Michelle N. (mnorth) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
The Atlantis Revelation (Atlantis, Bk 3)
The Atlantis Revelation (Atlantis, Bk 3)
Author: Thomas Greanias
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/25/2010


This series was great. Well written, good story line, interesting plot, and of course, in the end, the world is saved once again. But it still doesn't answer the big questions regarding Atlantis itself.

Trivia tidbit: Before this book was originally published there was a contest held where the winner would have a character named after them. I had completely forgotten about this until I read chapter 20 where a character is introduced by the name of Ms. Haury. The winner of the contest, and namesake of this character, is my cousin's wife. Kinda cool, huh?


Blackberry Winter
Blackberry Winter
Author: Cheryl Reavis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/14/2018


Although there is a romance in this story (both old and new) it's not centered around that. It's really about family. Learning about your roots. Mothers and daughters. Towards the end I actually cried and I don't know if I've ever cried while reading a book. That says a lot about the story and how well it was written. This is my first book by this author and I am going to look for more by her.


Blossom Street Brides (Blossom Street, Bk 11)
Blossom Street Brides (Blossom Street, Bk 11)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/24/2015


I couldn't make it past the first few pages. Three pregnancies were announced. I want nothing to do with a book that's so focused on babies. I like this author, but this book is a big thumbs down for me.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 9/9/2010


Sophie Kinsella's main character (in this and other books I've attempted to read) are too young (for my taste) and they don't know when to shut up.


Candy Cane Murder: Candy Cane Murder / The Dangers of Candy Canes / Candy Canes of Christmas Past
Review Date: 11/5/2012


Candy Cane Murder/Joanne Fluke: I was not impressed. The negative: Hannah mustn't eat the cheeseburger or the cookie or the... Of course she does eat it and more. Her weight complaints were annoying. At least this story actually revolved around a murder mystery. This includes 10 recipes.

The Dangers of Candy Canes/Laura Levine: REALLY BAD I couldn't get past the first few chapters. What happened to the murder mystery? Jaine Austin (what an insult) is constantly mentioning her elastic waist pants. Another lead character who focuses too much on her weight. She decides to join a big sister type of organization and is set up with a brat of kid. That was as much as I could take. This does not include recipes and it even refers to this fact and the author/main character of the first story.

Candy Canes of Christmas Past/Leslie Meier: This was the only good story in the book. I'll be looking for more by this author. The characters are well developed. The murder mystery is an integral part of the story and is resolved in an unusual way. This includes two recipes.


A Certain 'Je Ne Sais Quoi': The Origin of Foreign Words Used in English
Review Date: 9/9/2010


This is a fun book if you're interested in the origin of words and how (in some cases) the meaning/use has changed in current times.


Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger
Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger
Author: Beth Harbison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/28/2014


The only thing I like about this book is the title. The timeline bounces back and forth, so you are given information about Quinn's relationship with Burke in pieces. The only character I liked was Glenn (Quinn's friend). I couldn't find anything very likeable about anyone else. They were just annoying.


A Christmas Passage
A Christmas Passage
Author: David Saperstein, George Samerjan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 12/10/2011


A decent story, but the writing is amateur. The dialog is not fluid. I prefer more realistic speech.


The Darkest Evening of the Year
The Darkest Evening of the Year
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 434
Review Date: 2/26/2016


I'm not a huge fan of Koontz, but I have liked the few books of his that I've read. There are 66 chapters. I liked this story until I reached the last page of chapter 65. Did not like where he took it from there. Chapter 66 feels rushed, like it had to be finished so he threw everything in altogether to tie up the ends. It just didn't work for me. Fans will love it. For me it's a meh.


Dewey the Library Cat: A True Story
Dewey the Library Cat: A True Story
Author: Vicki Myron, Bret Witter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/21/2012


This is a lovely and loving story about a very special cat. It is written in a way that will appeal to all ages and I am glad that this is the first version I read. It does pull at your emotions. Dewey was definitely delivered to the right place at the right time.


Einstein's Dreams
Einstein's Dreams
Author: Alan Lightman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 8/9/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is not a book that you can read from cover to cover in one sitting. You have to take it slowly and read one chapter/story at a time. Then just sit back and let it sink in. It's a very thought provoking book. I loved it. It's my absolute favorite book.


Faefever (Fever, Bk 3)
Faefever (Fever, Bk 3)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 10/28/2010


SPOILER ALERT!

I hated the ending of this book in the series as it is about Mac being gang raped by 3 unseelie death by sex princes. I detest it when authors resort to rape in their story. There's enough violence in this series as it is without this. Ms. Moning should have developed another way for the Lord Master to gain control of her.


Falling Upwards
Falling Upwards
Author: Kassandra Sims
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 1/2/2012


This should never have made it to print. To start with, did anyone proofread this? Grammatical errors, typos, etc. (e.g. 'to toward', used 'contentedly' should have used 'content' and the list goes on). How did the editor ever achieve that title? There's no flow, no explanation for why the lead character has to collect a lock of black hair and a lock of white. Even at the end we have no idea how this requirement ended the curse.


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 494
Review Date: 11/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I haven't finished the story yet (about 3/4 of the way through), but felt the need to write a review early. I disagree with the reviewer Sherry S. who says the writing is pedestrian. This is a well written book. I have a good grasp on vocabulary and still needed to look up a few words I was unfamiliar with. I like that the author didn't 'dumb down' her writing. The story is a little hard to follow at first as it jumps around in time (2005, 1913, 1975, etc.), but you get used it and are able to follow the flow of the story lines. I have my guess as to what the answer is to the mystery, but I am still interested in reaching the end/conclusion.


The Future Homemakers of America
The Future Homemakers of America
Author: Laurie Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 8/25/2013


Boring... I was looking forward to this story, but was so disappointed that I stopped reading after 60 pages. I couldn't relate to or like any of the characters.


Holiday Magic: Holiday Magic / A Very Merry Christmas / A Very Maui Christmas / A Cedar Key Christmas
Review Date: 12/14/2010


A fun read, my only complaint is that Terri DuLong promotes actual stores/products throughout her story. A recent fad that I'm not fond of.


Innocence
Innocence
Author: Dean R. Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 1/31/2015


This version includes the bonus short story/prequel Wilderness. I recommend you read it first (even though it's at the back of the book).


The Lace Reader
The Lace Reader
Author: Brunonia Barry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 1/2/2012


I like stories with an unexpected twist in the end, which this one has, but I was still left unsatisfied. It's ultimately a very sad tale (SPOILER ALERT) about a woman who was abused as a child. The paranormal aspect is very minor.


Life's a Beach
Life's a Beach
Author: Claire Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 9/28/2010


This is a great story. Ginger is 41 and childless by choice. I am very tired of romances ending with a kid on the way. The kids that are in the story (her nieces and nephew) in no way detract from and actually add to the story. However, the end of the book does hint at the possibility of Ginger having kids (at least she seems to be thinking about it). Too bad, but it's still a great read.


Love Saves the Day: A Novel
Love Saves the Day: A Novel
Author: Gwen Cooper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/9/2014


This is a very sweet, very emotional tale. Written mostly from cat's viewpoint, but also the main human characters as well. You don't find out the answer to 'what happened?" until very late in the book which is both frustrating and makes sense once you get there. Don't read the Author's Note until you've finished the story as it will be a spoiler if you do. I had tears in my eyes at some points.


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: