Melissa (sugarbaby) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 61 - Page:
300 Paper-pieced Quilt Blocks
300 Paper-pieced Quilt Blocks
Author: Carol Doak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Easy to follow, very creative bocks. Somewhat limited in what size you can make your bocks.


Assault and Pepper (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 13)
Assault and Pepper (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 13)
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 1/2/2007


Cute, quick read. The series does seem to get weaker the further along it gets, almost like she's grasping for ideas. Still worth the time to read, though.


A Bend in the Road
A Bend in the Road
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1112
Review Date: 6/28/2007
Helpful Score: 11


Absolutely great story. While the "whodunit" part was easy to figure out, the rest of the story more than makes up for it. The plot was strong and the range of emotions that the characters go through was very realistic.


Between a Wok and a Hard Place (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 5)
Between a Wok and a Hard Place (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 5)
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 10/24/2006


Not as good as the previous ones. Seems to be lacking a strong plot. Still a good quick read, however.


Review Date: 10/5/2006


Great for the hard to please vegetarian! Tasty desserts, wide range of skill levels.


Brother Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 3)
Brother Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 3)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 375
Review Date: 5/27/2007


As a general rule, Koontz is fantastic.....However, this book had me yawning only 1/3 of the way through. The character is likeable enough, but the plot really has no depth, no substance. It's a classic "evil-thing-lurking-outside-ready-to-eat-everyone" story......But the most exciting part was Elvis picking his nose. And I'm pretty sure even that could've been more exciting.


The Cabin (Texas Rangers, Bk 2)
The Cabin (Texas Rangers, Bk 2)
Author: Carla Neggers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 2/4/2008
Helpful Score: 2


It could be the lack of a caffeinated beverage in my system, but I found the plot of this book to be very flimsy, and definitely vague. It reads more like an outline for a book, more than the finished product itself. The "relationship" between the husband & wife was the most disappointing & difficult to believe. Certainly not one of Carla Negger's better books.


Captivating : Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul
Captivating : Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul
Author: John Eldredge, Stasi Eldredge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 1/15/2008
Helpful Score: 5


Beautifully written book. It explores the emotional and spiritual (and sometimes physical) wounds women hold - often from childhood - and how to start the healing process. John & Stasi delve into the woman's soul together, and there are viewpoints from both the woman's and man's perspective.

Very strong biblical references, with a focus on strengthening your relationship with God, and realizing your inner beauty.

I would heartily recommend this book for ANY woman that is feeling alone, weary, confused...or just plain ugly. Also for any MAN that wants to understand how his woman thinks & feels.


Carrot Cake Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 10)
Carrot Cake Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 10)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 6/17/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book did not have the same quality as the rest of the series. The plot was thin, the "whodunit" easy to figure out, and basically the characters were very 2 dimensional.
The relationship between Hannah, Norman & Mike is never really explored beyond a few interactions, and the ending leaves you thinking "Huh?". It ends in a whisper, and having already figured out 1/3 of the way through who did it & why (and the motive for the killing is VERY pathetic) the rest of the book wasn't worth finishing - but I suffered through it.
It was, overall, a very weak attempt from Ms Fluke to continue with a series that started great....but is slowly losing it's appeal.


The Cereal Murders (Goldy Schulz, Bk 3)
The Cereal Murders (Goldy Schulz, Bk 3)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 309
Review Date: 10/9/2006


Predictable, but still a good read.


Cherry Cheesecake Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 8)
Cherry Cheesecake Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 8)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 1/4/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Will it be Mike? Norman? Or wait...Maybe it's Ross?! Trying to decide who Hannah should marry is the best part of this book. The murder is Ok, too. :O)


The Chocolate Bear Burglary (Chocoholic, Bk 2)
The Chocolate Bear Burglary (Chocoholic, Bk 2)
Author: JoAnna Carl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 9/13/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Better than the first. Still a light read, good for busy moms!


The Chocolate Bridal Bash (Chocoholic, Bk 6)
The Chocolate Bridal Bash (Chocoholic, Bk 6)
Author: JoAnna Carl
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A bit more interesting than the others. It was a fast read, and easy to figure out "whodunit".


The Chocolate Jewel Case (Chocoholic, Bk 7)
The Chocolate Jewel Case (Chocoholic, Bk 7)
Author: JoAnna Carl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 12/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a rather disappointing book. It seems like the author has run out of ideas, and simply threw a book together as quickly as possible. The plot was very thin, easy to figure out whodunit, and the story bounced around more than my 3 year old on a sugar high. I'm not sure I'll read any more of this series, as the quality has steadily declined since the first novel.


The Chocolate Mouse Trap (Chocoholic, Bk 5)
The Chocolate Mouse Trap (Chocoholic, Bk 5)
Author: JoAnna Carl
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 10/4/2006


Great series!


The Complete Soapmaker: Tips, Techniques,  Recipes for Luxurious Handmade Soaps
Review Date: 4/26/2007


The author used terribly complicated soapmaking techniques. It's almost enough to make a beginner very discouraged, when soapmaking should be an enjoyable hobby.


A Dance Through Time (MacLeods, Bk 1)
A Dance Through Time (MacLeods, Bk 1)
Author: Lynn Kurland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 166
Review Date: 11/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great romance, Especially good if you don't like the "xxx" scenes that most have, this one rates about an "R".


Double Shot (Goldy Schulz, Bk 12)
Double Shot (Goldy Schulz, Bk 12)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 11/27/2006


Good quick read, somewhat better than the previous ones.


Eat, Drink, and Be Wary (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 6)
Eat, Drink, and Be Wary (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 6)
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 10/18/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Very cute, fast read. Magdalena keeps getting more and more like my mother, however!! :O)


Every Man's Battle : Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Review Date: 5/21/2009
Helpful Score: 5


My husband and I reviewed this book together for a church program. I found it disgusting that the authors went through so much trouble to bring up past experiences- in vivid detail. We KNOW they struggled in this area- otherwise there wouldn't be a book. But to bring it back to light? In a soap-opera form, with details down to how a woman's body moves while she's jogging (insert bouncing & sweat remarks here)?
I thought this book was soft-core porn in itself.

My husband (who has struggled with this issue, and by the grace of God- conquered it) found it to have WAY too many details as well, and it brought up things that he has wiped from his mind and didn't need/want to "see" again. He didn't find any help in HOW to rid himself of these images & thoughts...just that "once they're there, they are there to stay". That doesn't offer any hope, does it?

Another man at our church read this book, and he is currently struggling in this area. He said much the same thing. After he read it, he said to us "But HOW do I stop this addiction? This book didn't tell me that, it just said there's no HOPE! It's like a men's locker room conversation!"

Bottom line: If you or someone you know is struggling in this area, this is not the book that is going to give you the tools (and hope) you need to win this battle. Please search out another book (John Eldredge & Gordon Dalbey are excellent authors on men's issues).


1 to 20 of 61 - Page: