Jim S. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
Absolute Rage (Butch Karp and Marlene Ciampi, Bk 14)
Absolute Rage (Butch Karp and Marlene Ciampi, Bk 14)
Author: Robert K. Tanenbaum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 6/22/2006


My first book by this author and it will tempt me to read another.


Act of Treason (Mitch Rapp, Bk 9)
Act of Treason (Mitch Rapp, Bk 9)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 12/7/2012


Got a late start with the Rapp series but I am hooked. Loved this as much as the first and can't wait to read the next one.


American Assassin (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
American Assassin (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 4/13/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I was late getting in on Mitch Rapp, but once I started I had to get in on the action. WOW, every one of these Vince Flynn thrillers is better than the one before. If you haven't read any of this series it's time to get started.


The Assassin (Isaac Bell, Bk 8)
The Assassin (Isaac Bell, Bk 8)
Author: Clive Cussler, Justin Scott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/4/2019


Cussler is one of the best. I really enjoy
his Isaac Bell character. Not only is it a very
good read but it is truly a learning experience
as I did learn quite a lot about oil in the
early 1900's.


Bad Things Happen (David Loogan, Bk 1)
Bad Things Happen (David Loogan, Bk 1)
Author: Harry Dolan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 4/6/2012


Good 1st effort by Mr. Dolan. A bit different from the typical mystery and a nice read. I'll jump into his next effort as soon as possible.


The Best Revenge (Alan Gregory, Bk 11)
The Best Revenge (Alan Gregory, Bk 11)
Author: Stephen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 6/22/2006


My first Stephen White book and I can't wait to read another.


The Burglar Who Traded Ted Williams (Bernie Rhodenbarr, Bk 6 )
The Burglar Who Traded Ted Williams (Bernie Rhodenbarr, Bk 6 )
Author: Lawrence Block
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 6/22/2006


A nice light read from the always enjoyable Mr. Block


The Colorado Kid
The Colorado Kid
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 310
Review Date: 10/28/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Short, fun read by King, as part of the Hard Case Crime series.


Dark Harbor (Scott Finn , Bk 1)
Dark Harbor (Scott Finn , Bk 1)
Author: David Hosp
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 10/28/2006


Great first novel by David Hosp.Boston setting very real.


Die Trying  (Jack Reacher, Bk 2)
Die Trying (Jack Reacher, Bk 2)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 9/18/2010


Typical Reacher, they are all good. I am trying to catch up on earlier ones that I had not read and was not disappointed


Fatal Flaw (Victor Carl, Bk 3)
Fatal Flaw (Victor Carl, Bk 3)
Author: William Lashner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 9/13/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Lashner rivals Grisham in the lawyer field and this is super.


Fear the Worst
Fear the Worst
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 4/9/2013


For some reason I missed this one when it originally came out, and since I really enjoy everything Linwood writes I went back to catch up. This is right up there with his best.
Mr. Barclay makes it hard for you to stop reading. I try to always take one of his books when I go on a warm weather vacation and I am heading to Florida soon, so
one of his books will be taking the trip with me.


For One More Day
For One More Day
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 722
Review Date: 1/11/2019


Always enjoyed reading/following Albom as a sports writer and love him now as an author. This is another fine read.


Good Neighbors
Good Neighbors
Author: Ryan David Jahn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/5/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Something a bit different but an enjoyable read. Based on an actual abduction years ago. I had this book recommended to me by a couple of friends and it was worth reading


High Crimes
High Crimes
Author: Joseph Finder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 6/22/2006


Not as good as Paranoia or Company Man but still a decent read.


Mayday
Mayday
Author: Nelson Demille, Thomas Block
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 9/13/2006
Helpful Score: 3


One of DeMille's earlier books that was made into a movie. Book is much better than the movie.


The Protector
The Protector
Author: David Morrell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 10/28/2006


My first Morrell and I will definately read more.


Pursuit of Honor (Mitch Rapp, Bk 11)
Pursuit of Honor (Mitch Rapp, Bk 11)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 10/17/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Loved it. This is a series that can't be missed. So sorry to hear of the passing of Vince Flynn but he has surely left his mark. Mitch Rapp and his associates can solve just about any problem or situation and these books are hard to put down. Another A+ as usual.


Radio Activity (Rick Shannon, Bk 1)
Radio Activity (Rick Shannon, Bk 1)
Author: Bill Fitzhugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


If you like music from the 60's this is for you. Great info and history of songs and groups along with a good story. A nice enjoyable read.


Resistance
Resistance
Author: Daniel Kalla
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/13/2006


My favorite author Nelson Demille had high praise for this book and after reading it I agree. A doctor who keeps your interest. A+


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: