Amy A. - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Black Hawk Down: A Story of Modern War
Black Hawk Down: A Story of Modern War
Author: Mark Bowden
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 8/28/2010


An extremely good book but very sad. If you want to learn about Somalia and Mogadishu and what happened on that dreadful day, this is the book for you. If you want to learn about Rangers and Delta Force in the heat of battle, this is the book.


A Cancer Battle Plan: Six Strategies for Beating Cancer from a Recovered "Hopeless Case"
Review Date: 10/7/2009


Real people fighting real cancer, this book gave us focus and hope in our personal battle against cancer. The book is short enough that it can be read and followed.


Children's Guide to Insects and Spiders
Children's Guide to Insects and Spiders
Author: Jinny Johnson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/8/2010


My 8-year old son LOVES this book. It's easy to read (but not too easy) and has great illustrations.


Classical Gods and Heroes: Myths As Told by the Ancient Authors
Review Date: 10/24/2009


This book is very authentic, translated straight from the Greek. Each myth has at least one telling by a classical Greek author, such as Ovid, Homer, or Virgil. It's very extensive, but the tellings are not always consistent with each other (e.g. there could be five tellings with five different views). I have enjoyed this book. Review submitted by a 12-year old classically educated student.


Created to Be His Help Meet: Discover how God Can Make Your Marriage Glorious
Review Date: 8/12/2009


Debi Pearl has a lot of God-given wisdom from her years of walking with the LORD to share with other women. This book has some hard-to-hear truths (hard for some of us wives) for us -- and I think it's very worthwhile reading.


Everything You Need to Know About English Homework (Everything You Need...series)
Review Date: 6/6/2010


I love this whole series of "Everything You Need to Know" books. This one is a great summary of the highpoints of English grammar.


Everything You Need to Know About Geography Homework: A Desk Reference for Students and Parents
Review Date: 6/6/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Learned about these books through my introduction to the Classical Conversations home education program, which draws heavily from these as sources for its weekly memory work. This is a great book for me both as a CC parent and a CC tutor.


Everything You Need To Know About World History: A Desk Reference for Parents and Students (Everything You Need to Know About)
Review Date: 6/6/2010


I really like this book because it's a great summary of many important events from world history. I was introduced to it via Classical Conversations, which seems to have taken much of its Memory Work from this source. Very useful to me as a CC tutor and parent.


God Knows My Size!
God Knows My Size!
Author: Harvey Yoder, Silvia Tarniceriu
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/7/2009


This book came along at a time when we were wondering if God knew where we were at. He does. Silvia's questions and her transparency helped mobilize our walk with the Lord. We read this aloud to our children every night; they were transfixed. What a blessed story.


Juice Fasting and Detoxification: Use the Healing Power of Fresh Juice to Feel Young and Look Great
Review Date: 3/29/2012


A great book! Lots of details I've never read before such as how to safely come off an extended juice fast (your stomach has gone to sleep and it's dangerous to just go eat pizza the first day). Written by a very experienced juicer. Highly recommend.


They Looked for a City
They Looked for a City
Author: Lydia Buksbazen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/12/2009


This is an incredible true story! When you read about the hardships and trials that Yente and her family endured, and see the beautiful faith that was birthed as a result, you will be very encouraged to persevere in your own trials. This book is a great way to learn history as well. I read it aloud to my children, although I stopped before I got to the horrors of WWII because I felt it was a bit much for them. A truly beautiful, edifying book.


Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Review Date: 10/30/2013


This is a GREAT book. I finished it very quickly. An amazing account. God is good and He's still at work!!


Us Elite Counter-Terrorist Forces (Power Series (Motorbooks Intl))
Review Date: 8/10/2010


My 11-year old son says: "Extremely good book. If you want to learn about counter-terrorism, this is one of the best books I could recommend. It has several weapon categories, training categories, and other subjects related to counter-terrorism."


US Navy Seals in Action
US Navy Seals in Action
Author: Hans Halberstadt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/10/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This rating is by my 11 year-old son. "If you want to learn about Navy Seals, this is a good book to get. It covers weapons, detonations, missions, gear, knives and underwater gear. This has a lot of the boats that they used in Vietnam and it has several commentaries from Seals. I wish this book had more on small arms, and more details about their missions."


Why Care About Israel? How the Jewish Nation Is the Key to Unleashing God's Blessings in the 21st Century
Review Date: 8/28/2011


This is a fabulous, life-changing book. It explains things that I've had a feeling about but couldn't articulate, in a very understandable fashion. God has never changed His mind about His chosen people and their Land, and we need to get with His program if we're to enjoy His fullest blessings in our lives.


Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement: Confessions of a Former Worship Leader
Review Date: 8/2/2011


Great book. We always knew there was a reason we couldn't stand the contemporary "rock" music at church (electric guitars, drums banging away, etc.). It's because it pleases and appeals to the flesh. This book will set you straight about worship that appeals to the heart of God.


The World Is Flat : A Brief History of the Twenty-first Century
The World Is Flat : A Brief History of the Twenty-first Century
Author: Thomas L. Friedman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/19/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is the best book I've read explaining our changing world. He answers the question, Why has everything been outsourced? And how that is good for those who can think outside the box. This book also gives one a glimpse of what the future is going to be like. A must-read for anybody with an interest in contemporary culture.


1 to 17 of 17