! The story was rich with good characters. There was a deep feeling of family and love. There were trials to overcome, but even through those, the love was obvious. As I read, I felt like I was a part of this great family.

One note- Mallery usually uses sex in her books. This one was very chaste. There was some "touching" during kissing, but no sex. No profanity either. What a relief! Just strong characters living life, and learning how to connect with others.

Loved it!


Angelina's Bachelors: A Novel with Food
Angelina's Bachelors: A Novel with Food
Author: Brian O'Reilly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I love books with food as an integral part of them. However, they should also have a wonderful story line, or else I'll just read a cookbook! Angelina's Bachelors has a wonderful storyline. It's about grief, and friendship, and love. Food plays a major role. While the food is interesting, and the recipes look great, although pretty gourmet, (and I'm pretty good in the kitchen) I think the food descriptions were a little too heavy. Every meal, every bite is described in detail. Even when she makes a "casual" lunch of a sandwich, we get an entire paragraph on what exactly is on that sandwich. I would have liked more about the bachelors, and about Angelina's thoughts and emotions then every detail of every tablespoon of spice. However, I would recommend this book!


The Apple Orchard (Bella Vista Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Apple Orchard (Bella Vista Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/5/2013


I'm having a hard time deciding how well I liked this book. The writing was beautiful, and the story intriguing. I read it quickly. I really liked the flashbacks to the Nazi invasion. It was one of those stories you like as you're reading it, but when it's over you're not quite sure if you liked it. The family was so dysfunctional I had a hard time keeping up. Tess wasn't my favorite heroine ever, but her journey was nice to watch. The romance between her and Dominic was nice too. Just nice. I liked that it evolved slowly and wasn't a Hi, I'm in love with you, romance. But I just didn't feel the chemistry. And what was up with Isabella? She was so sad and lost. I expected to hear that she had some horrible calamity like cancer. Major denial issues with her. Then, suddenly, all of their issues are solved, a little too easily, and they are all living the perfect lives. For all the beautiful writing and the almost nostalgic feel, I expected something a little deeper and lasting.


The Baker's Apprentice (Bread Alone, Bk 2)
The Baker's Apprentice (Bread Alone, Bk 2)
Author: Judith Ryan Hendricks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. This is the 2nd book- the first being "Bread Alone". Both books are fairly simple in storyline, but the storyline is real. It's a book about life. It gave me urges to go bake bread, and to go call my best friend. This is a must read!


Beach Lane (Chesapeake Shores, Bk 7)
Beach Lane (Chesapeake Shores, Bk 7)
Author: Sherryl Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 6/9/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This was one of my favorites of the series. What a happy book- but also such a tearjerker! You will need to read books 1-6 to understand this one- but they are well worth the read!


The Best Man (Blue Heron, Bk 1)
The Best Man (Blue Heron, Bk 1)
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 3/12/2013
Helpful Score: 4


I really enjoyed this book. The Heroine, Faith, was a pretty standard Higgins character- slightly overweight, funny, clumsy gal. But, Faith had a more depth to her than other characters. I love how Higgins heroine's aren't "barbie" perfect. I loved the hero Levi. He's rough and tough, but so sweet to the people in his town. I would have strangled him to TALK though! The characters were quirky and fun. I liked that the story had some deeper issues of serving in war, childhood guilt over a death, and betrayed love. It made the story more real. Sex scenes are rated pg-13. Not explicit at all.


The Best of Me
The Best of Me
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 10/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book was okay, but not as good as his others. The story line was so-so, and the ending was just way too rushed.


Bread Alone
Bread Alone
Author: Judith Henricks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Fabulous book. A typical story, but Henricks has a great writing style. Love that there are recipes included in the book! I'm keeping my copy. Buy your own!


Bring Me Home for Christmas (Virgin River, Bk 16)
Bring Me Home for Christmas (Virgin River, Bk 16)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 165
Review Date: 10/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


What can I say? I love this series. It's one of my absolute favorites. The characters are real, I want to live in Virgin River, and the romances are great. This story however... I just don't know. The dialog seemed stilted. Denny, the Hero, didn't seem like a former Marine, but at times a lost little boy. I would, however, still recommend it if you've read the rest of the series. And have all the editors in the publishing world quit? I've read so many books lately with so many errors, it's driving me crazy! This book had a few, but mostly spelling or punctuation. Enough to make you go and read the sentence again. I won't stop reading Virgin River, but pray that the new ones coming out next year are more up to Carr's quality.


Carnal Innocence
Carnal Innocence
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 451
Review Date: 12/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Raunchy, raunchy, raunchy. Too many characters with similar names; not enough character development in even the main characters. I couldn't read past chapter 3. It was just too much disgusting sex, bad talk, and no character development. I normally like Nora Roberts, but not this one.


Carolina Isle (Edenton, Bk 2)
Carolina Isle (Edenton, Bk 2)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 308
Review Date: 2/25/2012


Deveraux's books are just... unexpected. You read the synopsis and expect a cute light read, but they are not like that at all! I love it. There is unexpected mystery, murder, mayhem... Stories you'll remember for a long time!


Change of Heart: Best Laid Plans / From This Day
Change of Heart: Best Laid Plans / From This Day
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/13/2013


This book has two of Nora's previously published stories. I liked the first one, but couldn't get through the second. I knew that since they were short stories the romance had to happen quickly, but it was just ridiculous in "From this Day". He was her boss and was all over her. She wasn't even sure she was attracted to him. Plus, he was domineering and controlling. The heroine was a bright, funny lady, and I didn't want to see her ruined by him.


Chasing Fire (Large Print)
Chasing Fire (Large Print)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/19/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This was a rough read. I loved reading about what fire jumpers do, but the writing and language was very rough. Lots of swearing. Some of the sentences had to be read again and again just to understand them. The 2 main characters were fleshed out, but not anyone I'd want to be too close to. The other characters were easily mixed up with others. There was an actual storyline, not just romance, but it took quite some time to get to.


Christmas Eve at Friday Harbour (Friday Harbor, Bk 1)
Christmas Eve at Friday Harbour (Friday Harbor, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/20/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Short, fun, sweet book! The synopsis of this book here is misleading. I think it's the synopsis of the series, but not this particular book. Here's what happens in this book:

From Publishers Weekly
Kleypas (Love in the Afternoon) finds a little romantic magic in this spritely charmer. Mark Nolan's happy-go-lucky bachelorhood is interrupted by the death of his sister and his subsequent guardianship of her six-year-old daughter, Holly, who is traumatized into muteness and desperately seeking a maternal figure. Enter Maggie Collins, a toy shop owner who lost her own husband to cancer. As the holiday season draws closer, Maggie, Mark, and Holly begin to spend more time together, and Maggie and Mark's attraction becomes too powerful to ignore. Kleypas's holiday offering is sweet, romantic, and genuine, and avoids, thankfully, all the cheesy holiday miracle clichés. A solid romance with strong leads, this is a refreshing holiday treat. (Nov.) (c)


Comfort and Joy
Comfort and Joy
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 11/6/2011


This book was incredible. It's one of the stories you would never believe, but you can when reading it. Powerful and haunting.


Cross My Heart
Cross My Heart
Author: Julie Wright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/3/2011


For LDS fiction, this book was pretty good. The "voice" was light and fresh, oftentimes funny. The storyline was pretty predictable, but cute. Thankfully, it was a lot less cheesy then most LDS novels; no "every fiber of my being" testimonies. No preaching at all really, except when she chastises herself for being nice to everyone. The one little thing that bothered me is that she used the term "Mormon" every time she said what religion she was. Personal pet peeve; we are LDS, not Mormon. But, maybe that's so non-LDS would understand. I probably wouldn't recommend this book, but it was a good read.


1 to 20 of 71 - Page: