Reviews - Jami H. (howell27) - Huntley, MT

1 to 20 of 50 - Page:
And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily, Bk 1)
And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily, Bk 1)
Author: Tasha Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 222
Review Date: 10/1/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A fun light read. Interesting comment on the period and treatment of antiquities from the Greece. I liked the heroinne and the introspection she goes through after her husband dies. While the plot was a bit slow, the characters were interesting and I enjoyed reading this book."


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3645
Review Date: 6/14/2011


"Not nearly as good as the first book. It's interesting but it feels too over the top. I did enjoy reading it but it just wasn't as good as I was hoping."


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 920
Review Date: 9/15/2011


"Such an amazing book. I was hooked from the first couple of pages. I didn't think that I would like the fact that the book is told by the dog, but it is perfect. One of my very favorite books. While the book draws many analogies from car racing, that is not what it's about, so don't let that put you off. It's about life, and told so wisely by this wonderful dog. It is a tearjearker though! I did pretty good right up until the end where the boy echo'd Enzo's dream, then I was a goner. This is a book I will read over and over."


Beauty : A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast (Folktales)
Review Date: 10/8/2011


"A sweet reasonably simplistic telling of this fairy tale. Could certainly see where the Disney version got it's inspiration. I enjoyed it as a nice comforting read, although it left a lot of questions that I hoped would be answered, like why the Beast suddenly can't actually live if she is gone from the castle, why exactly he was cursed. McKinley seems to like to leave all the details to your own imagination. I really didn't like that Beauty became a beauty in the end, why wasn't it enough that he fell in love with her as is. Also didn't like that he had fallen in love with her during their first meeting when she's literally falling over in fear of him. Ah, I guess I maybe wanted a less YA version. Otherwise, really, it is a good re-telling and worth reading."


Beguiled (Devoted, Bk 2)
Beguiled (Devoted, Bk 2)
Author: Alice Borchardt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/28/2010


"Very much enjoyed this book and it's one well worth re-reading. Alice Borchardt is a wonderful story teller and drags you fully into her stories. Well written. It feels very accurate to the time period and I love that people of both sides of the conflict are made into real characters rather than good vs. evil. Good romance story intertwined."


Bellwether
Bellwether
Author: Connie Willis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 10/5/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"An interesting story focused around finding the bellwether of the fads. I particularly liked all the pieces about past fads, what was believed to contribute to them and what replaced them. It tied in really well with the book The Tipping Point which also discusses fads and what moves them from a small incident to a full fledged fad. The story didn't have much of a plot and was more of a vehicle to explain how a bellwether works. Having lived in Montana and around Boulder, I could appreciate the location and the references."


Blessings
Blessings
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 10/5/2011


"A well crafted story about figuring out what truely are the blessings in your life and finding out where home is. I enjoyed reading this book. There is a lot of sad/unhappy people in this book learning to come to terms with the hand life dealt them, but in the end everything mostly come out alright. There is a fair amount of symbolism in this book, not all of it I comepletely understood, but I enjoyed reading this book."


Castle of the Wolf
Castle of the Wolf
Author: Sandra Schwab
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 4/11/2012


"Hmmm, reading the reviews, I thought this would be a much better story, but sadly it was not. It was ok, but it felt forced. I wouldn't read it again or probably get another by this author. Maybe I'm just tired of dewy inexperienced gals falling for former(or often current) man whores and the whole conflict revolves around him being forced to actually say he loves the girl who is too stupid to see that actions say more than words. Sigh."


Charming the Highlander (Pine Creek Highlander, Bk 1)
Charming the Highlander (Pine Creek Highlander, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Chapman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 6/12/2011


"My least favorite kind of romance...the characters feel one dimensional, they say everthing they are thinking along with what they think the other character is thinking, as if anyone ever talks like that. Sorry, didn't like this at all and despite not having anything else to read couldn't force myself to finish this."


The Constant Gardener
The Constant Gardener
Author: John le Carre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 6/14/2011


"I wanted to love this book, but I had a really hard time getting into it. Not sure why. I liked the movie and this has to be one of the very few times I liked the movie better than the book. The book feels dry and disconnected from the characters."


A Constellation of Vital Phenomena: A Novel
A Constellation of Vital Phenomena: A Novel
Author: Anthony Marra
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/1/2013


"An amazing,haunting, well written book that will stay with you for a long time. The main story of the book only covers 5 days, and then is filled with all the back stories of the main characters, told out of order so you don't really see how it all ties together until the end. A large portion of this book is back story, so there is a lot of telling how the characters got to the present situation, less dialog than normally prefer, but it held my interest throughout.

This book attempts to cover the history of the Chechen and Russian war using this small band of intricately linked people. I've seen comments where others felt the characters were too closely linked to be believable, but I felt it served a purpose of showing how each individual choice had an effect on so many. As with all war books, it is not an easy read, this war is not glamorized or glossed over by Marra, and yet it doesn't feel overly graphic or gratuitously violent. I particularly liked how the main characters were shown, warts and all...no larger than life characters. They felt like real people trying to live through a horrible situation and dealing with the choices they have made.

I actually listened to this from Audible but still would like to get this book to keep in my library. The title, explained near the end of the book, fits so well with this story and is one I will remember for a long time. I highly recommend reading this book."


The Courtesan (Dark Queen, Bk 2)
The Courtesan (Dark Queen, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 10/20/2011


"While I liked the first book in this series fairly well, I just couldn't get into this book. I barely finished it, then with a lot of skipping around. I thought the third book was better, although predictable. It was just too much that she came to town to be a courtesan and was anything but."


Dark Angel / Lord Carew's Bride
Dark Angel / Lord Carew's Bride
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 6/12/2011


"This wasn't my favorite Balogh novel, although it was ok for a quick thoughtless read. The characters weren't bad, although you knew what was going to happen and how. Ok though"


The Dark Queen  (Dark Queen, Bk 1)
The Dark Queen (Dark Queen, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 10/2/2011


"I had higher hopes for this book. It was good, but the romance pretty much over road anything else that might have been interesting in the book. It was better than the average romantic drivel, but still the romance was the plot. Sigh. I love historical fiction for bringing into that period of time, but this book only gives a small glimpse. I liked the book better until the end where it had the typical romantic ending of the male lead forced to give up his deepest darkest secrets to prove his love. Oh please. At any rate, it is an easy mostly entertaining read that sets you up for the next books in the series and I admit I'm interested enough to order the next 3."


The Dragon and the Unicorn
The Dragon and the Unicorn
Author: A. A. Attanasio
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/5/2011


"I could not get into this book and I made many attempts. Horrible. The author has a lot to tell you about this particular world and how it fits with the gods world and what makes them work/not work....so boring! Very little action with actual characters. The dragon is supposed to be the earth and the unicorn is of the sun and they have these hypothical mystical almost battles. Just couldn't do it."


The Dream-Hunter (Dream-Hunter, Bk 1)
The Dream-Hunter (Dream-Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1088
Review Date: 6/14/2011


"I had a tough time getting into this book. Steamy sex scenes but meh for the dialog and character development. The actual plot (if you can call it that) just barely moves. I wouldn't order any more Kenyon books after having read this one."


Enchantment
Enchantment
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/15/2011


"This is an interesting twist on the modern fairytale...what happens after the prince rescues the princess. Some of the plot towards the end went way over the top, but it was still very good. Not what I was expecting."


Everlasting
Everlasting
Author: Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 6/14/2011


"Everything I hate in a romance...fake dialog, characters thrown together with no more chemistry than the fact that they are both gorgeous, some how always know what the other is thinking (ha, as if that was how it really works)--except of course when it is convenient to moving the plot along to have them completely misunderstand each other. I dispise the whole have sex even if she hates it because we have chemistry and somehow that turns into love. Really? Although I guess I've met a few people like that at the bar with the same wish... I could't force myself to finish this."


The Fiery Cross (Outlander, Bk 5)
The Fiery Cross (Outlander, Bk 5)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 353
Review Date: 9/14/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I had a tougher time with Voyager and with the Drums of August, but this book was one of my favorites of the series. While I sometimes feel that since the novels are so long, Diana Gabaldon tries to explore every horrible or strange thing that could possibly happen to a person (Almost all the main characters have been raped, stabbed, various beating and near death experiences). However, her writing style is so wonderful and the characters are so real and so well drawn and fleshed out you feel like you are right there. And seriously, who wouldn't want Jamie around??"


Flirting with Pete
Flirting with Pete
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 10/5/2011


"Surprisingly a pretty good story with a small mystery, although the ending was a bit too trite...a "let's wrap this up with a good Hollywood ending". The romance stories were good, believable. A nice comfort book."


1 to 20 of 50 - Page: