Bertie W. (bertie0228) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 74 - Page:
Against the Storm (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 4)
Against the Storm (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 4)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 10/21/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Once again Kat Martin delivers. I love her books and have never been disappointed. This is the fourth in a 6 book series. Can't wait for the last two.


Always Her Hero
Always Her Hero
Author: Adrienne deWolfe
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/16/2009


This book leaves a lot of unanswered questions about the people involved. I was very disappointed when I finished reading the two book series. ( 1st books is Scoundrel for Hire). I even e-mailed the author to find out if another book was coming out soon. She informed me that there would be no more books in the series. If you like to be left hanging then read this series if not don't bother


The Amen Trail
The Amen Trail
Author: Sharon Sala
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/22/2010


This is by far the funniest book I have read in forever. Letty will have you in tears, I laughed so hard my sides were hurting. Don't miss reading this book. But make sure you read Whippoorwill first, then of course finish off the series with The Hen House, this is one series I will never forget.


The Beach Club
The Beach Club
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 3/6/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Once Again this author had me from page one. I wish the ending didn't seem so rushed. Would have been nice to find out what happen to some of the other people in the book

All in All I would give this book a 4.5 great read


Between Friends
Between Friends
Author: Kristy Kiernan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 9/4/2010


This is without a doubt one of the best books I have read in awhile. The friendship between Ali and Cora started when they were teens. Cora donated her eggs so her best friend and her husband Benny could have the child they dreamed about.

Years later Cora has come back home because she has found out something that may tear apart the friendship.

This book is a must read you will not be disappointed the love between Ali and Cora and also the love between Ali and Benny will have you in tears.


Blown Away (Storm Front, Bk 1)
Blown Away (Storm Front, Bk 1)
Author: Sharon Sala
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 8/22/2010


Sharon Sala has done it again, this three book series was fantastic. All the books were page turners. The series is a must read for any Sharon Sala fans.

the three books are Blown Away -- Torn Apart -- and Swept Aside


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 1/30/2010
Helpful Score: 2


For starters get your, depends and your tissues. You will laugh until you pee yourself and cry when you think things are going back to normal. This was one of the best written books I have read in a looooong time. It is told through the eyes of a child and shows how just a little love and kindness can change a whole town. I would love to see a sequel Winnalee and Freeda have a story of their own to tell and I would love to read it. Thought people might be interested in the e-mail I received from the author about the sequel

Hello Bertie,

I'm so glad you enjoyed The Book of Bright ideas, and thanks so much for writing to tell me so. It's always such a blessing to hear from readers. And you're absolutely right, I get mail all the time asking me to write a sequel to this book. All that prompting has paid off--I'm working on the sequel now! Of course, things move very slowly in the publishing world, so it won't be on the shelves until '11. In the meantime, though, I hope you'll check out one of my other two books, and, my fourth book which will be released the very end of April. The book is titled, How High the Moon, and takes place in Wisconsin in 1955. Like Bright Ideas, it's told through the voice of a little girl, 10-year-old Isabella "Teaspoon" Marlene, a irrepressible child who sets out to make herself more "respectable" so her mother's former boyfriend, Teddy, won't abandon her the way her mother did when she ran off to become an actress. It's funny, and touching, and I only hope readers enjoy reading Teaspoon half as much as I enjoyed writing her character.

Again, thank you for writing, Bertie!

Happy reading,

Sandra Kring
Carry Me Home, The Book of Bright Ideas, Thank You for All Things, How High the Moon


Bride by Surprise: The Unexpected Groom / Make-Believe Mom / Middle of the Rainbow (By Request 3's)
Review Date: 12/27/2009


The book has 3 complete stories, all three were well worth the read.


Calling Home
Calling Home
Author: Janna McMahan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book, I was not totally in love with the daughter at the end of the book. But all in all it is well worth reading.


Carry Me Home
Carry Me Home
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/31/2010
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best reads of the year for me. Ms. Kring tells a story like no one else can.

Once I started this book I felt like I was standing next to Earwig, his character was one of the best things to be put on paper in a long time.

Family, love, friendships that last a lifetime. That's what this book is about. If you have not yet read one of Ms. Kring's books do yourself a favor and do so starting with this one


Cash (Rock Creek Six, Bk 6)
Cash (Rock Creek Six, Bk 6)
Author: Linda Devlin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Great series all six books were sexy, funny and the women were top of the line, the men didn't stand a chance when the ladies wanted something the ladies went for it.

One of the best series I have read in a long time.

books in order

Reese
Sullivan
Rico
Jed
Nate
Cash


The Color of Light
The Color of Light
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 6/23/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Book was one I couldn't put down. Tells the story of 3 child hood friends, one of them went missing. I didn't have a clue as to who done it until the very end. Great read.


Coming Back to Me
Coming Back to Me
Author: Caroline Leavitt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 12/8/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked the story line , however the ending seemed to be rushed, it felt like the author was tired of writing and just stopped. I got to the end and thought there should have been more. Some of the main characters where left behind. But all in all it was a okay read.


Cowboys Like Us / Notorious (Harlequin Blaze, No 630)
Cowboys Like Us / Notorious (Harlequin Blaze, No 630)
Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 8/17/2011


This book was just okay. It seemed that the author was rushing to get to the end.


Crossing Oceans
Crossing Oceans
Author: Gina Holmes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 4/17/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Wow this book was so fantastic. A book that you can not put down. Shows how far a mother will go for her child. The book will have you thinking long after you finish it.

Make sure you have your tissues handy. If you only read a few books this year, make sure this is one of them


Driftwood Summer
Driftwood Summer
Author: Patti Callahan Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 4/16/2011


I Loved this book, all the people came to life and the sisters were fantastic. I read this in a day could not stop once I started reading. The ending to me was perfect.


Firefly Lane
Firefly Lane
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1018
Review Date: 11/29/2009


I loved this book, and yes some of us did have a friendship that lasted forever. My best friend and I were as close as sisters for almost 50 years. I lost her two years ago and still miss her and our talks and lunches. Marian you will always be with me and I still laugh when I think of some of the things we did. This book will stay with you long after the last page is turned. You will laugh, cry, get mad and then laugh some more. Do your self a favor and read the book.


The Four Seasons
The Four Seasons
Author: Mary Alice Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 1/31/2010


Another great read by this author I have yet to read a book of hers that I did not like. You feel like you are part of the story. Pick up any of her books and you will not be disappointed


Golden Lies
Golden Lies
Author: Barbara Freethy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/17/2009


If you have not yet read anything by Barbara Freethy, What are you waiting for. This book is about a 50 year old mystery that brings 3 families together. I have read all the books by this author and have yet to find one that I did not love.


Heaven in Texas
Heaven in Texas
Author: Curtiss Ann Matlock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I was hooked from page 1, Billie and Linc were made for each other. Read this book and enjoy I know I did and look forward to reading more from this author


1 to 20 of 74 - Page: