Pamela V. - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
And the Mountains Echoed
And the Mountains Echoed
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 2/20/2015


This is a good book, not as powerful as The Kite Runner, but better than his second book. Recommended.


The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind: Creating Currents of Electricity and Hope (P.S.)
Review Date: 2/20/2015


A heart-rending story, full of hope and promise. Has the same life affirming message that Unbroken and Boys in the Boat. Well written and a remarkable story


Death of a Red Heroine (Inspector Chen, Bk 1)
Death of a Red Heroine (Inspector Chen, Bk 1)
Author: Qiu Xiaolong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 12/2/2011


An interesting story on some fronts, but not as well written as I had expected. The story is too long and drawn out, repetitive and amateurish to some degree. It seems that the author had some important things to say, but was afraid of really asserting himself and exposing the massive corruption that permeates all aspects of Chinese bureaucracy.


Dreaming Water
Dreaming Water
Author: Gail Tsukiyama
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 6/17/2014


I read this some time ago (many years) but noticed it on the list and thought I would write a quick review. This is a fascinating book and story of a relationship, a disease/syndrome (not sure how to characterize it), and life. Wonderfully written, and heart full. Highly recommended. Each and every one of Tsukiyama's books are gems, I have read most of them, and they are memorable, evoking wonderful images and characters and relationships. Five stars out of five!


Euphoria
Euphoria
Author: Lily King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/27/2015


Well written and thoughtful book, enjoyed it


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1382
Review Date: 7/31/2015
Helpful Score: 2


Wonderful story, well written and a treasure of a book. Would read another book by her anytime. Sometimes 'letter' styles can be a bit distracting or boring but she writes with humor, sensitivity and in an intriguing manner. Makes me want to visit the Guernsey Islands.


Little Fires Everywhere
Little Fires Everywhere
Author: Celeste Ng
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 7/25/2018


Good story and has an interesting moral question. Ending a little contrived but otherwise is very good, well written, and well worth reading.


Shibumi
Shibumi
Author: Trevanian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/15/2012


Although the book shows a publication date of 2005 or so, I read this at least 25 years ago and still remember it as hilarious and a real page turner. I read parts of it aloud to my kids and husband and we all laughed, and everyone in my family read it subsequently and loved it. I can't believe that it has such a mediocre rating from other reviewers. Unless it is a different version! I want the book to pass on to a friend that I think would also like it.


The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
Author: Gabrielle Zevin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 2/15/2017


A lovely tale of finding love and loving books and literature. No surprises but an easy and very pleasant read.


The Tiger's Wife
The Tiger's Wife
Author: Tea Obreht
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 5/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This was an overrated book, rather boring and the character development was lacking on the personal level. I didn't relate to any of the characters and had little empathy for them. It may have striven to be allegorical but in my opinion, it failed to engage the reader and make the allegory work. Rather much a disappointment.


Winter Garden
Winter Garden
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 3/12/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Winter Garden is a gripping story that I read quickly and easily. Reminiscent of the Angels of Leningrad, a wonderful novel also, it delves into the horrors of war and the lasting effect of war on its survivors and their offspring. A little contrived for the ending, it evokes the need to face the past and come to grips with it if one is to overcome it.


1 to 11 of 11