Mallory W. (missmalaprop) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
Alas, Babylon
Alas, Babylon
Author: Pat Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was required summer reading for me during middle school. Out of all the books I've ever read for school, this is one of the books that I most enjoyed and remembered.


The Alienist
The Alienist
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 538
Review Date: 6/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I had to read this book for a college philosophy class, of all things. I can't remember what it had to do with the course, but I do remember it being a great read! Definitely one of the most enjoyable required reading pieces of my college experience. I even made my boyfriend read this one after I was done.


Alternative Shakespeare Auditions for Women
Alternative Shakespeare Auditions for Women
Author: Simon Dunmore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/22/2007


This was a really helpful monologue book to have back in the days when I did a lot of theatre. There are some good female monologues in here that are often overlooked, and if you're required to do a Shakespearean monologue for an audition, choosing one of these could help you stand out from the crowd. You could dig through some of the lesser performed plays yourself, of course, but this is a great resource when you're in a pinch and need a good monologue.


Bachelor Girl : The Secret History of Single Women in the Twentieth Century
Review Date: 8/22/2007


This is a great read for anyone who considers themselves a feminist or just has an interest in women's history. You'll learn something new, I promise.


Be the Difference
Be the Difference
Author: Danny Seo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/22/2008


I think I expected more from this book, so I was a little disappointed. However, it is written for a young adult reader, so that might have been part of it... the writing tended to be a bit simplistic at times. However, it is full of a lot of great information and resources.


Been Down So Long It Looks Like Up to Me (Twentieth-Century Classics)
Review Date: 8/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


If you like Jack Kerouac, you should give this book a try. It's not quite as good as any of the Kerouac books I've read, but it still has a similar sort of feel and I enjoyed reading it.


Ben & Jerry's Double-Dip: How to Run a Values-Led Business and Make Money, Too
Review Date: 1/22/2008


This book was totally engrossing and highly readable. A really fascinating view into the way they built this socially responsible business from the ground up. They're really good about admitting their flaws and failings as well as their strong-points and successes. It's a great book from both a business perspective as well as a consumer perspective.


Blue Angel
Blue Angel
Author: Francine Prose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 7/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Once I started, I didn't want to put this one down. A great, quick read.


Born Blue
Born Blue
Author: Han Nolan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


It's written from a first person perspective, so the slang style of speech it's written in can take some getting used to. It's a really interesting story though.


CHILLER
CHILLER
Author: Sterling Blake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This one is a fun read if you're into the types of science & medical thrillers written by Robin Cook or Michael Crichton. It's been awhile since I've read it, so the science on this one could be sort of outdated by now, but I remember it being pretty fast moving and it kept my interest throughout.


Craft, Inc.: Turn Your Creative Hobby into a Business
Craft, Inc.: Turn Your Creative Hobby into a Business
Author: Meg Mateo Ilasco
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/2/2010


This book could very well be considered a bible for indie-minded crafters who want to take their craft to the next level. Author Meg Mateo Ilasco covers all the basics, everything from choosing a legal structure for your business and record keeping to creating a pricing formula for your goods and marketing your wares, and she even touches on what to do when you want to grow your business further and decide you need to hire help or when you've decided that it's time to call it quits.

Much of this information can be garnered from around the internet for free, but you'll have to know where to look, and tracking all of the info down can sometimes be daunting for someone just starting out. Craft Inc. serves as a great overview and handy reference guide for all aspects of your business.

One of the things I really enjoyed, and I remember reading as much in other people's reviews of the book, were the interviews with established crafty entrepreneurs. Ilasco scored interviews with notable names on the craft & design scene, including Lotta Jansdotter, Jill Bliss and Jonathan Adler. Each interview is carefully tailored to the section of the book in which it appears, so after you read about the basics of order fulfillment, wholesale and consignment, for example, you'll get to see how jewelry designer Dawn Benedetto of Poppi handled setting minimum opening order requirements for wholesale orders.

If you're just starting out on your journey as a creative business person, I would highly recommend checking out this book, as it should give you a good idea of everything that running your own crafty business can entail. If you've already been managing your creative business for awhile, you might know much of this information already. That said, I consider myself fairly knowledgeable on many of the topics covered in the book, and I still found a few things that I hadn't thought about before, particularly within the interview sections. Where ever you are in your crafty business venture, I bet Craft Inc. could probably give you some new insights.


Creatively Self-Employed: How Writers and Artists Deal with Career Ups and Downs
Review Date: 5/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I found all of the stories and experiences of other creatively-inclined entrepreneurs fascinating and inspiring. This isn't a how-to book on surviving as a creatively self-employed freelancer, but rather a collection of experiences and perspectives from different people who all make their living this way. They share their struggles, plus tips on how to deal with all of the challenges that being your own boss brings.


Dear Professor Einstein: Albert Einstein's Letters to and from Children
Review Date: 3/17/2008


Good, although the first half of the book was taken up with biographies of Einstein's life and only the second half of this already small book contained the actual letters. Still good though, and I suppose some bio was necessary. Just not exactly what I had anticipated.


The Everything Personal Finance in Your 20s & 30s Book: Erase Your Debt, Personalize Your Budget and Plan Now to Secure Your Future
Review Date: 6/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This one's okay. Personally though, if you're looking for a good money book for someone in their 20s or 30s, I'd recommend Suze Orman's The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous, and Broke. This one reads a bit too much like one of those "For Dummies" books for me. Still though, there's some valuable information inside.


How to Make the World a Better Place: 116 Ways You Can Make a Difference
Review Date: 1/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Some of the information is a bit outdated since this book was published more than 10 years ago. It's food for thought nonetheless, and you could easily Google search for updated contact information on many of the organizations and topics mentioned here.


In My Room
In My Room
Author: Adrienne Salinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/5/2008


I thought about sending this to my 14 year old Little Sister, but I thought some of the subject matter might be a little mature for her to decipher on her own (we don't live together, and this book deals with older teens talking openly about things like drug and alcohol use, teen pregnancy and more).

It's a fascinating glimpse into the lives of some teenagers, and while there are brief updates on each teen at the end of the book, I'd love to know where they all are now, since this book is from the mid 90s.


The Last Vampire (Last Vampire, Bk 1)
The Last Vampire (Last Vampire, Bk 1)
Author: Christopher Pike
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 7/8/2007


This series was a favorite of mine when I was younger. Re-reading these books now, the writing seems pretty cheesy and melodramatic at times, but the story is still fun, and it's a quick read.


Living Green: A Practical Guide to Simple Sustainability
Living Green: A Practical Guide to Simple Sustainability
Author: Greg Horn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/30/2008
Helpful Score: 3


In a lot of ways this book wasn't exactly what I expected. (But in a good way.) For one thing, it focused on the benefits of living naturally and sustainably more from a personal health standpoint than from a strictly environmentalist one. I feel like this book helped me gain a greater understanding of all the crazy toxins that are in so many everyday items. I find myself checking labels and being mindful about the ingredients of what I buy more than ever.


The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America
The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America
Author: Bill Bryson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 7/8/2007
Helpful Score: 8


A quick read...it totally sucked me in. Now I've got a serious case of wanderlust and desperately want to take a long roadtrip. Too bad gas is so much more expensive now than when Bryson took his trip!


Popcorn : A Novel
Popcorn : A Novel
Author: Ben Elton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/17/2007


Definitely a fun read. It's been awhile since I've picked this one up, but pretty dark and funny from what I remember.


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: