Richard P. - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Autobiography of a Face
Autobiography of a Face
Author: Lucy Grealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 6/29/2006
Helpful Score: 7


A remarkable book. A remarkable life. Do yourself a favor and read this and then read Ann Patchett's book, Truth & Beauty, about her friendship with this author.


Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 871
Review Date: 5/18/2006


This is a stunning lyrical piece. It stays with you long after the final sentence.


Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life
Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life
Author: Anne Lamott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 7/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I used this book in a class on argumentative prose. The book is straight forward and clearly shows an understanding and love of the craft. A good read for any beginning writer or student.


Burning Library Writings On Art Politics
Burning Library Writings On Art Politics
Author: Edmund White
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  ?
Review Date: 7/15/2006


This is the views of an insightful man with a lovely control of language and the ability to forge a compelling argument. Well worth your time.


Drawing Blood
Drawing Blood
Author: Poppy Z. Brite
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 4/28/2007


The character development here is quite good. I wouldn't call this "horror" so much however. A good read, but not really for those seeking a chill.


Fateless
Fateless
Author: Imre Kertesz, Christopher Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/31/2009
Helpful Score: 2


The voice you follow through this extraordinary text will haunt you forever. I can't see a fourteen or fifteen year old boy without thinking what happened in this book. The Nobel Prize was well deserved for this miraculous achievement.


Frisk
Frisk
Author: Dennis Cooper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/31/2007


This book is not for the faint of heart. I kept looking over my shoulder as I read it wondering if I were being watched. You're made to feel a part of the crimes at the heart of the text, which I think is the point. Interesting . . . troubling . . . decide for yourself.


In the Time of the Butterflies
In the Time of the Butterflies
Author: Julia Alvarez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 6/29/2006


A lovely book.


Mrs. Dalloway
Mrs. Dalloway
Author: Virginia Woolf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 6/16/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Here is where prose becomes art. The loss at the heart of this novel is profoundly revealed in this text. It's a wonder that so much can be conveyed with mere words on a page. Majestic stuff.


The Murphy Stories (Illinois Short Fiction)
Review Date: 7/31/2006


This is a collection of remarkable stories told in a remarkable voice about the unremarkable lives of those around us. Highly recommended.


A Prayer for Owen Meany
A Prayer for Owen Meany
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 739
Review Date: 7/26/2006


One of Irving's best. A wonderful read.


Raney
Raney
Author: Clyde Edgerton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 7/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderful light-hearted novel that adds much needed warmth to the red-state, blue-state divide.


Short Fiction of Sarah Orne Jewett and Mary Wilkins Freeman
Review Date: 7/30/2006


These are two original American voices with wonderful stories to tell.


1 to 13 of 13