Rebecca H. (Rebemdee) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 211 - Page:
About a Boy
About a Boy
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/2/2005


Great book, had me laughing, and I enjoyed it much more than the movie (although the "Killing me Softly" sequence in the gym is really fantastic, and not in the book). Highly recommend.


The Adventures of Captain Underpants (Captain Underpants, Bk 1)
The Adventures of Captain Underpants (Captain Underpants, Bk 1)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 5/24/2006


Very cute and funny. I didn't like the misspelled words; I know it is supposed to be a reflection of the "kids" writing the story, but I would want my child to read and learn vocabulary in the process.


After the Plague: Stories
After the Plague: Stories
Author: T. Coraghessan Boyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/25/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely great short stories; I see why he is called the master of short stories. Every story is packed with development and meaning, although many don't have resolution. Not a single uninteresting in the lot. This is a fantastic read.


All Over But the Shoutin'
All Over But the Shoutin'
Author: Rick Bragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 9/8/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Poignant, painful, stirring memoir of a man and the love for his mother.


The Andromeda Strain
The Andromeda Strain
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 6/12/2005


My fiancee read it; he enjoyed it but said he was a bit disappointed by the ending.


The Angel of Darkness
The Angel of Darkness
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 9/6/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't like it as much as the "Alienist," but it's still a great period mystery, well written, and engrossing. Definitely worth reading.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 815
Review Date: 9/16/2007


Loved it. Stupid title, great story. It reminds me of a dear friend in her 50's and her almost life long friendships with other wonderful women. These are the friends we hope to have to love us, support us, and keep us honest.


Anyone You Want Me to Be : A True Story of Sex and Death on the Internet
Review Date: 12/17/2006


An interesting book about the internet and how a sociopath used it to make money and kill.


Audrey Hepburn's Neck
Audrey Hepburn's Neck
Author: Alan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/22/2005


The author presents an interesting view of Japanese culture and American influence. There was a lot going on, and I thought the story with Jane was unnecessary. More time could have been spent on Toshi's family, or even on how Toshi felt about what was happening in his life. Toshi remained a blank slate, and I never did understand his motivation for some of his actions. It's a quick easy read, and I didn't find it dull, just not satisfying. I didn't find the writing to be incredibly adept; it was competent for telling the story.


Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Author: Laurie Notaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 5/21/2006


Very funny; I laughed during some of the stories, and can commiserate with the lazy, messy, activity impaired husband who leaves things for me to fall over. Great read!


The Awakening
The Awakening
Author: Angela Hunt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 11/4/2006
Helpful Score: 4


Had I known this was Christian fiction I wouldn't have bought it. It would have been a mistake, as this is a lovely book. There isn't Christian content, and the religious content relates strongly to the story and isn't intrusive or overdone. Another reminder that you can't judge a book by it's cover!


The Awakening (Vampire Diaries, Bk 1)
The Awakening (Vampire Diaries, Bk 1)
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 5/14/2006


I didn't really care for this book. I found it juvenile and the lead character, Elena, was selfish and unlikeable. I wont be reading the rest in this series.


Awfully Wedded: Tales of Disaster from the Big Day
Awfully Wedded: Tales of Disaster from the Big Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/21/2006


Eh, it was okay. There was a lot of filler, like summaries of TV shows or movies that had weddings. I didn't think the list the authors wrote, of what to avoid at weddings, was funny at all. I found it to be rather racist and stereotyped. Some of the anecdotes about the wedding mishaps were amusing, but overall, I didn't find this to be an entertaining or funny book.


The Banana Sculptor, the Purple Lady, and the All-Night Swimmer : Hobbies, Collecting, and Other Passionate Pursuits
Review Date: 10/4/2006


Like any collection, there were some essays I found more interesting than others. I'm not really into sports, other than baseball, so the sports section wasn't appealing to me. I did enjoy the other essays, particularly Mr. Lauder, who collects postcards because they are beautiful, and the lady who bakes for the state fair. This book is good for reading in snippets; the essays are just long enough to be interesting, and short enough to read before bed.


Beauty : A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast (Folktales)
Review Date: 9/16/2007


LOVED this book! What a great retelling. It's a shame there wasn't tighter proofreading, but it doesn't spoil a lovely, well written story.


Because We Are Here: Stories and Novellas
Review Date: 10/25/2006


A collection of short stories and novellas. The first half of the book is very good, and I enjoyed the writing and emotions of the stories. The last two stories are just odd and didn't connect with the rest. Tney weren't bad, they just didn't seem to be written for the same book as the previous stories.


The Best of Bridal Ideas
The Best of Bridal Ideas
Author: Clapper Publishing
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/24/2006


Not really my style. Maybe somebody else will find some ideas. It's sort of "cute" and "country." Please be aware this is a booklet, not a book.


The Big Bad Wolf (Alex Cross, Bk 9)
The Big Bad Wolf (Alex Cross, Bk 9)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 716
Review Date: 6/9/2005


In a recent column in Entertainment Weekly, Stephen King cited Patterson's thrillers as the example of "dopey" bestsellers. We hope that doesn't mean that those who enjoy them are dopes, because this new one is vastly entertaining. Alex Cross, Patterson's black lawman hero, has left the D.C. police force for the FBI. But Cross was a star cop, so when the Bureau becomes aware that attractive white women are disappearing at an unusually high rate in the nation's capital, Cross, despite still being in training at Quantico, is brought onto the case and is personally mentored by the Bureau's director, earning the ire of some Feds but the support of others. Behind the disappearances is a sexual slavery operation run as a sideline by one of the more believable and most compellingly evil villains in the Patterson universe, the Wolf, a mysterious former KGB man who's now the world's top mobster. The narrative throughout is swift and varied, as Patterson cuts among the diabolical schemes of a Russian magnate who may be the Wolf, the plight of several kidnap victims, the dogged pursuit by Cross and company of the Wolf, and the hideous designs of the members of an encrypted computer chat room who pay the Wolf fortunes to snatch women who fit their fantasies. And there's domestic drama, too, as the mother of Cross's young son, Alex, decides that she wants her boy back. Full of plot surprises and featuring a balanced mix of intrigue, hard action and angst, the novel, on which Patterson notably does not share cover credit, grips from start to finish. The Alex Cross series remains Patterson's finest, and this is the finest Cross in years. Maybe we're dopes, but we're smiling ones.
Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information, Inc.


Review Date: 2/25/2006


I didn't like the story by Taylor much, but all the others were good, fun, saucy reading! I like Harris and Davidson the best, I think because they have a sense of fun and whimsy. Really enjoyable read.


Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 1)
Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 667
Review Date: 5/21/2006


Eh, it was okay. It lagged a bit and took a long time to build empathy for the main character, Elena. It's an interesting story with lots of twists and turns, but certainly not ground breaking. It's a fun beach blanket read.


1 to 20 of 211 - Page: