Rock Conner (rockconner) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 58 - Page:
The 158-Pound Marriage
The 158-Pound Marriage
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 4/5/2008


Not Irving's best. For that, see A PRAYER FOR OWEN MEANY, & THE WORLD ACCORDING TO GARP.


1776
1776
Author: David McCullough
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/1/2008


Something of a letdown after the extraordinary THE PATH BETWEEN THE SEAS.


Assassination Vacation
Assassination Vacation
Author: Sarah Vowell
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/5/2008


At least quirky, & maybe twisted. I loved it.


Atlas Shrugged  (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Atlas Shrugged (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Edward Herrmann (Narrator), Ayn Rand
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/8/2008


Important, even seminal. The ideas are big, but are presented in a story that can be comprehended at a young age.


Between, Georgia (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Between, Georgia (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/27/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Jackson just knows how to tell a story. That she populates her tales with characters from my family & from down the street is an added bonus. BETWEEN is my second Jackson read; the first was GODS IN ALABAMA. I now plan to read whatever she cares to write. I'm hers to lose.


Bounty, The - Unabridged cassettes : The True Story of the Mutiny on the Bounty
Review Date: 2/25/2008


Expansive, interesting.


Burning Down My Masters' House: My Life at the New York Times
Burning Down My Masters' House: My Life at the New York Times
Author: Jayson Blair
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/25/2008


Self-effacing account of the inner workings of the paper of record.


The Calling: A Year in the Life of an Order of Nuns
The Calling: A Year in the Life of an Order of Nuns
Author: Catherine Whitney
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/1/2008


VERY disappointing. The subtitle is misleading, as it implies something of a one-year chronicle when in fact this is an extended memoir. Nothing wrong with memoirs, but they should be properly titled. As a memoir of one who asked for admission to an order of nuns and was rejected, this is not a bad work. As entitled, though, this book cannot be judged by its cover.


Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt (Unabridged Audio CD)
Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt (Unabridged Audio CD)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/25/2008


Extracanonical lore by a master storyteller.


A Confederacy of Dunces
A Confederacy of Dunces
Author: John Kennedy Toole
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/25/2008


I didn't get it. Disappointing.


The Exorcist
The Exorcist
Author: William Peter Blatty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/8/2008


I read this in middle school -- scared me to death!


Fabric of This World: Inquiries into Calling, Career Choice, and the Design of Human Work
Review Date: 9/12/2009


A review of the philosophy of work from a decidedly Christian perspective. Thanks to Warren Cole Smith for referring to it in A LOVER'S QUARREL WITH THE EVANGELICAL CHURCH.

http://www.amazon.com/Lovers-Quarrel-Evangelical-Church/dp/1606570285/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1252765638&sr=1-1


Finite and Infinite Games:  A Vision of Life as Play and Possibility
Review Date: 1/19/2009


For examiners of life, this book is not to be missed. Beyond profound. My reflection on experience is forever changed. Not to be entered into lightly.


Genesis : A Living Coversation
Genesis : A Living Coversation
Author: Bill Moyers
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/25/2008


Long. Really long. Some good points. Really long.


God of Beer
God of Beer
Author: Garret Keizer
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/25/2008


Excellent coming of age morality play.


Gods in Alabama
Gods in Alabama
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/25/2008


Delightful!


The Great Influenza: The Epic Story of the Deadliest Plague in History
Review Date: 2/25/2008


Great detail & retelling of this cautionary tale.


The Great Santini
The Great Santini
Author: Pat Conroy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 2/25/2008


Arguably Conroy's best. See also THE PRINCE OF TIDES.


Growth of the Soil
Growth of the Soil
Author: Knut Hamsun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/29/2011


Author Knut Hamsun won the 1920 Nobel Prize on the strength of this outstanding early twentieth century Norwegian epic, recommended by Pat Conroy in MY READING LIFE. Beautiful in language and rich in observation.


A History of God: The 4,000-Year Quest of Judaism, Christianity and Islam
Review Date: 2/25/2008


Well worth the effort to read this scholarly & respectful survey of the history of worshipping the God of Abraham.


1 to 20 of 58 - Page: