Teresa H. (WarEagle78) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 338 - Page:
32AA
32AA
Author: Michelle Cunnah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 7/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Cute chick-lit about a young woman who has some self-image issues to overcome. I love the characters - our heroine plus her cadre of good friends. And Jack is great. Fun read.


74 Seaside Avenue (Cedar Cove, Bk 7)
74 Seaside Avenue (Cedar Cove, Bk 7)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 572
Review Date: 11/3/2008


Another dip into familiar Cedar Cove, where as usually we have a number of story lines about the individuals who have inhabited this town - and our imaginations - for many years now. I found the key storyline in this one difficult to believe and didn't care much about following it, but the other stories kept my interest and made it an interesting, quick read.


8 Sandpiper Way (Cedar Cove, Bk 8)
8 Sandpiper Way (Cedar Cove, Bk 8)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 472
Review Date: 2/12/2009
Helpful Score: 2


If you've been reading this series you don't really need a review. If you haven't been reading the series I would suggest that you start with the first book, 16 Lighthouse Road, and start there. This is book 8, so obviously I enjoy the author and her work!


90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Don Piper, Cecil Murphey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 869
Review Date: 9/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely amazing. Even in "near death" or "return to life" stories you don't imagine a man being dead 90 minutes and returning to this earth. Truly a story of a miracle, and a man whose has things yet to do before returning to heaven.


Abduction
Abduction
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 3/26/2007


Pretty interesting story about a civilization under the sea. Not one of Cook's better tales, in my opinion.


The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
Review Date: 9/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Really the title says it all. An easy to follow tale about a young man who leaves his homeland in search of treasure revealed n a dream. He meets many and learns much in his trek, develops and exercises his courage, his discretion, his fortitude and his trust in his heart. A lovely tale.


Always: Inspiring Stories to Encourage Your Marriage (Focus on the Family Great Stories.)
Review Date: 11/18/2008


A handful of uplifting stories about couples who found their way back to a rewarding and loving marriage by trusting in the Lord.


The Ambassador's Son (Josh Thurlow Novels)
The Ambassador's Son (Josh Thurlow Novels)
Author: Homer Hickam
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/29/2008


Slow to start and a bit lumbering, moves much like a Michener book but much much shorter! Beautifully crafted descriptions of place and (to a lesser extent) people and time. Fanciful story with some basis in fact centering around the military career of John F. Kennedy, with cameos by Richard Nixon, James Mitchner, and others.


Among Schoolchildren
Among Schoolchildren
Author: Tracy Kidder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 9/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I love Tracy Kidder's way of sharing a subject. With this book, much like his "House," he enters into the setting so thoroughly that he apparently becomes a piece of the furniture, or at least a piece of artwork on longterm loan. He helps the reader understand the reality of teaching a diverse classroom in a ramshackled part of an industrial town that is not aging well. We get the highs and the lows as Kidder shadows veteran teacher Kris Zajak and her class of 5th graders. I don't think my explanation does Kidders work justice - daily life made as interesting as a novel. I highly recommend.


An Act of Love (Act of Love)
An Act of Love (Act of Love)
Author: Nancy Thayer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting and not entirely predictable story about a stepfamily. The characters were strong and the focus on the marriage interesting.


An Elm Creek Quilts Sampler: The First Three Novels in the Popular Series (Elm Creek Quilters Novels)
Review Date: 2/15/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Stuck in the house with a nasty cold, this thick volume of three novels was a perfect companion. Intergenerational stories, strong friendships, and the binding pleasure of a treasured craft define the common themes of these three different but similarly strong stories. I enjoyed the Sampler thoroughly -- it made me feel much less lonely in my contagious isolation! (It made me want to quilt too...)


Angels (Walsh Family, Bk 3)
Angels (Walsh Family, Bk 3)
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 372
Review Date: 6/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Chick lit, not bad, not my favorite from Keyes either. Maggie catches her husband in an affair and flees Ireland for Los Angeles, the home of another ex-pat, screenwriter wanna Emily. The story moves between "young woman in big city" chick lit fun and background on Maggie's life. Okay story, nice ending.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 815
Review Date: 3/21/2006


A wonderful story of young wives and mothers growing up and old together.


Another Shot : How I Relived My Life in Less Than a Year (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 7/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


What a facinating premise! The author takes a look at his life and tries to correct the decision points that caused him later regret. As the story opens, he is trying out - again - for his high school basketball team. As we progress he tries to track down his high school sports car, researches hair replacement therapy, goes back to church, searches for the girl he was afraid to ask out in college, and so forth. I found it entertaining and insightful.


Arena
Arena
Author: Karen Hancock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 11/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A readable and interesting Christian allegory in a science fiction setting. Callie and her friend volunteer for a psychology experiment that in reality transports them to another, alternate world. One of danger and temptation, as they strive to find the passage back to their own world. I'm not a science fiction fan, but found this intriguing.


The Art of Mending
The Art of Mending
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/18/2006


A well-written and thought-provoking offering from Berg. What do you do when your sister, the one you always avoided and thought was so strange, comes to you as an adult and claims she was emotionally abused by your mother? How to handle it, who to believe?


The Art of Possibility : Transforming Professional and Personal Life
Review Date: 12/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I heard Benjamin Zander speak before I purchased the book. The book contains some gems, and I'm keeping it for my personal library. Nothing quite matches the verve and engagement of hearing Zanderin person, though!


As You Wish (Christy  Todd: the College Years, 2)
As You Wish (Christy Todd: the College Years, 2)
Author: Robin Jones Gunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 3/18/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Another sweet entry into the Christy and Todd series. In this book Christy comes to terms with her vacillation over her feelings for Todd, and we enjoy the first six months of the friends' life journeys at their small private Christian college. Another quick read, but full of lovely people and Godly example.


Astrid and Veronika
Astrid and Veronika
Author: Linda Olsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 9/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A delicate story of friendship. How best to describe this book? Set in Sweden, a young woman rents a house to grieve the loss of her fiance. Next door, a woman has been alone for years, perhaps decades, perhaps her entire adult life. How they gently find one another and enter into a strong and loving relationship is beautifully told and moving to read.


At First Sight
At First Sight
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 491
Review Date: 11/16/2006


Another wonderful story by Nicholas Sparks. This one is a sequal to A True Believer (I think) - following Lexie and Jeremy's love story through their courtship, into marriage and beyond. Nicely told, from Jeremy's point of view, the characters really are beautifully developed and the story engaging.


1 to 20 of 338 - Page: