Amber (berd) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 149 - Page:
23 Minutes in Hell
23 Minutes in Hell
Author: Bill Weise
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 11/17/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I couldn't even get through this book. I read a few chapters but had to put it down. I'm aware that no one can say it's true or not, but I find his claims to be very unbelievable.


About Yvonne
About Yvonne
Author: Donna Masini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/22/2014


I read this book in a couple of days. It wasn't the most exciting book I've ever read, but I still enjoyed it. Although the main character went a little farther than what is probably bound to happen in a real life situation, I think it is a fairly believable idea for someone to be curious about the person their significant other is possibly cheating on them with. I suppose for some people the book could be a bit dry, but for me, I was pulled into the story fairly quickly and couldn't seem to want to stop reading until the end.


Addicted to You (One Night of Passion, Bk 1)
Addicted to You (One Night of Passion, Bk 1)
Author: Bethany Kane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 5/8/2015


I tried to read this more than once. I'm not sure if it was the writing style or the story line, but it just didn't grab me like I was hoping. I had to put it down. I did read the sequel to this one though which I enjoyed, but this one just didn't do it for me.


After Hours: Night Moves / Night Secrets / Night Illusions
After Hours: Night Moves / Night Secrets / Night Illusions
Author: Jodi Lynn Copeland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/31/2014


In my opinion, these were not the best story lines to follow. All three stories somewhat tie together, but I got a bit bored with them and almost quit reading. Although I finished the book, I would just rate the book as okay.


After You
After You
Author: Julie Buxbaum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 11/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Cute story line but a bit unbelievable. In general I do think something similar happens to a lot of people who get married, but specific things in the book are a little out there. Most people aren't related to or work with famous people so the characters of this book are a little unbelievable, but in general the "average" married couple could easily fall victim to what happens in this book. I would give it 4 stars out of 5.


All Fall Down
All Fall Down
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 6/4/2015
Helpful Score: 2


I typically look forward to reading Jennifer Weiner's books, but the last couple I have tried to read by her have not grabbed me. This book was over 350 pages long. I made it to page 35 but it was so boring I quit reading. I had to force myself just to read that far. To say I was disappointed is an understatement.


Alluring Tales, Vol 1: Awaken the Fantasy
Review Date: 3/31/2014


Some stories were very hot. I didn't read all of them since a few didn't interest me, but all in all a great read if you are looking for something a little steamy.


Almost Perfect  (Perfect, Bk 1)
Almost Perfect (Perfect, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Ortolon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 1/28/2013


I really wanted to enjoy this trilogy, but after a few chapters, I got bored and quit reading. I had high hopes after reading positive reviews of the books, but I guess I just didn't find the humor that others did. I felt the writing was bland and lacked the depth that I like. Maybe others will enjoy but I don't regret not finishing this one.


The Amazing Adventures of Dietgirl
The Amazing Adventures of Dietgirl
Author: Shauna Reid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/31/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Although I liked the book, it was hard for me to relate to the author's struggles. However, I do commend her for her efforts. I would recommend the book for anyone who is struggling with weight loss. It can be inspiring.


Another Woman's Lipstick (Red Shoe Diaries)
Another Woman's Lipstick (Red Shoe Diaries)
Author: Zalman King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/31/2014


Horrible book! Boring and hard to follow. I didn't finish much of it.


Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 351
Review Date: 2/8/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Very funny book! I have a huge sense of humor myself so I related to her quirky thought process. The first of the book wasn't as funny as the rest of it in my opinion, but I enjoyed her stories.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 11/28/2012


I am sided on how I feel about this book. Part of me liked it while another part of me was a bit disappointed. I didn't like the ending which I found to be very abrupt. There were a few places in the book that I found humorous, but the overall story line was a little boring to follow. I don't really care for racing, so maybe that was my problem with this book. There were many mentions of races and explanations of racing, so I just had to skim over those pages. The racing aspect does blend in with the story line, but maybe that was my overall issue with the book. Perhaps if I was a race car fan, I would have liked it more. I give it 3.5 stars, but that is almost being generous. However, I'm glad I read it & it was a quick read.


Ask Again Later
Ask Again Later
Author: Jill A. Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 7/8/2017


I had seen a couple of reviews claiming this book was hysterical, but I couldn't even finish 30 pages of it. It was slow, dry, and ultimately the most boring book I have attempted to read this year. I will not finish it.


Baby Proof
Baby Proof
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 372
Review Date: 5/18/2014


I loved this book! I read it in a couple of days, which I could have probably finished it in one day if I'd had time. I think my only complaint is that the ending seemed a bit abrupt and I feel like a sequel needs to be written now. I would say it's a little unbelievable in some ways, but I still enjoyed it.


Before I Die
Before I Die
Author: Jenny Downham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/20/2014


I attempted to read this book 3 times. While I'm glad I finally finished it, I never felt completely enamored with it. Obviously the subject matter was rather depressing, but the author's wording made the book tough to force myself through & I found myself just wanting it to be over.


A Bend in the Road
A Bend in the Road
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1112
Review Date: 6/23/2016


This book initially drew me in but quickly caused me to lose interest. While I cannot say that I definitely know how this book ends, I have a fairly good idea that I figured it out early on. After having read many other reviews of this book, I have come to the conclusion that it probably ends the way I think. While this alone was not the reason I quit reading, it does keep me from ever wanting to finish the book. What caused me to lose interest was how dry the story line was. I know many people are huge Nicholas Sparks fans, but I am not one of them. I think his books are rather amateurish at best. This one was definitely not worth my time.


Best Women's Erotica
Best Women's Erotica
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/2/2012


Most of these stories didn't interest me much. I felt like a few of them just wasted my time reading & I didn't even finish one of the stories at all. Maybe the story lines would intrigue someone else, but for me I would give this book only 2 stars & that's being a little generous.


Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Author: Kim Meeder, Kim Meeder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/22/2014


I loved this book from start to finish. I am a huge animal lover and adopted a rescue dog a few years ago so I could relate to many of the feelings that the author had. Perhaps that is why this book grabbed me so much. If you are an animal lover, this book might just grab you too.


Blue Water
Blue Water
Author: A. Manette Ansay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 4/7/2014


This book pulled at my heartstrings. Although it is very somber from beginning to end, Ansay does a great job putting emotions into her writing. Excellent story.


Bossypants (Large Print)
Bossypants (Large Print)
Author: Tina Fey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/18/2014


I was really excited to read this after having read a lot of great reviews about it. However, I never could find the humor that others did. I kept hoping it would pick up but I got bored with it after a few chapters.


1 to 20 of 149 - Page: