Gayle B. (glbirch) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 206 - Page:
All Together in One Place
All Together in One Place
Author: Jane Kirkpatrick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 2/23/2009


Loved it!


Allah's Fire (Task Force Valor, Bk 1)
Allah's Fire (Task Force Valor, Bk 1)
Author: Chuck Holton, Gayle Roper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 2/4/2016


This is the first in a series and I would probably read another. I like the military/anti terrorism genre even though the plot was fairly predictable. I did skim through some of the narrative about exactly how they were going to do what, etc. what I REALLY appreciated about this book was that (contrary to almost ALL other romantic relationships in books) the characters involved did NOT always assume/understand the worst, but actually took the context into account. As an example, the male hero refuses to do something the female heroine wants and rather than be "well, he's such a jerk and I'm over him," she actually - although hurt - considered WHY he would do that. Again, I just hate reading these plot lines where either romantic interest ALWAYS misinterprets/takes personally every little action. I suppose it's for "dramatic tension" but if people who do this on real life would never "get the man" or vice versa. Just my little opinion :)


Animals in Translation : Using the Mysteries of Autism to Decode Animal Behavior
Review Date: 6/10/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Fascinating from both my viewpoints as a biologist (having studied behavior) and as the parent of an autistic child. Even without a "stake" in the story, you will find this book to be very interesting. If you're a dog lover or anyone interested in either human or animal behavior, you'll find some new insights to think about.


Babes in Captivity
Babes in Captivity
Author: Pamela Redmond Satran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 12/27/2006


Enjoyable read about a bunch of women who met in a playgroup years earlier.


Baby Signs: How to Talk with Your Baby Before Your Baby Can Talk, New Edition
Review Date: 9/2/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I used this with my son, who began signing on his own at around 13 months. He didn't really talk until after he was 18 months old, but his ability to sign around 20 or so words enabled him to communicate wonderfully! It was great for everyday living at our house, but the neatest part was how amazed his grandparents and aunt and uncles were over how they could "understand" what Ricky wanted without him being able to say the words! It was especially cool to see how he expanded his signs to include more concrete things - such as using the "more" sign when he wanted you to play a game with him again, vs. for food only; as well as making up his own signs for things. This book was a great tool for us!


Before I Wake
Before I Wake
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 12/16/2009


Fun read that keeps your attention. There are also some wonderfully insightful conversations between the main characters about the nature of God and our relationship with Him. Definitely not preachy or heavy, just mixed in nicely.


Belong to Me
Belong to Me
Author: Marisa De Los Santos
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 1/16/2014


Loved this book! Love the way her character describes things and the story was very good.


Beneath a Southern Sky (Natalie Camfield, Bk 1)
Beneath a Southern Sky (Natalie Camfield, Bk 1)
Author: Deborah Raney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 7/15/2015


Great writing. Couldn't put it down. Like a Christian version of the castaway story.


Betrayed
Betrayed
Author: Andrew Snaden, Rosey Dow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/24/2006


intriguing plot...a great, fun read with a good message


Beyond the Shadows
Beyond the Shadows
Author: Robin Lee Hatcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 4/4/2010


Very encouraging read. Although this was a book about a woman married to an alcoholic, it really spoke to me as I am going through a difficult time in my marriage. I was inspired by the main character and could really relate to her emotions.


Beyond Tuesday Morning (9/11, Bk 2)
Beyond Tuesday Morning (9/11, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 2/1/2007


Great sequel to her first moving account of Sept. 11. She's such a great writer her books are always real and enjoyable.


Bittersweet
Bittersweet
Author: Cathy Marie Hake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 11/3/2009


I always enjoy Hake's historical fiction. This one is a little predictable, but still really good. Good lessons about how God's plans are not our own and He uses even the tragedy in our life to work His purposes.


Black
Black
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/27/2009


This series is very engaging. Hard to take a break!


Black Or White
Black Or White
Author: John Aubrey Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/24/2009


Wonderful book. Compelling characters and plot. Fairly intense subject matter dealing with the spiritual realm.


Bless Your Heart, Tramp: And Other Southern Endearments
Bless Your Heart, Tramp: And Other Southern Endearments
Author: Celia Rivenbark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 4/26/2010


Hilarious...but a bit vulgar...but hilarious!


Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality
Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality
Author: Donald Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 358
Review Date: 6/23/2011


I loved this book. I would never have read it if my sister hadn't recommended it because the subtitle "Nonreligious thoughts on Christian Spirituality" would automatically send red flags to the super-fundamentalist in me! If there were such a thing as "evangelical church (political) correctness" this book would be the farthest thing from it! It is a beautiful, genuine testimony to one man's journey of faith - he tells it like it is, his doubts, his unbelief and his qualms about the whole church and Christianity and Christians. It is wonderful and refreshing and I found myself laughing out loud only to turn a page and cry over his descriptions of God and His love for us.
If you need a breath of fresh air in your walk with Jesus, a conviction from the Holy Spirit about what God's purpose for your life is, or just a reminder that God's love is truly mysterious and miraculous, read this book. I read it (with my kids at home) in a couple days. I couldn't seem to put it down and it is an easy enchanting read.


Boundaries in Dating
Boundaries in Dating
Author: John Townsend, Henry Cloud
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 6/20/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Having recently gone through a long and painful separation and upcoming divorce, I'm definitely not ready to date yet, but want to be prepared! This is the first of the "Boundaries" books I have read and this one is very well written and accessible. I also discovered alot of insights into relationships that were convicting and encouraging, as well. If you desire to follow God in your search for a life-partner, I highly recommend this book. I like that each chapter ends with a bulleted list of "take away tips" too. (I need repetition!) Their coverage of various issues is thorough and the treatment is very biblically based.


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3516
Review Date: 1/13/2010


Not that the whole series is not addictive, but this was probably my favorite (okay - tied with Twlight). The author's idea of how Bella changes into a vampire and what it does to her senses and self-awareness is very inventive and intriguing! Even though there is the usual big save at the end, her characters' unusual abilities keep you guessing and twisting your mind around things. Great read!


The Bride Collector
The Bride Collector
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 6/13/2011


While I read this whole book, I kind of skimmed parts of it. I really enjoyed the storyline between the main character and Paradise and the other folks at the treatment facility, I found the serial killer himself to be so creepy and evil it was just too much for me to read; the graphic matter-of-fact descriptions of him "drilling" the girls and draining their blood was just creepy as all get out. If not for that I would have rated it higher.


The Bronte Project : A Novel of Passion, Desire, and Good PR
The Bronte Project : A Novel of Passion, Desire, and Good PR
Author: Jennifer Vandever
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/27/2011


This was an odd book. I enjoyed reading it, because the author is a good writer - very good at witty zings that had me laughing out loud. The storyline had great potential. But ultimately I felt little sympathy for the main characters - they were just sort of going from pleasure to pleasure in some ways. It was strange. Hard to explain!


1 to 20 of 206 - Page: