Laurel W. (StrawberryOES) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 77 - Page:
1984
1984
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1639
Review Date: 1/12/2010


I had heard about this book for many years, but never read it.... in this time of our country, this book hit home with me. With our Government getting into more and more of the private sector businesses, this book made me feel like what happened could possibaly be happening right here in the goood old U.S. of A. I hurried to finish to see how it ended, and it was not good!!!


After the Funeral: The Posthumous Adventures of Famous Corpses
After the Funeral: The Posthumous Adventures of Famous Corpses
Author: Edwin Murphy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/30/2018


This was a very interesting book at the beginning, but as I got further and further into it, the stories all seemed to sound the same. I did enjoy reading where famous people's body parts went after they died, but about 3/4 of the way through I put it down for good. You may like it to the end?


All the Way Home: Building a Family in a Falling-Down House
All the Way Home: Building a Family in a Falling-Down House
Author: David Giffels
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/30/2017


Loved this book. One man's attack against an aging house, and how he "sort of" solved most of his problems. Revealing and honest, David and his wife struggle to make this old house their home, while going through several personal events. I couldn't put it down, wanting to know how it all turned out.


Bess W. Truman
Bess W. Truman
Author: Margaret Truman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/10/2016


Such a great book. I was born around the time Truman was President, so everything in this book was new to me. Harry was also a Mason, and my hubby and I have been involved in Masonry/Eastern Star for 35 years. It is well told by their daughter Margaret. Small details about their lives from the very first time they met to the day both died. It's a large book, but so good you will not put it down.


Review Date: 7/20/2013


This was one of the funniest books I've read in a long time. The fact that it is true (I think) makes it even better. Jen Lancaster is a great writer and if you just want a fun romp, read this book. About 3/4 of the way through, I couldn't put it down because I wanted to see how it ended (if she ended up living back at her parent's house)........


Bloodline
Bloodline
Author: Sidney Sheldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/28/2006


A tale that captures the reader on the first page and keeps him glued....until the very last gasp, because he builds conflict on conflict and casts of flamboyant, colorful, richer-than-Croesus characters who leap from bed to boardroom to continents and capitals with the ease of a trapeze artist....... Lifestyles


B.O.O.B.S.: A Bunch of Outrageous Breast-Cancer Survivors Tell Their Stories of Courage, Hope and Healing
Review Date: 8/29/2014


Very funny and interesting book. A must read for ALL women, whether they have had breast cancer or not.


Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
Author: Steve Martin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 5/6/2017


An excellent biography. Steve goes into his best and worst life moments about family, friends and co-workers. I could not put it down. I am going to put "The Jerk" on my Netflix list.


A Brief History of Time : The Updated and Expanded Tenth Anniversary Edition
Review Date: 5/21/2018


This is a very interesting book, but it turned out to be a little above my knowledge of space and time. Stephen tries to keep it at a level that the common person can understand, but at times what he was saying was way beyond my comprehension. I read to the middle of the book and then just had to stop....hopefully someone will order this book who has more insight than me.


Caligula: The Corruption of Power
Caligula: The Corruption of Power
Author: Anthony A. Barrett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/7/2018


This book was very hard to understand because a lot of it had some very hard to pronounce Roman names, and they all seemed to be the same after a time. Also, the print is very small, and hard for the "older eyes" to read. There were some good parts about Caligula though, in his earlier days, but still, I didn't want to spend my reading time on something that ended up being so hard to get through.


Callie's Tally : An Accounting of Baby's First Year (Or, What My Daughter Owes Me)
Review Date: 3/9/2010


This is an adorable tale of a mother-to-be, and the end results. So true and funny as heck. I was going to give it to my daughter who has an 18 month old, but decided she didn't have any time to read it, and besides, it would get her too depressed if she knew how much the child cost her for just the first year......it's a quick read, and very amusing


Diana and Jackie : Maidens, Mothers, Myths
Diana and Jackie : Maidens, Mothers, Myths
Author: Jay Mulvaney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/7/2017


Excellent book. I love both of these women and this comparison of each of their lives concerning birth, marriage, death, funeral, family. It's all so interesting just how much alike they were in some things and so different in others. The author did a great job of writing this book so each segment was together and easy to remember.


Diana's Boys: William and Harry and the Mother They Loved
Diana's Boys: William and Harry and the Mother They Loved
Author: Christopher Andersen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/23/2011


Good book about Diana and her boys lives. She is my favorite "Royal" and I just love to ready about her life (which was way too short). Can't wait to watch the wedding of William and Kate.


Dolly: My Life and Other Unfinished Business
Dolly: My Life and Other Unfinished Business
Author: Dolly Parton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/23/2011


Very good book on her life and times. She holds no punches on this one. A very interesting personality, and one that appreciates where she came from and where she ended up.


Down Came the Rain : My Journey Through Postpartum Depression
Down Came the Rain : My Journey Through Postpartum Depression
Author: Brooke Shields
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 3/12/2017


This book was interesting, but Brooke did a lot of repetition in describing certain situations and how she felt about her daughter and husband. It became a little tiring to read the same thing over and over, just worded differently. All in all, it was OK, just hard for me to read to the end! If it had been any longer I think I would have stopped. Just me, and someone who actually had this medical problem would probably find it very good and informational.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 12/9/2010


Wonderful book. Full of eye-opening revelations about one's life and struggles. Wish I had read it 40 years ago (if it had been written then). It reminded me a bit about my own life, and makes you take another look, to see if something else needs to be changed.


Franklin
Franklin
Author: Benjamin Franklin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/2/2012


This was a very interesting book on Franklin. I did not know a lot about his early life and it went into great detail.


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1897
Review Date: 7/18/2015


The Friday Night Knitting Club series is wonderful, especially if you're a knitter like I am. I don't usually read fiction, but these books really kept me in my chair. They have so many different personalities to follow, each with their own problems and solutions. The first book did not end how I wanted it to, so I had to read the second book to see where everyone went from there. Kate Jacobs has become one of my favorite authors (second only to Bill Bryson and Taylor Caldwell)


From the Corner of His Eye
From the Corner of His Eye
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 497
Review Date: 7/28/2006


This is the story of a boy who loses his sight, and then mysteriously regains it. It is the story of couragous band of seekers and a relentless killer...........


Great Cases of Scotland Yard - Volume One
Great Cases of Scotland Yard - Volume One
Author: The Reader's Digest Assoc
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/28/2006


Volune One of Scotland Yard's most interesting crimes. Very interesting reading


1 to 20 of 77 - Page: