Scott R. - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
$40 A Day: Best Eats in Town
$40 A Day: Best Eats in Town
Author: Rachael Ray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 4


i have wathed lots of these episodes and the one thing that gets by on $40 a day is that she DOES NOT TIP THE WAITSTAFF!!!!! That is the only way she make it on $40!!!! Just look at the bills for her meals tax & tip is listed togher. It has even been verified by Tony Bourdain in his show No Reservations when he visted south carolina. He asked the waitress who waited on her and she just laughed about how bad the tip actually was!!!

She is a joke as a chef and knowing anyhthing about food. Never see her eat with the locals (at local food stands) she eat whereever the crowd goes....


Backgammon for Blood
Backgammon for Blood
Author: Becker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/20/2006


This is the WORST backgammon book I have ever seen!!!


Bringing Down the House: The Inside Story of Six M.I.T. Students Who Took Vegas for Millions
Review Date: 1/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


The book is based on a true story....meaning 90% Fiction and 10% Non-Fiction...But still a good read.


Coach Wooden One-on-One
Coach Wooden One-on-One
Author: John R. Wooden, Jay Carty, John Wooden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/27/2011


I would give the book 5 stars for John Wooden if it was just about him and his thoughts, but I would give it 0 stars for John Carty. I just read the Wooden pages after about the 1st 10 pages. This was Carty's platform to throw GOD at you using Wooden to suck you in to reading the book. If I want a GOD book, I will buy one!!!


Dark Harbor (Stone Barrington, Bk 12)
Dark Harbor (Stone Barrington, Bk 12)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 2/7/2007


The normal Staurt Woods novel...Quick, good entertaining read.


Deadliest Catch: Desperate Hours
Deadliest Catch: Desperate Hours
Author: Dan Weeks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/21/2010


Not much new in this book...If you have seen the show...You have gotten the same thing from from Mike Brown (narrator) or from the on spot interviews with the captins and their crews. Not a bad read just same information. A better book to read is "Working on the edge" by Spike Walker.


Flash in the Pan: Life and Death of an American Restaurant
Flash in the Pan: Life and Death of an American Restaurant
Author: David Blum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/20/2011


This book is about what happened to a resturant from the concept through opening and the closing of the establishment. If you have never worked in the Food Industry then I would not by this book. If you have been in the food industry you might enjoy the read. I have been in the industry for over 20 years and found the book kind of intresting but nothing outstanding.


The Friends of Eddie Coyle: A Novel
The Friends of Eddie Coyle: A Novel
Author: George V. Higgins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/18/2013


While this book was certainly not the incredible tour-de-force crime novel many other reviews had set me up to expect. I found many of the characters to be bland and virtually indistinguishable from other characters. I found it to be a dull series of conversations between wise guys with no plot to speak of.


Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
Author: Anthony Bourdain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 347
Review Date: 10/18/2006
Helpful Score: 6


I have found this book to be dead on perfect as to how a restaurant works, I have worked the Food Industry for over 20 years, and he is dead on!!! He kept me laughing about all of the tings that happen. He always makes me smile and laugh through out his books.


North by Northwestern: A Seafaring Family on Deadly Alaskan Waters
Review Date: 10/13/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Out of all of the DEADLIEST CATCH books, this one is the best!!! Once I started the book I did not want to put it down. Two Thumbs UP!!!

I have read the following Deadliest Catch Books:
Working on the Edge
Time Bandit
Deadliest Catch


Positively False: The Real Story of How I Won the Tour de France
Review Date: 6/22/2010


After reading the book, I still thought he was guilty. All he did was keep throwing excuses at the wall until something stuck and he would get off the doping charge. Well I guess the book is total BS. Since he has now come out and stated "Yup, I doped."

He still wants to take down Lance as well...So I will throw some blame his way. After going through cancer treatments do you think Lance would put anything like Steriods into hid body?....

NO!....

Do you think the MOST TESTED ATHELETE IN THE WORLD.....He would not be able to beat them all.

UPDATE --> ADMITS HE WAS JUICED = BOOK IS TOTAL BS!!!!


Positively Fifth Street
Positively Fifth Street
Author: James McManus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 2/22/2007


Good Book about that takes place during the 2000 World Seris of Poker in LV. While James is the he plays in the Tourney and is covering the murder trial of Ted Binion.


Rogue Warrior: Rogue Warrior I
Rogue Warrior: Rogue Warrior I
Author: Richard Marcinko
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of the best Autobio. I have read. Dick tells a story that keep you intrested until the very last page. I have read all of his books.


Serpent (Numa Files, Bk 1)
Serpent (Numa Files, Bk 1)
Author: Clive Cussler, Paul Kemprecos
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 2/19/2007


Good Book overall...


Review Date: 11/17/2006


This is a great book!!! I am a certified diver and the book really explains the diving and the reasearch with great clairity. A+++++++


Strategic Moves (Stone Barrington, Bk 19)
Strategic Moves (Stone Barrington, Bk 19)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 3/31/2011


Stuart Woods has run out of ideas. This story really has no climax or real story line.


Time Bandit: Two Brothers, the Bering Sea, and One of the World's Deadliest Jobs
Review Date: 9/30/2011
Helpful Score: 4


I've been a big fan of the show since the beginning. But this book is disjointed in its narrative and deals with more braggadocio type story telling you are apt to hear in a bar late at night and even then its more about fighting, goofing off and skirt chasing than crabbing.


1 to 17 of 17