STEVE D. (granpaps) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 65 - Page:
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 872
Review Date: 9/30/2006


A SFPD officer has to shoot 2 teens in self-defense and faces civil suit for those actions. While on administrative leave the office gets involved in helping solve murders in the small town she is vacationing in.


Absolute Power
Absolute Power
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 378
Review Date: 1/12/2006
Helpful Score: 5


This book has a fast-paced story line. Lots of suspense and surprises. The main character is great. Definitely gets into the political scene in D.C., power and abuse thereof. But the good guyd win. Nice ending.


Amagansett
Amagansett
Author: Mark Mills
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/21/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Set in post-WWII Long Island. A young lady is caught in a fisherman's net. Two men - the fisherman and a local policeman are on the trail to discover why and who. My wife and I both read this and enjoyed it immensely.


The Arraignment (Paul Madriani, Bk 7)
The Arraignment (Paul Madriani, Bk 7)
Author: Steve Martini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 12/21/2006


Paul Madriani has a friend killed and follows up with his own investigation into his friend's death. The trail leads to Mexico and ends with a twist.


The Attorney (Paul Madriani, Bk 5)
The Attorney (Paul Madriani, Bk 5)
Author: Steve Martini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 4/7/2007


A wealthy man, Jonah, has his granddaughter kidnapped by his daughter. A woman is killed and Jonah is accused. Paul Madriani is set on a course to free Jonah although evidence is pointing directly at Jonah. As with all the Martini books I have read, there is a surprising twist at the end.


Beach Road
Beach Road
Author: James Patterson, Peter de Jonge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 487
Review Date: 2/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Tom Dunleavy, ex- NBA, is a lawyer barely making a living in a wealthy resort town. He represents a promising future NBA star accused of a triple murder. Tom's ex-wife becomes his partner for the trial. Many surprises along the way, especially at the end.


Body Language
Body Language
Author: James W. Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 11/13/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I have read several JW Hall books and this one was my favorite so far. It was hard to put down, all I wanted to do was read, read, read. This is not a "Thorn" novel. It has a nice twist at the end.


Bones of Coral
Bones of Coral
Author: James W. Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is my 3rd James W. Hall novel, but not my last. He keeps the suspense going, has strong characters - you love the "good guys" and hate the "bad guys". This book has two detestable baddies, a father and son team. Shaw Chandler goes to Key West after finding his father dead. Shaw is looking for answers to several questions in his life, including who killed his father. He finds lots of answers, more than he wanted.


The Brass Cupcake
The Brass Cupcake
Author: John D. MacDonald
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Set in the 1950's in Florida, an ex-cop - now insurance recovery man, takes on a case that could be his last. To solve the case he has to battle small town politics, organized crime, and his own heart.


Broken Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 16)
Broken Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 16)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 348
Review Date: 7/1/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This one was hard to put down once the chase was on! Lucas Davenport comes thorugh again in a page turner which has some surprises along the way.


The Camel Club (Camel Club, Bk 1)
The Camel Club (Camel Club, Bk 1)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 663
Review Date: 5/31/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A real page turner. A "terrorist" group has kidnapped the President. An unlikely group called "The Camel Club" become involved. A little slow at first until the characters are set, but then hold on to your seat. This is my 7th Baldacci novel and I have not been disappointed yet!


Chiefs (Will Lee, Bk 1)
Chiefs (Will Lee, Bk 1)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 6/29/2006


"Chiefs" is part of a series of books with Will Lee. It starts in 1919 and traces a family into the 60's. It has a variety of lines; murder, intrigue, race, politics, and down-to-earth, good hearted people. Being from Georgia and growing up near where the story takes place, I found it particularly interseting and did not want to put it down. My second Stuart Woods book, but NOT my last.


The Cold Moon (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 7)
The Cold Moon (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 7)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 281
Review Date: 7/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A Lincoln Rhyme novel. Is Sachs leaving Rhyme's team? Amid investigating a possible serial killer and a corrupt police group, this question lingers. Sachs has had trouble dealing with some issues and hs been given an offer from a private company. As she helps Rhyme on the serial killer case and runs a case on her own, she is contemplating leaving the force. This novel has many twists and surprises, then leaves a question at the end.


Compelling Evidence
Compelling Evidence
Author: Steve Martini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/24/2006


An excellent Steve Martini/ Paul Madriani book ! Fast paced, exciting, and he gets you at the end. I could hardly put it down. My wife read it - her 1st Martini book - and she could hardly put it down, then recommended it to a friend.


Consent to Kill (Mitch Rapp, Bk 6)
Consent to Kill (Mitch Rapp, Bk 6)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 344
Review Date: 1/20/2007


Mitch Rapp is the target of a $22 million hit. He meets tradedy along the way which fuels his vengence. A surprising twist at the end. I picked up my first Vince Flynn book out of the hallway when they were cleaning out lockers for the summer at the high school where I worked. I enjoyed it so much I bought 2 more immediately (this was before PBS) and have read all his books since. He keeps you turning the pages!


The Conspiracy Club
The Conspiracy Club
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 2/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


After a bibt of a slow start, the pace quickens and then hold on! Dr. Carrier's girlfriend is murdered. He throws himself into his work when a retired doctor begins to befriend him. About the same time, Dr. Carrier meets another young lady and is becoming involved with her and thinks she may be in danger from the same person who murdered his previous girlfriend. While all this is going on, a police detective is hounding Dr. Carrier suspecting him in the death of his girlfriend.


The Cove (FBI Thriller, Bk 1)
The Cove (FBI Thriller, Bk 1)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 546
Review Date: 1/8/2007


A quaint, sleepy littl3 town in Oreggon has a deep secret. Dillon Savich is called in to help FBI Special Agent James Quinlan solve the case.


Cradle and All
Cradle and All
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 448
Review Date: 2/14/2007


One in Boston, One in Ireland, both are virgins and expecting. The Vatican is sending investigators to appraise the situation. Forces of evil are rampant around the world. If you have read "Angels and Demons" you'll enjoy this one. Once I got into it, I could hardly put it down!


Dark Justice (Sean Dillon, Bk 12)
Dark Justice (Sean Dillon, Bk 12)
Author: Jack Higgins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 9/15/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Sean Dillion and company take on an organization responsible for an attempt on the U.S. President's life. In pursuit of the people behind the crime, he travels to Iraq and Ireland. Aptly fits into the present world situation.


Dark of the Moon (Virgil Flowers, Bk 1)
Dark of the Moon (Virgil Flowers, Bk 1)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 190
Review Date: 8/5/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Good suspense, many suspects hinted at along the way to keep you guessing. I haven't read a John Sanford book in a long time and this one was enjoyable. It is not a Lucas Davenport book, although he is mentioned and there is some dialog with him through the main character, Virgil Flowers.


1 to 20 of 65 - Page: