Barbara S. (bas) - - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Alson S. Clark: Based on the biography of Alson Skinner Clark by Medora Clark
Alson S. Clark: Based on the biography of Alson Skinner Clark by Medora Clark
Author: Jean Stern
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/24/2007


Hardcover on quality paper. 8.75 by 11.25 inches. 32 color plates and 70 black and white photographs, many of historical importance taken by the artist himself.


The Color of Courage (Love Inspired)
The Color of Courage (Love Inspired)
Author: Patricia Davids
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/12/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This book was a pleasant surprise! From the start it was nice to read a book where the main character was a young, never-been-married woman. So many of the recent LI books have older characters with the obvious "baggage" in their lives from previous marriages--finally something new! Next, I became intrigued with the Commanding General's Mounted Color Guard. I was unaware it even existed. Added to that was the interesting veterinary details. The "Dear Reader" author info at the end of the book showed how much research went into the book, and even mentioned the true event that sparked this book's plot line.

Enjoy!


Lady Sarah and the Dung-cart Knight (Squire's Tales)
Lady Sarah and the Dung-cart Knight (Squire's Tales)
Author: Gerald Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/16/2007


This is actually a re-release of a previous title. It was originally published as: The Princess, the Crone, and the Dung-Cart Knight (2004)


Missionary Daddy (Love Inspired, No 408) (Tiny Blessings, Bk 2)
Missionary Daddy (Love Inspired, No 408) (Tiny Blessings, Bk 2)
Author: Linda Goodnight
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/16/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Sorry PBSers, I'm keeping this one!

This is, of course, book 2 in the 2007 Tiny Blessings series. In addition to what you can find from the blurbs, this book gives a realistic look at issues of anorexia. Goodnight can write heartrending Romance, but she can also make me smile when I read of the interactions between Eric and Samantha.

I want to add that the title for this book is completely misleading. There is no "cute kid" stuff happening--no single parents, etc. In ch 1 we see Eric as an Orphanage Director in South Africa. For the remainder of the book he is in the states and the story loosely revolves around Eric and Samantha's work in teen ministry. The only tie-in to the title is his struggle with international adoptions to bring 2 kids over, but we don't see the kids at all after ch 1.

Enjoy!


Missionary Daddy (Steeple Hill Love Inspired (Large Print))
Missionary Daddy (Steeple Hill Love Inspired (Large Print))
Author: Linda Goodnight
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/16/2007


This is, of course, book 2 in the 2007 Tiny Blessings series. In addition to what you can find from the blurbs, this book gives a realistic look at issues of anorexia. Goodnight can write heartrending Romance, but she can also make me smile when I read of the interactions between Eric and Samantha.

I want to add that the title for this book is completely misleading. There is no "cute kid" stuff happening--no single parents, etc. In ch 1 we see Eric as an Orphanage Director in South Africa. For the remainder of the book he is in the states and the story loosely revolves around Eric and Samantha's work in teen ministry. The only tie-in to the title is his struggle with international adoptions to bring 2 kids over, but we don't see the kids at all after ch 1.

Enjoy!


Rainbow's End (Love Inspired)
Rainbow's End (Love Inspired)
Author: Irene Hannon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 10/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Character driven stories are not my favorite, but this one totally engages and pulls me in. I feel as if I, too, am a part of the story. The blurbs do not give the story line justice. Jill and Keith's lives are full and complex and Real. The writing is the type that makes you think about the story between readings and after the book has ended. Beautiful!


Rogues' Reform: The Reasons for Marriage / A Lady of Expectations / An Unwilling Conquest
Review Date: 9/17/2009


Actually 809 pages, not 408 as stated in the "Book Information." This is a reprint of three complete novels, not three short stories. While the print size is not too small, the margins are very minimal, to account for taking three 300ish page novels and binding them into one at only 809 pages.


Show Me Thy Glory
Show Me Thy Glory
Author: Sarah Jepson Coleman
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/6/2007


Daily devotional covering the Bible in one year.

From the inside flap: Sarah Jepson Coleman suggests sections of scripture which will give you a glimpse of the Bible as a whole as you cover it in a year. Then she focuses on a few select verses which reveal a specific truth for the day. Her down to earth illustrations will encourage you in a systematic study of God's Word.


A Soldier for Christmas (McKaslin Clan,Bk 10) (Love Inspired, No 367)
A Soldier for Christmas (McKaslin Clan,Bk 10) (Love Inspired, No 367)
Author: Jillian Hart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 12/28/2007


I've been on a Love Inspired reading binge and this book stands out above the rest. Truly great writing to give us heart-stopping romance in such an interesting format.

The book begins when Special Forces Mitch re-connects with Kelly, the girl for whom he had a high-school crush while still a shy teen. The first half of the book flies by as Ms. Hart details their growing friendship before he gets deployed to the front-lines. He, of course, knows that Kelly is The One for him. He also knows Kelly, the financially-tight college student, has a "no-dating" policy.

The second half of the book is sheer genius. Interspersed within snippets into their daily lives, we (the reader) see the email and phone connections that show their blossoming relationship. Ms. Hart seamlessly brings us to empathize with these two main characters. I was thoroughly rooting for Mitch as he worked to win Kelly's heart.

If you are unsure about this book, take my encouragement and pick it up--Christmastime or not!


Squire Terence and the Maiden's Knight
Squire Terence and the Maiden's Knight
Author: Gerald Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/9/2007


This book is actually a re-release of the first book in the series with a new title. It was originally published as: The Squire's Tale (1998)


1 to 10 of 10