David S. (F250) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 45 - Page:
Alnilam
Alnilam
Author: James Dickey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/2/2007


Very hard book for me to get into or stick with. I had a tough time understanding what the writer was trying to convey to me and was completely lost on the duel paragraphs portraying the mental sensations in his mind and the real world revolving around the main character. Could not finish it.


An American Holocaust: The Story of Lataine's Ring
An American Holocaust: The Story of Lataine's Ring
Author: Kerry L. Barger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/8/2012
Helpful Score: 1


One of the most heart wrenching books that I've ever read. It's the tale of one of those obscure moments in American history that I'd never heard or read anything about before and I'm sure, unless their families were involved, the vast majority of people hadn't heard of it either. It was very hard to read without shedding an occasional tear and I had to give my own girls a hug after finishing it. Very good read and I would recommend it to anybody.


The Bridges at Toko-Ri
The Bridges at Toko-Ri
Author: James A. Michener
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/10/2007


This is your typical classic war story, the men, the machines and their enemy. The story line kept me interested in it just enough so that I couldn't put it down, I actually read it in an evening. I'd recommend this to anyone.


Citizen Soldiers : The U.S. Army from the Normandy Beaches to the Bulge to the Surrender of Germany
Review Date: 5/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this book. It tells the story of the advance of U.S. soldiers through western Europe after D-day and takes you up to Germany's surrender. It doesn't read so much as a history book as it does more of a collection of memoirs from veterans on both sides of the war. I learned a great deal from reading this including what the soldiers were thinking and feeling during one of the most horrific campaigns of WW II and the intense competition between the Generals behind the scenes. Great read!


The Clinic (Alex Delaware, Bk 11)
The Clinic (Alex Delaware, Bk 11)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 158
Review Date: 11/7/2008


The first half of this book was extremely slow for me. It was filled with a hand full of suspects and a lot of dead ends which I'm sure in reality, for a detective, working a cold case actually happens but for a reader it makes for some slow reading. Almost gave up on it a few times because it was moving at such a slow pace for me but I kept after it. I'm glad I did because it turned into quite a different story than I was expecting. This was my first time reading anything by Jonathan Kellerman and I don't think it'll be the last.


The Covenant of the Flame
The Covenant of the Flame
Author: David Morrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/26/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I've never read a bad book by David Morrell yet. They all seem to grab you by the collar and take you on a non-stop adventure. This one actually had me finding myself holding my breath in spots. This book will keep you up late at night telling yourself "Just one more chapter, I've got to find out what happens next".


The Covert Element: A James Becker Thriller (Volume 3)
The Covert Element: A James Becker Thriller (Volume 3)
Author: John L. Betcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/17/2012


Action, suspense and humor, what more could you want in a story! This was a quick, easy read and the first book by John Betcher that I've read, but not my last.
Its a story about a lawyer, James Becker, who gets called in to give his thoughts behind the deaths of 23 people executed outside a meth lab and from there it turns into becoming involved in taking on the biggest drug cartel in Mexico. The dialog between characters had me laughing out loud in more than a few places. It's not a real deep book but well worth the read.


The Dead Man
The Dead Man
Author: Joel Goldman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/14/2012


I am so glad I stumbled acrossed Joel Goldman. I love coming back to the characters in his book on their next adventures because it feels as if I'd known them my whole life. If you haven't read any of his books try one, I'm sure you'll enjoy them as much as I do.


The Deep Dark : Disaster and Redemption in America's Richest Silver Mine
Review Date: 12/15/2009


Having heard about this tragedy from both my grandfather, who retired from the Sunshine mine, and my mother whom had classmates who were some of the 91 people who died during the fire, I wanted a little more information behind the fire and the people involved. This book had me feeling like I was right beside the participants and could actually smell the smoke and feel the fear. I learned a lot more than I was told and felt like I had a better grasp of what it was like to be a hard rock miner in America's richest silver mine. Very informative!


Deliverance in Shanghai
Deliverance in Shanghai
Author: Jerome Agel, Eugene Boe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/9/2007


The story about displaced Jews, David and Rebecca, who fled Germany into Shanghai to escape Hilters holocaust. Once there, they were invaded by the Japanese and herded into the Hongkew ghetto where they struggled to suvive despite the odds. This was a very hard book for me to get into. Very slow start and never really seemed to pick up.


Denver
Denver
Author: John Dunning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/10/2008


Very good story about a Jewish familys struggle and fight against the KKK in early 20th century Denver. This was one of the better books I've read in a long time and had a hard time putting it down at night.


East of the Mountains
East of the Mountains
Author: David Guterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 5/13/2010
Helpful Score: 3


It isn't very often that I read a book that makes me feel as if I'm right there with the characters and not just an outsider looking in. This is one of the rare ones. The authors descriptions of the country, towns, the different eras in time and the people he introduces you to had me feeling as if I had actually experienced it along with the main character. I absolutely loved this story and it will be one that I'll be reading several times.


Flyboys : A True Story of Courage
Flyboys : A True Story of Courage
Author: James Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 11/6/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This book was quite an eye opener for me as to the atrocities done on both sides of the war. Be prepared though, there are some very graphic details described in the book. Not recommended reading for the squeamish. It does give some pretty good insight into the mind set of the opposing sides. I have to rate this very high in the must read books about WW II.


For Duty and Honor
For Duty and Honor
Author: George Galdorisi
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/30/2009


This book is very Tom Clancyish. It's packed with an over abundance of acronyms that, unless you were in the military, you'll have a hard time remembering. There's also a ton of characters, many who are quickly forgotten. The author did include a page or two with the characters and their roles at the start to help you keep them straight.
It did seem a little slow in the beginning but captured and held my attention at about a third of the way through the book. You'll just have to give it time to get rolling but it's worth it. Very interesting read with all the makings of an event that could happen today.


The Ghosts of Varner Creek
The Ghosts of Varner Creek
Author: Michael Weems
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/21/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked this book. The first chapter had me laughing out loud as an 87 year old Solomon Mayfield descibes life in a rest home. But after that chapter it weaves a tale of his early childhood which is often, at times, hard to read. It's the story, told through him, of the sudden disapearance of his mother and older sister during the night and how what he thought was reality was something quite differant he discovers later on. Although it has a few ghosts in the story, it isn't a paranormal book. It did leave me haunted after reading it though and it won't soon be forgotten and probably re-read.


The Hammer of Eden
The Hammer of Eden
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 4/20/2011
Helpful Score: 3


This is one of my favorites by this author. The non-stop action kept me up well into the night thinking with just one more chapter I'd be able to put it down and get some sleep. Wrong! It's one of those books you read with the adrenalin pumping the whole time.


Head Games (Hector Lassiter , Bk 1)
Head Games (Hector Lassiter , Bk 1)
Author: Craig McDonald
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/27/2012


This book was a real suprise to me. I didn't think I'd care for it and had a few pre-concieved notions going into it. The first few pages were all it took to hook me. The action is non stop and there is very few places you can actually catch your breath before you're dragged back into the next chase scene. The use of real members of history during the 50's makes you stop and think as to how much, if any, of their storyline really happened. A real fun book to read, I recommend it!


Idaho Grown
Idaho Grown
Author: William Gilbert Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/16/2009


From back of the book,
"Potatoes, sagebrush and insecurity are mixed together on the high mountain desert of southeastern Idaho in a story about self and spuds. Kyle Clark is a self-conscious Spudnik scooper operator for a potato packaging plant in Aberdeen and on hot summer weekends searches the buckles and splatter cones of the nearby lava flows for a local legend. Along the way he encounters angry cowboys, beautiful cowgirls and Idaho history as he chases his dreams and his grandfather's story of lost riches from the forgotten West, until he finds something even more valuable...himself."

Coming from the same general area as the story, I could relate about 90% to it. You'll probably learn more about the potato industry than you ever knew or wanted to know. I did find it odd that the mystery of the local legend took a far back seat to the day to day life of the main characters in the book. Also, it didn't have the satisfying ending I look for in stories so I was left wondering if it was part of a series that I wasn't aware of. It isn't. Even with those problems that I had with the book I still enjoyed it because I found myself nodding as I read familiar situations and places in the story. Having a brother working for Spudnik made it interesting too!


Invasion of Privacy (Nina Reilly, Bk 2)
Invasion of Privacy (Nina Reilly, Bk 2)
Author: Perri O'Shaughnessy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 10/11/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Perri O'Shaughnessy has never let me down for good reading. As always, their characters leave you scratching your head as to whether they are the good guys or bad. I've read a few of the books in the series (not in order) now and have yet to pick the true bad guy out of the cast of possible villians. All in all a very good read!


J. R. Simplot: A billion the hard way
J. R. Simplot: A billion the hard way
Author: Louie Attebery
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/20/2007


Very good story about the life and times of a self made billionaire. Growing up and living in the area where he made his start, I was interested to hear how he made good. There wasn't any trade secrets given away but it does give you a pretty good idea how a young boy from a poor family, through hard work and ingenuity, became a major player in the potato industry.


1 to 20 of 45 - Page: