Reviews - Cynthia D. (lylasgrannie)

1 to 13 of 13
The Adventures of Curious George
The Adventures of Curious George
Author: H. A. Rey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/27/2011


"This is a delightful children's story about a monkey who gets himself in trouble. I love this little monkey and only want the best for him. I'm glad it all works out for him in the end."


Conquered Heart
Conquered Heart
Author: Lisa Samson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/20/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Lisa Samson is my favorite author, but this is the first book I read done in a historical context. She weaves a great story line with memorable characters with enough plot twists to keep me guessing throughout the book. While not the "stay up all night, can't put it down" variety, this is a wonderful book about the middle ages."


The End of the Age: A Novel
The End of the Age: A Novel
Author: Pat Robertson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/22/2011


"the Left Behind series assumes that the Rapture occures and then the 7 years of tribulation begins. This book assumes that the 7 years of tribulation begins, and the rapture is at the end. It's a great what if story. Page turner."


Having Our Say: The Delany Sisters' First 100 Years
Review Date: 5/24/2011


"this is a wonderful story written by two very elderly sisters who were born slaves and ended up roommates and best friends. It is a duel auto biography."


House of Wolves (August Adams, Bk 2)
House of Wolves (August Adams, Bk 2)
Author: Matt Bronleewe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/24/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"It's a great adventure book leaving you gripping your chair and racing to the finish line because you just can't put it down."


Illuminated (August Adams, Bk 1)
Illuminated (August Adams, Bk 1)
Author: Matt Bronleewe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/24/2011


"just looking at the pictures is great. The story is about a rare book and it's hidden meaning."


Jesus Is for Me (Rebus Picture Books)
Jesus Is for Me (Rebus Picture Books)
Author: Christine Tangvald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/17/2011


"I love this story as it had short one line sentances that would hold the attention of my 14 month old granddaughter and had another page of text that will hold her attention when she gets older."


The Last Disciple (Last Disciple, Bk 1)
The Last Disciple (Last Disciple, Bk 1)
Author: Sigmund Brouwer, Hank Hanegraaff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/12/2011


"This was a great book and I was glad to get it. At the end of the book it explained it was in response to the Left Behind Series and was "a different view" of the tribulation. I always appreciate getting a different view, especially how they explained who they were and why they felt the need to write the book. It is also a reminder of the persecuted church and in our cushy lifestyles here in America its good to be reminded that in other countries, life for the Christian is not always cushy."


A Miracle for St. Cecilia's
A Miracle for St. Cecilia's
Author: Katherine Valentine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/20/2011


"This book reminded me about the Mitford series with the Episcable priest. It is an adorable book. The characters all have their problems, and faith is rewarded with miracles. As long as you don't mind the Catholic references, and I didn't, this book will be as enjoyable as all of the Mitford books were."


The Poky Little Puppy
The Poky Little Puppy
Author: Janette Sebring Lowrey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 12/17/2011


"So far this is way too advanced for my 14 month old granddaughter, but I remembered it being one my children's favorites, so am happy to hold it for her for later."


The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow
The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow
Author: Joyce Magnin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/22/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a really great book. One of the top books I have ever read. It has the psychology issue as to why someone could get to be 600 lbs, it has the whole "prayer mystery" (why are some prayers answered and some "aren't" and why when some people pray them and "not others" issue. Its got the sister/sister issue going on. A little bit of what makes a saint and when do we start to worship people over God. All of it tied up in a who done it/was something even done. An excellant read."


The Runaway Bunny
The Runaway Bunny
Author: Margaret Wise Brown, Clement Hurd (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 12/17/2011


"This is a story for the older toddler younger child. A story of a mother who pursues her youngster with love no matter what he says. Why that rabbit child needs to try to run away from his mother made me pause."


Scoop (Occupational Hazards, Bk 1)
Scoop (Occupational Hazards, Bk 1)
Author: Rene Gutteridge
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/27/2011


"This is the first of what can be a great series. A familly of homeschooled kids whose parent's died leaving them without a job as they'd worked in the family clown business. This is the story of the youngest daughter who gets a job in a TV studio and the stressful week they all have as it's sweeps week and they've misplaced the anchor. It is tongue and cheek funny and I kept having to shush everyone around me up so I could keep reading the book."


1 to 13 of 13