Susan H. (hagen007) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 8/31/2011


I'm not sure whether my taste is changing in books or if Patterson's writing is changing but this book, while entertaining, was a fast and rather simplistic read. Kind of predictable . . . but then, my taste could be changing.

Sue H.


206 Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 12)
206 Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 12)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 9/14/2009


I have read Bk #1 and now Bk #12 in the series. We enjoy the TV series, but I found Bk 12 more closely related to the series.

A very good read. Enjoyed it very much and will read more. I unfortunately find the french used within a bit off-putting, but Reichs usually puts the translation right after it.

I recommend it.

Sue H.


9 Dragons
9 Dragons
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/20/2010


This was the first Harry Bosch book I have read, and I will read more.
Best book of this genre I have read in a long time. Not a real fan of international locations in books, but I could easily overlook that in this book.

Sue H.


Acceptable Risk
Acceptable Risk
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 9/8/2009


This was pretty good, but I didn't think it was up to his usual standards.

Sue H.


The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 6/4/2012


This is by far one of the best books I've read in a long time. Read it in a day . . . .

Sue H.


Almost Dead (San Francisco, Bk 2)
Almost Dead (San Francisco, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 452
Review Date: 4/6/2009


I really enjoyed this book . . . wasn't sure at first because it seemed too "soft." But I found myself wondering about the mysteries that the author wove in her writing and kept reading to find out more. Fairly fast read, and very entertaining!


Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 1)
Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 668
Review Date: 12/9/2009


Loved this book! A much darker "read" than Harris' Sookie Stackhouse series, but much more in depth. Would recommend it for those who are looking for something more "meaty."


Sue H.


Black Friday (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 7)
Black Friday (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 7)
Author: Alex Kava
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 9/25/2010


Found the book somewhat choppy. Could not relate well to the characters. If I had read previous Maggie O'Dell books, it might have helped. Did not care for it.


The Burning Wire (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 9)
The Burning Wire (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 9)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 8/24/2010


I enjoyed the book but was not very fond of Rhymes. Maybe I needed to follow his journey through the earlier books, and I will, but I wouldn't suggest starting out with this one like I did. This was my first Deaver.

It's fairly heavy with the technical aspects of electricity and has quite a few twists and turns in the plot.

Slower read for me because of the technical stuff, and because I really did try to understand it, but I do recommend it.


Cross Country (Alex Cross, Bk 14) (Large Print)
Cross Country (Alex Cross, Bk 14) (Large Print)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


While this was good, I have liked other Alex Cross stories better. I couldn't help but get the feeling that Patterson was preaching to his audience about the state of affairs in Africa. Plus, with all the physical hurt that Alex went through, it put the storyline over more toward the unbelievable. It certainly won't cause me to stop reading Patterson, but I was disappointed.


Cure (Jack Stapleton & Laurie Montgomery, Bk 10)
Cure (Jack Stapleton & Laurie Montgomery, Bk 10)
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 7/7/2011


I love Robin Cook, but I think someone else wrote this. While the story was solid, and I'm familiar with the two medical examiners characters, I didn't like any of them in this book. The writing was stilted and old fashioned. sounded like this might have been in the style of the 60's. I forced myself to read it because I kept hoping it would get better, but it didn't. Sorry Robin Cook, but I've liked other books of yours much better!

Sue H.


Deadly Exposure
Deadly Exposure
Author: Leonard Goldberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/13/2012


I had hopes for this book because I really like medical thrillers, but this one disappointed me. Can't put my finger on it, it just left me about 3/4 through saying "Huh?". Maybe I missed something, but it seemed incomplete to me. I will read another of Joanne Blalock and see if it leaves me the same way . . . I was distracted during the time I was reading it, so that might be it.


A Deadly Practice (Joanna Blalock, Bk 2)
A Deadly Practice (Joanna Blalock, Bk 2)
Author: Leonard S. Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book in a day, and I do not agree with the other reviewers. The book was not realistic. In one section, the main detective was slapping around a drug dealer tryibng to get information, and in another he and his partner were hurrying off to meet this dealer and they were eating hamburgers and drinking beer in the car. I was in total awe of the lack of forensics or even the mention of a computer and I would hate to think that drug use and smoking were that widespread in a hospital. It reminded me of fiction from the 50's and 60's. It just seemed silly to me. I guess I like my mysteries a bit darker and more believable.


Face of Betrayal (Triple Threat, Bk 1)
Face of Betrayal (Triple Threat, Bk 1)
Author: Lis Wiehl, April Henry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/14/2011


I agree with another reviewer; this book reminds me a lot of The Murder Club. It seemed a tad choppy for my taste. Maybe the second one will be better. I'll read that one too


First to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
First to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1705
Review Date: 9/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Really really a good book! It's lighter reading than I'm used to, but I still really enjoyed it. Have read the second one too, and that one surprised me! Looking forward to #3.

Sue H.


Heart of Ice (Triple Threat, Bk 3)
Heart of Ice (Triple Threat, Bk 3)
Author: Lis Wiehl, April Henry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 7/4/2013


I have read one other of Lis Wiehl's books and as with that one, I found this one a bit "fluffy." Not a cozy, by any means, but too fluffy for me. It also reminds me of the gals that make up, I think, the Murder Club that Rizzoli and Isles TV show is based.


A Heartbeat Away
A Heartbeat Away
Author: Michael Palmer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 1/23/2014


This is one of the better books I've read lately. When it started I wasn't sure (a lot of government-ese in the beginning) but it gets juicy later and hard to put down. I actually read the 516 pages through one night - 9 hours instead of sleeping! Now, that's unusual for me! Moves quickly - never bored!


Heat Lightning (Virgil Flowers, Bk 2)
Heat Lightning (Virgil Flowers, Bk 2)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 4/19/2012


I wasn't impressed. I usually read for an hour or so each night before going to sleep. . . this book kind of put me to sleep.


Ice Cold (aka The Killing Place) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 8)
Ice Cold (aka The Killing Place) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 8)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 8/13/2010


I have read all of the Rizolli series and this one was the best! The "spooky" factor is very high in this, so be prepared!

Sue H.


The Informationist (Vanessa Michael Munroe, Bk 1)
The Informationist (Vanessa Michael Munroe, Bk 1)
Author: Taylor Stevens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/2/2013


I really enjoyed this book. It was not, at least for me, a "fast" read (3 days on and off). I had to think a bit while I read; it wasn't like a Patterson, but I enjoyed it. Will read more from this author and "Michael."


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: