Becky T. (beanie5) - , - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
A Beautiful Place to Die  (Martha's Vineyard, Bk 1)
A Beautiful Place to Die (Martha's Vineyard, Bk 1)
Author: Philip R. Craig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Good mystery--especially for anyone with an interest in a Martha's Vineyard locale. This is #1 in the series


Blackbelly : A Novel
Blackbelly : A Novel
Author: Heather Sharfeddin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is an excellent book. It is what I would term a "Character Novel" although it definitely has a bit of mystery and romance. The characters are well set forth and the story line not terribly predictable. By the way, a blackbelly is a sheep!!!


Burning Time (April Woo, Bk 1)
Burning Time (April Woo, Bk 1)
Author: Leslie Glass
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 5/29/2008
Helpful Score: 1


In my opinion one of the better parts of this book is the portrayal of the differing psychologies facing Detective April Woo -- does she try to please her traditional Chinese family or make decisions based on New York City values.


The Chatham School Affair
The Chatham School Affair
Author: Thomas H. Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 5/20/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Edgar Award Winner and truly deservedly so!!! Fabulous book -- excellent prose and vocabulary. Much more than a "mystery" -- truly a character novel as well. Recommend highly.


The Chemistry of Death (David Hunter, Bk 1)
The Chemistry of Death (David Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Simon Beckett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 1/17/2010


This is the first book in what I think will become a very popular new series. It is full of forensic anthropology and wonderful twists of plot. I have read this one and the second in the series as well. I recommend highly to anyone who enjoys a really good forensic read!!!


Cutting for Stone
Cutting for Stone
Author: Abraham Verghese
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 1/17/2010
Helpful Score: 10


This is one of the best books I have read in quite some time. The historial portion concerning Haile Selassie is wonderful --- that was a blank in my own personal learning. There was also a bit of mystery and love story as well. I hesitate to say too much, other than to relate it is a truly wonderful book. A definite 5-star read.


Dark Fire (Matthew Shardlake, Bk 2)
Dark Fire (Matthew Shardlake, Bk 2)
Author: C. J. Sansom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/22/2010


This is the 2nd in the Matthew Shardlake series. I find these books to be very well researched and the "mystery" portion to keep one guessing. It has been a nice re-education for me concerning the Reformation years in England under the rule of Henry VIII.


Dissolution (Shardlake, Bk 1)
Dissolution (Shardlake, Bk 1)
Author: C. J. Sansom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/17/2010


This is a very well researched historical mystery within the timeframe of the Reformation in England and the rule of King Henry of VIII. The language is "modern" enough that you need not fear getting completely bogged down in "period" English. An eye opener when it comes to the nefarious methods used by the "holy" Reformers!!! I really recommend the book highly to any mystery and/or historical book lovers.


The House at Riverton
The House at Riverton
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 3/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is an extremely well-written first novel. The characters are captivating from beginning to end. It will most assuredly find the way to my "best" reads of all time list. I recommend it highly.


In the Shadow of Gotham (Simon Ziele, Bk 1)
In the Shadow of Gotham (Simon Ziele, Bk 1)
Author: Stefanie Pintoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 1/17/2012
Helpful Score: 3


A well written historical mystery set in and around New York City in 1905. Simon Ziele is a former New York City police detective who has moved to the Hudson River Valley after the death of his lady love. The mystery is quite well put forth and not too simply. Enjoyed the book very much.


Murder with Peacocks (Meg Langslow, Bk 1)
Murder with Peacocks (Meg Langslow, Bk 1)
Author: Donna Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 9/7/2008


This was an enjoyable cozy mystery with a funny cast of characters. Can easily recommend this one for a quick, fun read.


Novena for Murder (Sister Mary Helen, Bk 1)
Novena for Murder (Sister Mary Helen, Bk 1)
Author: Carol Anne O'Marie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/7/2008
Helpful Score: 2


A well-written cozy mystery. Enjoyable characters. Definitely recommend to "cozy" readers.


Ordinary Grace
Ordinary Grace
Author: William Kent Krueger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 12/23/2013
Helpful Score: 4


Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Started it and, for the most part, did not stop until I was finished. Primarily what I would term a "character novel", but certainly the mystery of the deaths is a strong, continuing thread. Felt Kreuger's style of prose was well suited to the subject matter and as someone else said, "this is one I will remember".


The Perk
The Perk
Author: Mark Gimenez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/2/2011


For anyone interested in the Hill Country of Texas, and specifically the town of Fredericksburg, this is a good read. Having lived in the Hill Country myself, this is a reasonably accurate portrayal of the importance of high school football in Texas as well.


Room With a Clue (Pennyfoot Hotel, Bk 1)
Room With a Clue (Pennyfoot Hotel, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 9/18/2008
Helpful Score: 4


What a joy to read a wonderful author from the U.K. There is just nothing quite like a U.K. mystery. Have just about accumulated this entire "Pennyfoot" series by hook and by crook (sometimes expensive resellers, not lovely PBS traders). I highly recommend this to any "cozy" mystery lovers.


Sleepyhead (Tom Thorne, Bk 1)
Sleepyhead (Tom Thorne, Bk 1)
Author: Mark Billingham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 1/17/2012


A British police procedural complete with serial killer. Set in London. The mystery portion was well done, keeping one guessing pretty much to the end. Found the writing style to be a bit choppy, but all in all enjoyed the book.


Vineyard Deceit (Martha's Vineyard, Bk 3)
Vineyard Deceit (Martha's Vineyard, Bk 3)
Author: Philip R. Craig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 9/18/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Very enjoyable mystery series, especially if one has visited Martha's Vineyard, but the detail is done so well it really does not matter if you have or not.


The Will
The Will
Author: Reed Arvin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/4/2010


This is an excellent legal thriller/mystery. A successful young attorney gets called home to Kansas from Chicago. One I found difficult to put down.


The Winter Garden Mystery (Daisy Dalrymple, Bk 2)
The Winter Garden Mystery (Daisy Dalrymple, Bk 2)
Author: Carola Dunn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/28/2010


This is the 2nd of the Daisy Dalrymple mysteries. I find these books very entertaining and the mystery portion not as "predictable" as many cozy mysteries.


1 to 19 of 19