Karen M. - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
The Descendants
The Descendants
Author: Kaui Hart Hemmings
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/7/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I did not enjoy this boook at all. I thought there would be more about the history of Hawaii through one family's ancestors, etc. But it was just about a guy who found out when his wife was dying that she had been cheating on him & manipulating the family inheritance; plus he had problems controlling his two daughters. I would not recommend this book.


Every Last One
Every Last One
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 8/31/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Very good read, realistic family problems, heartbreaking, suspenseful, hopeful recovery from life's blows. I have read a couple of Anna Quindlen's books previously & this is my favorite so far.


Gap Creek
Gap Creek
Author: Robert Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 7/28/2011


Enjoyed this very much & learned a lot of details about difficult farm work.


Generation Kill
Generation Kill
Author: Evan Wright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 10/30/2011


Sorry, I have not read this - It was a gift for my son. He really enjoyed it, however.


Heartbreak Hotel
Heartbreak Hotel
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 12/13/2011


I have loved every other Anne Rivers Siddons book, but this one not so much. Hard to get into - second half gets better.


House Rules
House Rules
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 346
Review Date: 7/28/2011


I really loved this book, partly because of its vivid descriptions of Asperger's syndrome. (I have a grandson who is on the "autism spectrum"). However, it also kept me guessing til the very end about how the young woman died. Jodi Picoult always seems to do a lot of research about her subject and this was no exception. A good mystery, plus you will learn a lot about Asperger's & how it affects the family.


The Long Walk
The Long Walk
Author: Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 337
Review Date: 1/8/2010
Helpful Score: 2


A weird story about hundreds of young men making a voluntary walk with no sleep for many miles, hoping for a "prize" of anything they desire. Only one can win. If they slow down they are warned; 3 warnings & they're shot. Surprisingly, it kept my interest throughout til the end, which was a total letdown. I sort of felt like I wasted my time.


Morning Glory
Morning Glory
Author: LaVyrle Spencer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 7/28/2011


Very descriptive word pictures & interesting premise.


Mystic River
Mystic River
Author: Dennis Lehane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 529
Review Date: 5/6/2010


This is the story of 3 young boys whose lives were changed when one was abducted. I usually don't like murder/mysteries, but this one, although it seemed a little slow at first, became one of those I couldn't wait to get back to. The ending has a surprise twist. I liked it well enought that I have ordered another book by the same author.


Off Season
Off Season
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 6/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I have loved all of this author's books. I really enjoyed this one also, but the ending seemed a little contrived.


On the Beach
On the Beach
Author: Nevil Shute
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/6/2011


I had seen this movie years ago, & it was recently aired again (I think because of the "end of the world predictions") recently. I enjoyed it again & thought I would like to read it. Radiation from a senseless war has spread all over the world except for Australia, & the people there await their deaths, coping in different ways. I liked the book very much & it did not seem that "dated" although it is set in the late 1950s, I believe.


One Breath Away
One Breath Away
Author: Heather Gudenkauf
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/13/2012


Several stories in one, suspense to the very end.


Patty Jane's House of Curl
Patty Jane's House of Curl
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 12/11/2009


I didn't like this book as well as some of the author's other works.


The Searchers (Leisure Western)
The Searchers (Leisure Western)
Author: Alan Lemay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/30/2010


Most readers are probably familiar with the John Wayne movie by this name, in which two men spend years of hardship tracking a little girl kidnapped by Indians. The movie did follow the book in most ways & I very much enjoyed reading it.


These Things Hidden
These Things Hidden
Author: Heather Gudenkauf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 9/7/2012


I really enjoyed this book. It has a surprise ending that I did not suspect at all. The story had a lot of family/sibling interaction. I liked it better than "Weight of Silence" by this same author, & have now ordered "One Breath Away".


Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5133
Review Date: 12/30/2009


I have friends who are absolutely crazy about this whole series, & went to see the movies, etc., so I read this first one. I feel it is more for teenagers. There are a very few parts that are intriguing about the vampires origins and very different lives than what most would imagine, but I am not much into fantasy (certainly hope it's fantasy!) and I did not like the book enough to read the next in the series.


Until the Real Thing Comes Along
Until the Real Thing Comes Along
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 5/18/2010


This is a story about a young woman who has always wanted a home & baby and who feels she's running out of time. She is unfortunately in love with a gay man, who finally agrees to have a baby with her but is unable to become "straight". The book seems to me to be lacking in the development of how her parents & siblings feel about this.. Humorous at times; seemed to need more info about her mother's developing dementia - that seemed to be just an afterthought tacked on.

This is the second Elizabeth Berg book I've read & I feel a little disappointed in both.


Vanishing Acts
Vanishing Acts
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1739
Review Date: 9/5/2009


Jodi Picoult's books always seem to be based on an intriguing premise. In this novel, a young woman, about to marry her child's father, who is a recovering alcoholic, discovers she is not who she believed she was, but had been kidnapped by her father. Ironically,she works with a bloodhound and is trained to track down missing persons. As she slowly uncovers her past, and meets the mother she thought was dead, there are intertwining stories about prison life, law, alcoholism, and of three childhood friends who tell this tale from their different viewpoints. I enjoyed the book very much.


World Without End (Pillars of the Earth, Bk 2)
World Without End (Pillars of the Earth, Bk 2)
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 1/12/2012


Really enjoyed this book as I had read the first one, Pillars of the Earth, & this continued 200 yrs. later. Hope there will be another following.


1 to 19 of 19