Sarah R. (swampfox28) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
Baby Laughs : The Naked Truth About the First Year of Mommyhood
Baby Laughs : The Naked Truth About the First Year of Mommyhood
Author: Jenny McCarthy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 3/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A follow-up to her hugely funny book "Belly Laughs", Jenny tackles the 1st year of motherhood and all the "fun" things it entails (baby poop, circumcision, losing the baby weight, etc.) Even though the topics aren't funny in and of themselves, Jenny tackles them with humor and truthfulness. A great read for the new mom!


Bark, George
Bark, George
Author: Feiffer
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 9/28/2007


What fun! One of my kids' favorite books to read. Somewhat similiar to "I know an old lady who swallowed a fly..." in that George can't bark - because he's full of other animal noises (and animals, too!) My favorite thing about this book are the expressions on George's mother's face... PRICELESS! :o)


The Blue Sword (Damar, Bk 1)
The Blue Sword (Damar, Bk 1)
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 4/19/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A TERRIFIC read for young adults/teens as well as adults. This story intertwines with The Hero and the Crown by the same author (one of my ALL TIME favorite books) and is also deserving of accolades. Robin McKinley is a superb writer who has a knack for drawing you into the story and making you never want to leave. There's fantasy and magic, royalty and duty, mystical folk, daring escapades, amazing horses, true love, and excitement - all waiting to be had!!


The Boy from Baby House 10: From the Nightmare of a Russian Orphanage to a New Life in America
Review Date: 6/20/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderfully moving book that made me cry more than once - but was so totally worth it!

I have been interested in international adoption for many years but knew very little about the plight of many of the orphans in Russia; who knew that a child with minor PHYSICAL disabilities could be labeled an imbecile and condemned to live in insane asylum?! However, that is what happened to little Ivan (Vanya) - but his tenacious, intelligent, optimistic nature helped by the slimmest of margins to save him from a terrible fate.

Some might not want to read about this, but I think that more of us NEED to know what has happened time and time again to other children who, like Vanya, are cast aside and treated as worthless creatures. I am so glad to know that this wonderful boy (who is really now almost a man!) was given a chance to love and be loved as he so rightly deserved... and as so many others also deserve (but may never have the chance to)...

I am grateful to Vanya/John for sharing his story and also grateful to Alan, Sarah, Vika, and others that loved this child and helped him on his journey.


Dragonhaven
Dragonhaven
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 10/21/2011


I really enjoyed this book. I would LOVE to write the kind of review that just blows your mind and makes you WANT to read this book, but I don't think I can do it justice. Yes, I'm a *HUGE* McKinley fan (started reading her work in 5th grade and I'm in my 30's now...!) After she branched off with some of her other works (Sunshine, though it won awards and was *interesting*, was NOT a "McKinley" book in the vein of most of her other great novels), I just wasn't sure where she was going anymore.

Dragonhaven is different than The Blue Sword and The Hero and the Crown (my two favorites), but it was REALLY good. I really liked the conversational tone of the narrator (a boy this time) and truly felt involved in the story (which is SUCH a neat trick of hers!) The characters are interesting, though I could have used even MORE background on a few of them; it was strange: she almost rambled about some of the extras too much - but then, later, I wanted to know them more...! I also would have liked a few more answers to WHAT happened to his mother - but I digress.

Is the book different? Yes, it is. Do ALL of your questions get answered? No - but it does come close and has a very interesting, satisfying ending.

Damn, but it made me LIKE dragons and see them in a whole new light! Lois was - for lack of a better description - very VERY cool and his relationship with her was so nurturing and amazing. The bond was really tangible.

There's a real "conservation of nature" theme - as well as some not so subtle references to how we, as humans, tend to conquer a land as well as it's inhabitants, with no real conscience as to what we're doing (i.e., the way America took land from the Indians who lived here long before we arrived... how we took over things and really didn't do such a great job of CARING about HOW we did it or who/what we hurt along the way.

This is a very interesting book for those that like the fantasy genre and McKinley in particular. She does give you a satisfying ending. It's nice to get surprisingly caught up in your characters and really want to know EVERYTHING about HOW things were pulled off the way they were. By the end, I could hardly put it down! I really hope she winds up revisiting this world again so I can find out about everything that happens AFTER the ending - and I really enjoy that! I hope YOU enjoy it, too....!


Duck for President
Duck for President
Author: Doreen Cronin, Betsy Lewin (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A funny account of what would happen when that naughty duck from Click, Clack, Moo and other books by Cynthia Rylant decides that he's tired of working on the farm and wants another job. Duck gets more than he bargained for, however, in this humorous tale that teaches us to appreciate what we have (and those around us!)


A Girl From Yamhill : A Memoir
A Girl From Yamhill : A Memoir
Author: Beverly Cleary
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/19/2007


Beverly Cleary, one of the most beloved children's authors of all time, wrote A Girl from Yamhill as a memoir of her childhood. In this book Beverly tells her readers a lot about who she is and where she came from. Filled with memories and personal history, this was an interesting read for anyone who wants to know more about this author.


The Great Gracie Chase: Stop That Dog!
The Great Gracie Chase: Stop That Dog!
Author: Cynthia Rylant, Mark Teague (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/19/2007


The Great Gracie Chase - STOP THAT DOG! is a wonderfully fun book to read to your child (approx. age 3-7). The artwork by Mark Teague is perfectly suited to this whimsical tale about Gracie, a little dog that was good every day of her life - except for one! Gracie gets more than she bargained for when she decides to go for a walk "all by herself". This was a favorite of my son's - and myself!


Gump & Co.
Gump & Co.
Author: Winston Groom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


The rollicking sequel to Forrest Gump. The books are different than the movie, but still very fun to read. If you enjoyed Forrest Gump then you'll likely enjoy this, too!


Henry and the Paper Route (Henry Huggins, Bk 4)
Henry and the Paper Route (Henry Huggins, Bk 4)
Author: Beverly Cleary
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 3/29/2007


A neat book abut Henry Huggins; you'll find the irrepressible Ramona here, too!


In a Sunburned Country
In a Sunburned Country
Author: Bill Bryson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 6/28/2007
Helpful Score: 10


I stumbled onto Bill Bryson a couple of years ago and really enjoyed A Walk in the Woods, so I decided to get a copy of this book. As good as A Walk was, this was even better! There were passages that had me laughing so hard I was afraid of waking up my sleeping husband. Passges that I found so funny that I read them to my loved ones - sometimes more than once (oops!) What I like about Bryson is his passion, his quirky sense of humor, and his ability to throw in tons of useful knowledge and not make you feel overwhelmed by it. He makes some profound points about important issues without getting preachy but rather so simply you wonder how there's ever been any debate on that particular matter. He notices things that I would likely overlook - and then shows me how much I would have missed by doing so. I love that he is a lover of people and a deliberate loner BOTH at the same time. This book made me take a long hard look at whether or not my ambition to go to Australia is such a good idea - and at the same time made me wish I was already there. I HIGHLY reccomend this book!


Investing for Dummies, Second Edition
Investing for Dummies, Second Edition
Author: Eric Tyson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/19/2007


Just like any of the ever-popular "dummy" books, this one tackles all aspects of investing. It covers basic information and baby steps you up to the more difficult topics and concepts. Pretty helpful for those of us that slept through fincance class!!


Maniac Magee
Maniac Magee
Author: Jerry Spinelli
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 3/29/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A very interesting book for adolescents about issues such as race, competetion, and having no where to go. Maniac Magee teaches a whole town a lesson about understanding and looking withIN rather than only at the outside of a person.


Ramona Quimby, Age 8 (Ramona Quimby, Bk 6)
Ramona Quimby, Age 8 (Ramona Quimby, Bk 6)
Author: Beverly Cleary, Tracy Dockray (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 3/29/2007


An additional Ramona book; a must-read in the beloved series!


The Secret Life of Bees
The Secret Life of Bees
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5492
Review Date: 3/19/2007


This was one of the best books I've read in a long time. Unlike many books that generate a "buzz" (no pun intended!), this one lived up to the promise. A feel-good book similiar in feeling to "Fried Green Tomatoes" (book) or "The Man in the Moon" (movie)


She's Come Undone
She's Come Undone
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1451
Review Date: 5/15/2007
Helpful Score: 8


I found this book to be way over-hyped. I expected something deep, touching, amazing; what I found instead was a book I wish I hadn't bothered reading. I found this book disturbing, unsettling, and unrewarding. Yes, many people rave about this book but I am not one of them. As much as I adore Oprah, I find that I do not enjoy many of her "book club" selections...


The Waiting Child : How the Faith and Love of One Orphan Saved the Life of Another
Review Date: 5/15/2007


I found this book because I was looking for books that concerned international adoption (specifically China). However, nothing could have prepared me for how amazing this story is! This book touched me so deeply that it will always be a part of me. The author, the mother of one biological child and an infant adopted from China had decided "no more children" until she saw the picture of a little girl on a website. Something told her that that child was HER daughter - and her life would never be the same. 4 year old Jaclyn is an intense and active child - but that was not the only adjustment that she had in store for Cindy and her family. Jaclyn couldn't forget about a little boy back in China that she had loved and cared for (she called him "her baby") and from the moment that she could speak English all she did was ask her new mom and dad to go to China and get him, too! This touching and beautiful story talks frankly about adoption of an older child, the mixing of families, and how even when you think there is NO more money or room in your heart or life for another child, somehow love finds a way. What a miracle love is for everyone involved!!


What to Expect When You're Expecting
What to Expect When You're Expecting
Author: Arlene Eisenberg, Heidi E. Murkoff, Sandee Hathaway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 648
Review Date: 3/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a must-have for anyone that wants to know what's going on during all the different stages of pregnancy. It's got TONS of information, advice, and tips - helpful to ANYONE who's new (or new again!) to having a baby.


Where the Red Fern Grows
Where the Red Fern Grows
Author: Wilson Rawls
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/29/2007


A classic for so many reasons. One of the most emotionally moving books I ever read as a child.


The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding : Sixth Revised Edition
The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding : Sixth Revised Edition
Author: Gwen Gotsch, Judy Torgus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 3/19/2007
Helpful Score: 3


The La Leche "bible" for information, assistance, and support in breastfeeding your child. I found it to be full of information and very useful!!


1 to 20 of 20