Margaret M. (margaretlee) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 166 - Page:
The Abstinence Teacher (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 10/17/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This plot line is interesting and worth writing a novel about but the ending left me disappointed. I was invested in the characters and felt that the author didn't do a good job tying the loose ends together. If you're interested in the way conservative groups are affecting sex education in public schools, this is worth listening to.


Accelerated Piano Adventures: Lesson Book Level 1
Review Date: 2/28/2012


This is a great book for adults who want to learn how to play the piano or those who might need a refresher course. I used it to teach my husband! It includes pages on finger position, notes and chords, as well as easy pieces to play.
There is a "teacher duet" at the bottom of each piece so that beginners can play with someone more advanced. Lots of fun and well written.


Adult Lesson Book: Level 1
Adult Lesson Book: Level 1
Author: Amanda V. Lethco, Morton Manus, Willard A. Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/3/2012


This is a great book for adults or older students who want to learn to play the piano. Simple pieces and lots of instruction about keyboard, notes, counting, fingering and chords. Most pieces also come with a more complex accompaniment.


Against Medical Advice: One Family's Struggle with an Agonizing Medical Mystery (Audio CD)
Review Date: 12/2/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Gripping story from start to finish--and all true! The story of one family's struggle with Tourette's Syndrome, this reads like a novel but is even more moving because the characters and struggles are real. Cory, who is afflicted with Tourette's, and his mother, father and sister, all deal with the syndrome in different and personal ways, each bringing strength and dignity to a difficult situation. The ending will leave you stunned with the capacity for resilience and change. A wonderful story!


All That Is
All That Is
Author: James Salter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/11/2013
Helpful Score: 3


I loved Light Years and am a fan of Salter's spare prose in general. However, this book is page after page of unhappy characters that left me feeling vacant. He's a fine writer but, in my opinion, not much of a storyteller. This is hot off the press and probably his last novel.


The Almost Moon (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Almost Moon (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Alice Sebold, Joan Allen (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/11/2014


This book depressed me. The ongoing description of a woman who killed her mother in the first chapter and then goes on to describe the process and ensuing activities just made me turn it off. Maybe you'll like it. Sorry, Alice.


An American Childhood
An American Childhood
Author: Annie Dillard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 2/7/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Annie was my creative writing teacher in college and my mentor. I've read all of her books and this one ranks right at the top. Her observant way of capturing ordinary events in imaginative prose brings an 'aha' moment to lots of pages. In this book, I remember reading about her lying in bed and watching a 'ghost of light' sweep around the wall of her room. Only much later did she realize that it was the headlight of a car turning a corner. So much to love about Annie and the way she chronicles our days on this planet. Read her work. You'll be glad you did!


Amy's Answering Machine: Messages from Mom
Amy's Answering Machine: Messages from Mom
Author: Amy Borkowsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 2/3/2013


I have the audio CD of this book and it is a laugh-out-loud funny listen! My mom died when I was a teenager...what I would give to have voice mails from her! Will post soon. I'm listening to it again.


An Accidental Woman
An Accidental Woman
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/31/2012


This is the first novel I've listened to by Barbara Delinsky and I adored it! Part mystery, part love story, partly a glimpse into what life is like for a woman with a physical disability. Just long enough, just suspenseful enough and with an ending that warms your heart.


Angelina: An Unauthorized Biography
Angelina: An Unauthorized Biography
Author: Andrew Morton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/4/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This is a sketchy "unauthorized" bio, littered with input from psychologists and psychiatrists who have ideas about why Angelina is the way she is. I bought it at the airport when it first came out, interested in her background and the way she seemingly took men from other women without a care in the world. I was somewhat disappointed in the patchwork editing of facts done by Morton. However, if you're an Angelina fan, you won't be able to put it down. Between the tattoos, the adopted children, the family angst and her great talent, it's a great read!


The Appeal  (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The Appeal (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: John Grisham, Michael Beck (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 12/23/2015


Great story, especially if you enjoy John Grisham's work. I was a little disappointed in the ending, but the plot kept me interested. A page turner for sure!


Are You Hungry, Dear? Life, Laughs, and Lasagna
Are You Hungry, Dear? Life, Laughs, and Lasagna
Author: Danelle Morton, Doris Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/20/2010


I was interested in this book because I am a big fan of William Goyen's writing...he was her husband and died a few years ago. Her description of their relationship was touching (they fought a lot but always forgave each other..she tells funny stories). However, the rest of the book wasn't as compelling. I'm not a "Raymond" fan...maybe that's why. Some of the recipes look good...give it a shot!


At First Sight
At First Sight
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 437
Review Date: 12/7/2010


I liked this book (I listened to the audio version) but felt that I didn't really get connected to the characters until the end of the story.
Sparks weaves a compassionate tale about love, marriage and trust. Stick with it and you'll be gratified.


At First Sight (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
At First Sight (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Nicholas Sparks, David Aaron Baker (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 12/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Not my favorite Sparks novel but a good story. If you're a fan, you'll like the characters and plot with its twists and turns. Listeners of the audio version may find the narrator humorous as he implements a southern drawl to all the men and women. If you get impatient, keep reading/listening...the ending is worth it!


At Home in the World
At Home in the World
Author: Joyce Maynard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/13/2013


Joyce writes from the heart and soul, and she tells the truth. While many have admonished her for betraying J.D. Salinger by revealing her side of the relationship, the story was hers to tell and she tells it with strength and perspective. If you are a mother or a daughter, a teenager or a woman in mid-life, you will relate to her beautiful untangling of life's complicated knots and the wisdom she has gained from that work. I own this book and will not be posting it, as it's one I read again and again when I need reminding that I'm not alone in the world. Her being 'at home in the world' helps me feel more so.


Audition: A Memoir (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Audition: A Memoir (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Barbara Walters
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/13/2013


Excellent memoir, narrated by the author, who has met, interviewed and formed friendships with people from all walks of life. She shares details about her relationship with her daughter, too, which are surprising. Loved it!


Bait and Switch : The (Futile) Pursuit of the American Dream (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 5/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting first hand report by a well-known, experienced writer who goes undercover to find a job in the professional world. Though she attends workshops and networking groups and hires personal coaches to reform her resume and her wardrobe, it is months before she has even a glimpse of a job offer and even then it's a commission-only offer without benefits or an office.

I'm a freelancer and found this scenario brutally honest...gave me a new perspective on those in mid-life who are suddenly unemployed and must find a way to support their families.

Worth the points!


Barrel Fever: Stories and Essays
Barrel Fever: Stories and Essays
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 393
Review Date: 4/3/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Sedaris has a wacky sense of humor and is a master of wordology...I loved all of the essays I heard previously (am listening to them one at a time on audio) but this collection was far less appealing. Written in his earlier days, he 'invents' autobiography, naming his sisters "Faith, Hope and Charity" just for the irony...Seems like he is trying too hard to be funny. When measured against his later, much more wonderful work, it just falls flat. Still, he's a genius who's unafraid to test the limits of creativity. If that appeals to you, go for it!


Before You Know Kindness (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/14/2010


I was intrigued by the plot of this book, as described on the jacket, but couldn't make it till the end...the writer has a way with words but isn't a great storyteller...more descriptions of people and relationships than an interesting story. I was disappointed.


Best Friends
Best Friends
Author: Martha Moody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 406
Review Date: 11/15/2013


I'm listening to this on audio book and have enjoyed parts of it. It's VERY long and I nearly gave up after disk 6...but things finally got interesting and began to make sense around then. The author is a physician, and she writes about docs, hospitals and illnesses very convincingly. That said, this isn't a sweet story about 'best friends.' But it's worth listening to or reading if you want a good story.


1 to 20 of 166 - Page: