Erinyes - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 280 - Page:
Abhorsen (Abhorsen, Bk 3)
Abhorsen (Abhorsen, Bk 3)
Author: Garth Nix
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 6/6/2006


I picked this up at 5 pm and was still reading it 10 hours later. Great start to a great trilogy


Acts of Contrition
Acts of Contrition
Author: John Cooney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/2/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book. It was a wonderfully layered book regarding the Catholic church. I loved the characters and enjoyed peeling back the layers of mystery to the truth. I have read this book until it fell apart and I had to buy a new one!


Agent 146: The True Story of a Nazi Spy in America
Agent 146: The True Story of a Nazi Spy in America
Author: Erich Gimpel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book to be curiously anticlimatic. I am not sure what I expected from a real spy novel, but this surely wasn't it. It was gripping in its own way. I'd recommend to anyone who's interested in spies or what the germans were doing during the last days of WWII.


All Souls : A Family Story from Southie
All Souls : A Family Story from Southie
Author: Michael Patrick MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 10/28/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Incredible. It was less like he was recounting his family's history and more like he was looking under the rocks of his past. The family history is somehow both tragic and triumphant. Despite all of the perils in place, they manage to love each other desperately. They still can laugh and hug and hope. Well worth the read. I highly recommend it.


The Alleluia Files (Samaria, Bk 3)
The Alleluia Files (Samaria, Bk 3)
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 9/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I think the people who say "I already knew the big spoiler when I read this so it seemed pointless or whatever" are very much missing the point.

I figured out the big "spoiler" in the first book. It's not much of a spoiler. Knowing what you know doesn't stop the enjoyment. It's knowing what you do and then watching these people get there. How they deal with things. How they learn and deal with each other.

This is a deftly written series of books. The trilogy is perfectly arced story wise. And it's fun. It's fun to read. Everytime I pick up a Sharon Shinn book I think "I am not going to like this. It doesn't seem like my kind of book" But she never fails to make me carry the book every with me and read avidly.

This is a great series. If you are thinking of read it, do it. You won't be sorry. And ignore the naysayers. The spoiler is just part of the plot and the journey is great stuff.


Always Have, Always Will (Queer as Folk)
Always Have, Always Will (Queer as Folk)
Author: Quinn Brockton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/31/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book was my favorite of the QAF books. As far as I can tell, it goes right up to the beginning of the television series. Yes, it does have the odd error here and there. But the characters are familar as your oldest friends. The story is good. I especially loved the part with Brian. I really thought it was interesting to see behind the ennui that Brian always had. A good fun read.


American Gods
American Gods
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 962
Review Date: 11/29/2006


I found this book to be incredibly compelling. Seriously good yarn.


American History in 100 Nutshells
American History in 100 Nutshells
Author: Thaddeus F. Tuleja
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/6/2007


Interesting


An Underachiever's Diary
An Underachiever's Diary
Author: Benjamin Anastas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


If you've ever been told that you *must* pass a test and thought, "Really, why?" or

If you've ever been told that you have to work harder or else you wouldn't be in line for a promotion and you thought, "I kind of like it where I am now." or

If you look back on the 80s and see the endless greed for more, more more, and think, "Ugh." or

something else like that...

This is the book for you.

To what depths can one very determined person underachieve? This book attempts to find the answer.

Five stars, great book. An achievement indeed.


Antigone (Dover Thrift Editions)
Antigone (Dover Thrift Editions)
Author: Sophocles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 3/9/2007


Unbelievably good.


The Antipope (Brentford, Bk 1)
The Antipope (Brentford, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Rankin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/28/2006


I couldn't get through it. :(


Aphrodite's Kiss (Aphrodite, Bk 1)
Aphrodite's Kiss (Aphrodite, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Kenner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 6/7/2006


What a great premise for a book. I did very much enjoy it.


Archangel (Samaria, Bk 1)
Archangel (Samaria, Bk 1)
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 9/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I continue to be surprised by the power of Sharon Shinn's words and stories. When I picked up this book I was dubious at best about it. It just didn't seem like a book for me. I tend to go for the more jaded of heroines or heroes. I like the cynical storyline.

Ms. Shinn is going to make me reconsider my taste in books I think. I carried this book around with me all over the house hoping to snatch reading as much as possible whenever possible. She writes such great characters that I was powerfully motivated to stay with the story and find out what was going to happen next.

If you are on the fence and wondering if you should try this book then you absolutely should. I can't even say why it is such a great book, it just is.


The Autobiography of an Ex-Coloured Man
The Autobiography of an Ex-Coloured Man
Author: James Weldon Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/9/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I was quite surprised by this book. It was a very interesting glance into the early 1900s. I found myself feeling bad for the man. Between two diametrically opposing worlds. Extremely interesting slice of life.


The Barefoot Princess (Lost Princesses, Bk 2)
The Barefoot Princess (Lost Princesses, Bk 2)
Author: Christina Dodd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 2/28/2007


Very engrossing and fun. A light read.


Barry Trotter and the Unauthorized Parody
Barry Trotter and the Unauthorized Parody
Author: Michael Gerber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/24/2006


If you've read the originals, you'll get the jokes. I wasn't all that entertained though.


Beauty : A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast (Folktales)
Review Date: 12/16/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I would say, if asked, that I am a fairly jaded person. I always flip the shiny quarter over looking for the tarnished side. I wouldn't say this is a character flaw. I would say it's just the person I am.

It has the quality of making it hard for me to watch some movies or read some books. It's excrutiating for me to see some of the stuff that gets put out there. And it seemed to me that I would never ever make it through a retelling of the Beauty legend. I got the book because i've read some of Robin McKinley's other work and loved it. I thought I would try.

After three false starts I finally really *read* it. And I have to confess even knowing the ending and all. I had some tears.

This is a wonderfully retold story of love and loss and beauty. I was engaged from the very beginning. It was a fast read but that was part of it's charm.

If you are just thinking about getting this book and not sure. I'd say: Take the chance.

I found it was way worth it.


Beauty's Release (Erotic Adventures of Sleeping Beauty, Bk 3)
Beauty's Release (Erotic Adventures of Sleeping Beauty, Bk 3)
Author: A. N. Roquelaure
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 4/4/2006


Set in a fantasy type of story, this is adult erotic fiction. This series of books is highly recommended for people who enjoy erotic tales.


Belinda
Belinda
Author: Anne Rice, Anne Rampling
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 4/4/2006


This book is disturbing and should only be read by adults. If you are into erotic fiction, give this one a try.


Beneath the Bleeding
Beneath the Bleeding
Author: Val McDermid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/12/2008


I really love this series and I really love these characters. Some series over time I think the characters become boring and trite. It's a hard trap to avoid. Val McDermid does it beautifully. I was as absorbed in what was going on in this book as the first one.

The mysteries kept me guessing until the end. And the interplay between Tony and Carol is quite good. I love that they are still unfolding in the books. Great stuff.


1 to 20 of 280 - Page: