Scott V. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
The Answers Book for Kids: 25 Questions on Creation and the Fall
The Answers Book for Kids: 25 Questions on Creation and the Fall
Author: Cindy Malott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/14/2011


These little books are a GREAT way to get the basics of Biblical truth into your kids. Answers questions like:
- Where is the Garden of Eden?
- Why did God put the tree in the Garden of Eden if He didn't want Adam & Eve to eat the fruit from it?
- Who was Cain's wife?
-If God created the world 6,000 years ago or so, why are starts millions of light years away?


Better Homes and Gardens Story Book
Better Homes and Gardens Story Book
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/20/2011


All the stories & poems children love in one book. Includes: The Little Red Hen, Lines & Squares, The Nonsense ABC, How Charlie Made Topsy Love Him, Hurt No Living Thing, Days of the Week, The House that Jack Built, Finger Games, The Owl & the Pussy Cat, The Tale of Peter Rabbit, 1 and 1 are 2, Months of the Year, What Is Pink? A Rose is Pink, Names, The Mitten Song, The Little Turtle, Uncle Remus Initiates the Little Boy, The Wonderful Tar-Baby Story, Butter, The King's Breakfast, The Brownie's Circus, The Wind, Who Has Seen the Wind? Over in the Meadow, The Old Woman & Her Pig, Rain, The Elephant's Child, Peter Pan in the Never-Never-Never Land, The Pirate Ship, A Curious Pup, Thanksgiving Day, The Story of Live Dolls, The Quarrelsome Cats, About Elizabeth Eliza's Piano, From a Railway Carriage, Trains, The Lion & the Mouse, The Ants & the Grasshopper, Belling the Cat, Pledge of Allegiance, The Flag Goes By, Old Mother Hubbard, The Goops: Table Manners, The Night Before Christmas


Betty Crocker's Cookbook
Betty Crocker's Cookbook
Author: Betty Crocker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/28/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of the very best cookbooks for families. I turn to it time and again. Most of our family favorites come from it. If you can obtain a copy, take the spots and splatters as proof of it's quality. I have looked for copies for our grown children and they are few and far between.


A Cartoon History of Iowa
A Cartoon History of Iowa
Author: Herb Hake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/6/2011


This is a great Iowa history workbook. Each chapter has an information page with a cartoon of the subject matter. The following page asks five questions that can be answered by looking back at the information page. Then there are three challenges that may be answered by referring to Herb's other book "Iowa Inside Out." The only negative I see in this book is that the first two chapters would be offensive to those who believe in the Biblical account of creation.


The Children's Book of Virtues
The Children's Book of Virtues
Author: William J. Bennett, Michael Hague (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 2/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I second Michelle J's review. This is an excellent read-aloud for your family. Our children ask for it again and again.


Christmas by the Hearth
Review Date: 2/1/2010


This is our all time favorite Christmas book. We read one story a day throughout December. Should be on every Christian families bookshelf.


Clay projects (An Early craft book)
Clay projects (An Early craft book)
Author: Maureen Brockway
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/20/2011


A fabulous little book that briefly traces the use of clay throughout history and gives clear directions for making fun & easy projects including: flower plaques, a bird feeder, a coil pot, a slab pot, & a pinch pot.


Complete Library Skills, Grade K-2
Complete Library Skills, Grade K-2
Author: School Specialty Publishing
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/5/2011


A good introduction to library skills. Lots of practical dictionary lessons too.


Creation Museum Prepare to Believe Photographic Walkthrough (Answers in Genesis, Creation Museum Prepare to Believe Photographic Walkthrough)
Review Date: 8/20/2011


This book is filled with beautiful photos with captions. Great for showing others what they will see at the museum when they visit.


Cursive Writing 3-4
Cursive Writing 3-4
Author: Carolyn Dwyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/8/2011


I think this workbook is unique in that the first 32 pages is the traditional format: practice the letter & write a practice sentence. The second half of the book is worksheets that allow for practice in a more real-life situation.


Gram's Song
Gram's Song
Author: Karyn Henley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/7/2011


This is a great book for kids who are dealing with the death of a grandparent. I purchased several copies over the years and have given them away to hurting children.


I Can Crochet (Annie's Attic: Crochet)
I Can Crochet (Annie's Attic: Crochet)
Author: DRG Publishing
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/24/2012


This is a great little book for learning the basics and the projects turn out very cute!


Journey from Peppermint Street
Journey from Peppermint Street
Author: Meindert DeJong
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/7/2012


Such a wonderful book. If you haven't read it aloud to your children you are missing a real treasure!


Joy Sparton of Parsonage Hill
Joy Sparton of Parsonage Hill
Author: Ruth I. Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/7/2011


This is a fabulous little book. It recounts the adventures of Joy and her twin brother, Roy as they grow up as pastor's kids. Their pranks are hilarious but the story of their coming to Christ is precious.


Laura Ingalls Wilder: A Storybook Life (Heroes of History, Bk 13)
Review Date: 2/3/2010
Helpful Score: 2


A very interesting summary of LIW's life that includes details not covered in the Little House series such as the birth and death of Freddy and the family's time in Burr Oak, Iowa. If you want your kids to get even more out of the story, I strongly suggested getting the unit study companion cd also available through YWAM.


Liberace Deluxe Big Note Songbook
Liberace Deluxe Big Note Songbook
Author: Liberace
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/31/2011


Great book for beginners to experiment with several genres of music.


LIFEPAC Bible Grade 7 Unit 3: Bible 703 The Attributes of God
Review Date: 4/8/2013


For other unsuspecting swappers ~ this is not a "book" ~ it is a booklet and only part of the curriculum. It is not a paperback with a durable cover ~ more like a slick magazine cover. It has only 25 pages with a 1 1/2 page test in the center. It covers the attributes of love, mercy & grace.


My Heart-Christ's Home: A Story for Young and Old
My Heart-Christ's Home: A Story for Young and Old
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/12/2014


GREAT STORY but it is important to note that this is a miniature NOT a full-sized book.


One Christmas Dawn
One Christmas Dawn
Author: Candice F. Ransom, Peter M. Fiore (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/1/2010


This is a story of the early Christmas dawn, handed down among mountain folk set in 1917. A delightful story with beautiful illustrations by Peter Fiore.


Paul: A Man of Grace and Grit (Great Lives Series)
Paul: A Man of Grace and Grit (Great Lives Series)
Author: Charles R. Swindoll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/22/2011


This is by far the very best book in the series. If you don't come away feeling encouraged regardless of your life circumstances, slow down & read it again. An excellent read!


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: