Suzanne H. (DameEdna) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 148 - Page:
Abduction
Abduction
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 9/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I just LOVED this book, and it is totally outside of my usual reading preferences. give it a try.


Act of Betrayal (Britt Montero, Bk 4) (Abridged Audio Cassette)
Act of Betrayal (Britt Montero, Bk 4) (Abridged Audio Cassette)
Author: Edna Buchanan, Sandra Burr
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/11/2005


Very memorable story. Fast-paced.


Adventures in a Kayak, Rowboat and Dogsled
Adventures in a Kayak, Rowboat and Dogsled
Author: Jon Turk
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/2/2005


I enjoy adventure stories, and this one was pretty good, although I sometimes wanted to smack the author for his stubborness in the face of danger! Listening to the book was really enjoyable - it even made me want to see a copy of the book to see if there are maps of the places he trekked.


The Amateur Marriage (Audio Cassette)
The Amateur Marriage (Audio Cassette)
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/29/2005


Not my favorite book by Tyler, but as usual, she draws you into the lives of her characters.


Among the Mushrooms (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Among the Mushrooms (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Bailey White
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/6/2007


This is a short, but very sweet, cassette. I love White's writing style, as well as her voice.


The Andy Griffith Show Book
The Andy Griffith Show Book
Author: Ken Beck, Jim Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/11/2006


Adorable book - a must for the Andy Griffith Show fan.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 2/6/2006


Really an excellent memoir by a fine writer. Will evoke all the horrors of the slums of New York and Limerick. Follow this with 'Tis.


Anna's Book
Anna's Book
Author: Ruth Rendell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 2/6/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Fine writing and skillful buildup of suspense, as usual for Rendell/Vine.


April When they Woo (Marten and Cardenas, Bk 4)
Review Date: 8/9/2005


A Balthazar Martin Mystery.


Asta's Book
Asta's Book
Author: Barbara Vine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/14/2006


Another well-written book by Rendell, with a modern day woman researching the diary of her ancestor...and finding the key to more than one mystery. Kept me going until the very end.


Bad for Business
Bad for Business
Author: Rex Stout
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 2/15/2007


This is not a Nero Wolfe novel; this is the first one I've read featuring Tecumseh Fox. Excellent period hard-boiled mystery.


The Best of Louis L'amour
The Best of Louis L'amour
Author: Louis L'Amour
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/5/2012


Let me first say that this is a genre I thought I would not enjoy AT ALL, but felt obliged to listen to the tapes. These were just excellent! The readers, including Johnny Cash, Kris Kristoferson, etc., were very professional, and who knew - L'Amour writes stories that would appeal to men and women. If you have always wanted to "test the waters" vis-a-vis L'Amour, this is definitely the way to go.


Black Narcissus (82015)
Black Narcissus (82015)
Author: Rumer Godden
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/5/2005


Interesting story about a band of nuns settling in the Himalayas.


The Bonfire of the Vanities
The Bonfire of the Vanities
Author: Tom Wolfe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 9/25/2005
Helpful Score: 3


Forget everything you know about the movie of this book - the book itself is absolutely great, a riveting read and classic Tom Wolf with his great prose style and insight on popular culture. The movie was horribly miscast and a total waste. Read the book!


The Breaker
The Breaker
Author: Minette Walters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/11/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This is why I love Walters - dark atmosphere, fully-drawn characters, and constant suspense.


The Bridges of Madison County
The Bridges of Madison County
Author: Robert James Waller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 791
Review Date: 2/22/2012


This is in the top 5 of the WORST books I ever read. Poorly written, shallow. Bottom of the heap.


Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 712
Review Date: 8/9/2005


This was my first foray into the "Chick Lit" genre. I didn't expect to like it as much as I did - just fun...and there's nothing wrong with that!


Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 4/1/2006


Funny, ingenuous - makes you really like Bridget, despite her shortcoming. A really fun read.


Brimstone Wedding, The (Nova Audio Books)
Brimstone Wedding, The (Nova Audio Books)
Author: Barbara Vine, Laural Merlington
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/26/2006


I love Vine (Rendell's) writing...so dark and spooooooky! This was an excellent story.


Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery (Bunnicula, Bk 1)
Review Date: 8/5/2006
Helpful Score: 3


I loved the entire series of these books, and I read them before I even had children. Now my children have loved them, too.


1 to 20 of 148 - Page: