Wayne L. (Gaddiel) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
547 Tips for Saving Energy in Your Home
547 Tips for Saving Energy in Your Home
Author: Roger Albright
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/10/2006


Did not read this one, but hope someone likes it!


Airframe
Airframe
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 487
Review Date: 2/10/2006


Wasn't really impressed with this book, although it was a fair story. Not one of my favorites from Crichton.


The Amber Room
The Amber Room
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 2/10/2006


Did not read this one, but hope someone likes it!


The Bourne Identity (Bourne, Bk 1)
The Bourne Identity (Bourne, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 486
Review Date: 2/15/2006


I lost interest after about three chapters, but I'm not a big suspense/novel type of reader. Many of my co-workers have read this an loved it.


The Case for Christ:  A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus
Review Date: 6/21/2006
Helpful Score: 10


The evidences for Christ and His claims are all there. The only choice is whether to ignore them or not. Strobel brings it all together in a concise, convincing manner to fortify the position that Christianity is not "blind" faith, as some would call it, but instead is a "reasonable" faith, based on solid, unquestionable evidence.

Whether you are simply curious about the Christian faith, or an outright skeptic, this book will give you the facts.


The Case for Faith :  a journalist investigates the toughest objections to Christianity
Review Date: 12/18/2006


Skeptical about Christianity? Ever wonder why bad things happen to good people? Don't get tangled up in the atheistic double-talk. Strobel explains how faith is seamlessly and inseparably meshed with mankind's free will. If you are looking for some real answers to some of the major objections to Christianity, I'd consider this book authoritative. Those who seek Him will find Him.


The Case for Faith:  A Journalist Investigates the Toughest Objections to Christianity
Review Date: 12/18/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Skeptical about Christianity? Ever wonder why bad things happen to good people? Don't get tangled up in the atheistic double-talk. Strobel explains how faith is seamlessly and inseparably meshed with mankind's free will. If you are looking for some real answers to some of the major objections to Christianity, I'd consider this book authoritative. Those who seek Him will find Him.


Congo
Congo
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 2/10/2006


Darkest Africa. Strangling vines. Rain forest. Pygmies. Clouds of mosquitoes. Rampaging hippos. Roaring gorillas. Killer natives. Gorges. Rapids. Erupting volcanoes. An abandoned city full of diamonds, lost in the jungle. Maybe a new animal species, a weird cross between man and ape, but unheard of in 20th-century anthropology. Zaire. Congo.

Don't let the horrible movie scare you away from the fantastic book. Great storyline!


The Container Expert (Expert)
The Container Expert (Expert)
Author: D.G. Hessayon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/10/2006


Did not read this one, but hope someone likes it!


Couplehood
Couplehood
Author: Paul Reiser
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 2/10/2006


Funny stuff. I could see myself and my spouse in almost every story. If you liked "Mad About You", you'll love this book!


Fahrenheit 451
Fahrenheit 451
Author: Ray Bradbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1410
Review Date: 2/10/2006


A classic from Bradbury, this is a great story that reminded me of a Twilight Zone episode about a librarian that had become "obsolete". Enjoyed it all the way through.


The Fall (Seventh Tower, Bk 1)
The Fall (Seventh Tower, Bk 1)
Author: Garth Nix
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 2/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyed it, even though it seemed to be written for young adults.


The Great Hunt (Wheel of Time, Bk 2)
The Great Hunt (Wheel of Time, Bk 2)
Author: Robert Jordan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 577
Review Date: 5/8/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Robert Jordan goes into much detail about the characters and environment in all of his books. While this helps bring the story to life, I began to find it a bit overwhelming by the time I finished this one. What kept me interested was the intriguing story line. My advice: If you're looking for a quick read that you don't have to think about, don't choose any of Jordan's books. But if you've got the time and want a story with a whole world brought to life through vivid detail, this is it!


The Hidden Art Of Homemaking
The Hidden Art Of Homemaking
Author: Edith Schaeffer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/10/2006


Did not read this one, but hope someone likes it!


The Horse Whisperer
The Horse Whisperer
Author: Nicholas Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 2/10/2006


Did not read this one, but hope someone likes it!


Hound Of The Far Side (Far Side Books, Collection No 7)
Hound Of The Far Side (Far Side Books, Collection No 7)
Author: Gary Larson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/15/2006


Another classic Far Side collection. I probably would keep this one, but I got gift set that includes all of these cartoons and more. It's definitely Larson humor at it's best...


Housebuilding: A Do-It-Yourself Guide
Review Date: 2/10/2006


Very good reference book for those who are looking to build their own home. All aspects of construction are covered, from roof to foundation.


Ice Trap (Star Trek, Book 60)
Ice Trap (Star Trek, Book 60)
Author: L.A. Graf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/15/2006


I'd sum up this book with the words, "Action packed"! There is suspense and action on almost every page. If you're a classic Star Trek fan, you will undoubtedly like this one.


Jurassic Park (Jurassic Park, Bk 1)
Jurassic Park (Jurassic Park, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 981
Review Date: 2/10/2006


Classic and a must-read. Enjoyed everything except some foul language...


Kate's House
Kate's House
Author: Mary Francis Shura
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 4/12/2006
Helpful Score: 1


It's autumn, 1843, and Kate Alexander and her family are in Oregon at last. Kate is happy the long, difficult wagon trip is over, but after sunny Ohio, she can't accept the dark woods as home. The trees seem overpowering and the silence is scary.

Fortunately Kate's best friend, Tildy Thompson, and her family have staked a claim nearby. And there is much for the girls to explore and discover.

But when Tildy's brother secretly plans to join their mother in California, Tildy decides to go with him. Kate is heartbroken, realizing just how much she depends on Tildy, especially in this new, strange place. Then tragedy strikes, and Kate must find the courage and love to stand by her friend.


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: