Katherine N. (kimberlyrav) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 312 - Page:
1 Dead in Attic: After Katrina
1 Dead in Attic: After Katrina
Author: Chris Rose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/8/2016


Boring and too much about stuff that had nothing to do with the hurricane. It was more about before the storm, even though its titled AFTER....Not a good read.


Afraid
Afraid
Author: Jack Kilborn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 4/18/2014


WOW!! From page one to the last page, it is PURE action, horror, non stop whirlwind. I sat with my mouth open many times, I could NOT put this book down. It was so good, Ive tried to find more by this author, looks like Ill be waiting a bit before I get them, Ive wish listed the books, looks like there are not many out there that people are willing to give up and I can see why. This is action packed, I am NOT kidding. It has many unique scenes in it. Best horror book Ive read in years, it is NOW one of my favs for good!


After the End (After the End, Bk 1)
After the End (After the End, Bk 1)
Author: Amy Plum
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/5/2016


This book kicked my butt into the world of, "I wish all books were like this"...I would love to have stayed for good, luckily there is a book 2. On order 2morrow. Ill hate to be away from the people and the situations for a week or two, but what must be ...must be. Amy Plum became one of my fav authors when I read her Paris series. Im so in love with those as well. This author has such a wonderful talent in immediately taking you into the world she wants you to be a part of and one that you never want to let go of. Such a great writing talent. I wont be surprised to see any of her books show up as a movie.

Im not going to go into what this book is about because the surprise of knowing what "After the End" meant, is a big part of a spoiler. So, get yourself a copy of this fantastic book and check out Amy Plum, she rocks da house.


Alibi for a Cold Winter's Night
Alibi for a Cold Winter's Night
Author: Ilsa Mayr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/21/2016


This was the first book in the series that I had read. I thought the mystery was just ok. I did find myself a bit bored a little after half way through. I love that the setting took place in winter and it had an interesting story line involving a homeless shelter.
Homeless people start showing up dead around the shelter and its up to the main character who is a volunteer there to find out just who has it out for these people.
I had no issues with character development, being this is not the first book in the series, its a story all on its own.


All about love
All about love
Author: Ginger Adair Fulton
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 3/9/2014


A childs book, explaining love from their point of view. Very cute! 30 pages.


All Through The Night
All Through The Night
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 12/16/2015


Absolutely loved this diamond of a Christmas book. Ive read this one twice, with many years between both reads and reading it the second time felt familiar but completely new. A good book can do that.
This book had two situations going on throughout. One a forged will and two an infant left in a paper bag outside of a Rectory.
I really enjoyed this and it added lots of joy to my already full heart of Christmas spirit.


Alone in the Ice World
Alone in the Ice World
Author: MaryAnn Easley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/29/2014


Awesome story about a girl who fly's to the arctic circle to be with her mother, to live and teach the arctic people. Her plane crashes and she does not make it to her mother but ends up living with the Inupait people. She faces many hardships and challenges but in the end is well rewarded in many ways. This is a great story for kids or even adults as I am. You really get a glimpse of life in the arctic and the people there in how they live, work, function and in how they see us here in the lower 48.


Ancient Enemy
Ancient Enemy
Author: Mark Lukens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/21/2015


Full of action. I was guessing till the end on what or who the killer was.
Bank robbers, a Navajo boy, and an Archaeologist all end up together in what looks like an abandoned cabin in the biggest blizzard to hit the state in years. Something or someone is picking them off one by one. The way they die is despicable. An unnatural force has come. I couldn't believe the end, surprised the heck out of me.
I enjoyed it! Awesome read.


Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, Bk 1)
Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, Bk 1)
Author: Kendare Blake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/8/2016


I enjoyed this book. I found it to be unique to the genre of Paranormal books. The book is a meant for teens, high school teeny boppers, but I think adults can fit right in. This is a sad and spooky tale.

Cas, a teenage boy is always moving from place to place with his mother. He is no ordinary teen. Armed with a special blade, passed down to him through the generations, he uses this along with his special ability to see and kill ghosts.
In this story, he and his mom move to a small town in Canada. As soon as they arrive to the town, he is drawn to the next ghost on his killing list. Why does he have the job of ghost slaying you ask? Why would someone want to kill a ghost? Its for the ghosts who kill. The ones who dismember the living. The ones who violently haunt humans.
This time around though, the ghost up for meeting with his blade, is a beautiful Finnish girl. One who died in a horrible manner. One who had a horrid life while living with her mother and step father. Cas falls for the ghost, her beautiful dark hair and black dead eyes. Will he be able to kill her? Will this be just another easy ghost slaying? Or will ghosts from the past come to haunt him instead.


Apartment 16
Apartment 16
Author: Adam Nevill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/26/2015


Terror lies behind the door of..Apartment 16.
In Barrington House, an upmarket block in London, there is an empty apartment. No one goes in, no one comes out.

This was a very strange book. It is loaded with atmospheric descriptions, and because of that I felt bogged down, trying to visualize so much of that. I was overwhelmed with thoughts of...WHAT IS THE AUTHOR TRYING TO SPELL OUT HERE?

There are times when I was right on track with what was going on and I really enjoyed the storyline and was spooked out many times, in a great way...then here it came again and I thought to myself many times, did I miss something? A whole chapter perhaps?

In conclusion, I would say the book was way too long for what was going on. Too many descriptions and confusing moments for me. I almost gave up half way through but just had to know where it would all end, if indeed it would. Ill give the book 2 stars for several creepy scenes throughout the book.


The Applause of Heaven
The Applause of Heaven
Author: Max Lucado
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/27/2014


This book was just beautiful! It will always stay with me. The way Max Lucado writes about Heaven, just so eloquent. This is an absolute must read for any Christian or even someone who isn't quite sure about the hear-after. I remember when I was reading the book, I would frequently look at the book cover and it would just take me there. It had me crying throughout. Max Lucado is an awesome writer, this is his best yet.


April Fools
April Fools
Author: Richie Tankersley Cusick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/1/2016


A horrible April Fools Day joke goes terribly wrong. The jokes just keep coming in a very murderous way.
I liked this old Point Horror as well. I didn't figure out the killer till it was actually revealed in the end. You'll have your suspicions though and you may just be right....or not. Loved it!


Asylum (Asylum, Bk 1)
Asylum (Asylum, Bk 1)
Author: Madeleine Roux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/3/2015


Gripping, edge of your seat, unique, creepy, fantastic, unputdownable, 5 stars, cant say enough, loved it! I look forward to book 2, called Sanctum! These books use actual REAL life photos of Asylums and patients, which makes these books totally original and top notch creepy!


The Autistic Author and Animator: A mother's view of a daughter's triumph
Review Date: 1/1/2017


This is a very touching story, I can see that it could provide a lot of help and comfort to those who have an Autistic member of the family!


The Babysitter
The Babysitter
Author: Daniel Ransom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/5/2016


It all starts when the granddaughter draws a picture, a very strange one. A frightening one. The child is also starting to act oddly, then becomes violent.
The grandmother takes the child to the Psychologists office for some help. No one can tell why or what has happened to make this child act so oddly other than the fact that the child continues to say, "The other night".. Could it be the other night when the Babysitter was there? The one she had stay with her granddaughter?

It is time to hunt the Babysitter down and find out just what happened "the other night".
They arent the only ones who know this Babysitter. Across town, "she" has been sitting for another family. Things are strange there as well.
The full force of the ancient terror explodes across their senses when they found out about THE BABYSITTER.

I love 80s horror. This book was right up my alley. Love the cover art. Perfect for us horror fans! Spooky city!


Bethany's Calendar
Bethany's Calendar
Author: Elaine Marie Cooper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/25/2015


I am sure this took the author a lot of courage and a mustering of a million emotions to put down in a book. This book will touch you in a big way especially if your a parent.
Its the real life story of a mothers journey with her terminally ill daughter from the beginning of her diagnosis of cancer to the end of her life.

Each chapter begins with an excerpt from Bethanys diary. Bethany is the daughter of the author. Each chapter explores the many scenes, memories, struggles, experiences, questions and answers and the many blessings from God realized by both Elaine the writer and her daughter.

You will cry, there is no doubt, but there are lessons to be learned from this book. Advice is given at the end of each chapter as well.
Very well done, I highly recommend the book.


Between Shades of Gray
Between Shades of Gray
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/30/2016


What a compelling, sad, lonely, yet victorious piece of history. As with any book dealing with victims of the holocaust, it can be very difficult to read. This is a unique book in that it is told from the perspective of a young Lithuanian girl. She is sent to a prison camp along with her mother and brother, while her father is sent separately to another prison camp far from them.

The father was a professor at a University in Lithuania. In all of the politics and he said, she said, this young girl and her family are forced into the same life experienced by the Jews and other peoples the regime found fault with. I am not very good at explaining things from WW2, I get confused about Stalin and Hitler and the people's and countries involved during that time. This book was more about Stalin and the Russians imprisoning this girls family and many others. Only one Jewish man is in their camp out of hundreds.

Lina, for whom the story is about, ends up in the Arctic along with other prisoners, dying of starvation, cruel treatment, Dysentery, Typhoid, the struggle with lice. Trying to hold on to the good times before this all began, using memories as a way of escaping these horrific hardships that none of us, could really ever imagine. It is tough to write a review on this without delving into history that frankly I need more education on.

I highly recommend this book, especially to those who enjoyed reading Anne Frank's Diary and other accounts during this dark time of the worlds history.


Bid for Midnight (Ghost Cat, Bk 2)
Bid for Midnight (Ghost Cat, Bk 2)
Author: Jessica Beck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/1/2017


For this to be an independently published book, I was enthralled with how good the writing and the story was. I totally loved this book!


Birch Hollow Schoolmarm (Bender, Carrie, Dora's Diary, 1.)
Birch Hollow Schoolmarm (Bender, Carrie, Dora's Diary, 1.)
Author: Carrie Bender
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/4/2015


Synopsis:
Dora runs around with the Amish youth, then makes her peace with parents and church. Family friends call her to teach for an Amish community in Minnesota. She dedicates herself to teaching, yet is not too busy to have dates with Matthew. When the teaching job fizzles out, she works as a hired girl, caring for nine young children. Stress almost overwhelms Dora, but lilacs, love and faith keep her going.
Heartwarming, encouraging, wonderful and enjoyable!


Black Cat Crossing (Bad Luck Cat, Bk 1)
Black Cat Crossing (Bad Luck Cat, Bk 1)
Author: Kay Finch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/29/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Beautiful cover, right? Oh yeah! You have heard Never judge a book by its cover, well in this situation you can bet to NOT do just that. Go ahead and bet, cause the book is just as good as that awesome cover.
I enjoyed this first book in the Bad Luck Cat Mystery series.
Takes place in Texas, in an interesting little village with a great set of quirky, hot under the collar, solid characters and one awesome, smart, stray black cat.
You wont figure out the killer till the very end I am sure.. Excellent job Kay Finch!!


1 to 20 of 312 - Page: