Nancy G. (ComfyReader) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 331 - Page:
311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove, Bk 3)
311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 477
Review Date: 3/15/2008
Helpful Score: 3


"Lack of Communication. That is the running theme in this 3rd installment of the Cedar Cove series. Rosie and Zack are the main characters this time. They have decided to divorce and the ordeal is quickly coming to a head with their children. Maryellen and Jon have decided what is in the best interest of their new born daughter; and Olivia and Jack have finally come to an agreement.
More is revealed in the mysterious death at the Beldon's bed and breakfast with the divulging of an incident that Bob witnessed during his Vietnam years. Will this lead to the identification of the mysterious stranger? Are others still in danger? What is the full story?

I enjoy this series, revisiting storylines and characters, just wish I hadn't waited so long in between books, forgot who a couple of people were, but Macomber is good at refreshing your memory.


50 Ways to Hex Your Lover (Jazz Tremaine, Bk 1)
50 Ways to Hex Your Lover (Jazz Tremaine, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Wisdom
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 11/28/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Jasmine Tremaine, better known as Jazz to her friends, has been banished to the use of basic witch skills for the last 400 years because of stupid rules and her inability to control her temper. So she is stuck making a semi normal living eliminating curses and limo driving for some of the less desirable ghouls that are part of her world.

Life wouldnt be so bad if it wasnt for Nikolai, the rather hot vampire cop that should know better then to anger Jazz, but they just cant keep away from each other, even though everyone knows that witches and vampires dont mix.

Yet, after 40 years of being apart, Nick needs her help in solving a case of missing vampires and Jazz must face a horrible time in her past to help him that will either rip Jazz and Nick apart for ever or leave them to battle each other yet another day.

Very funny book with adorable characters like Norma, a ghost who cant leave Jazzs beloved car, and Fluff and Puff, real Bunny Slippers that seem to enjoy ripping into and eating anything within their reach but are afraid of heights.

If you can handle graphic and humor give this book a try.


7th Heaven (Women's Murder Club, Bk 7) (Large Print)
7th Heaven (Women's Murder Club, Bk 7) (Large Print)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This one just didn't capture me like the last.

Lindsay Boxer is battling two cases. Who is killing the wealthy families of San Francisco, not just killing, but binding them up and setting fire to their homes and what happened to Michael Campion, the son of the ex-governor. Everyone knew that he had a heart condition, but when he was last seen walking into the home of a prostitute, the rumors start flying; and with no body, Yuki has quite the uphill battle in prosecuting the very innocent looking prostitute he was seen with. In addition to a battle for her own life.

Lindsay needs the full support of her Women's Murder Club to sort out all the details of these two case, but when she decides to take a little time for herself, well, tragedy hits a little too close to home.


The 8th Confession (Women's Murder Club, Bk 8)
The 8th Confession (Women's Murder Club, Bk 8)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/18/2009
Helpful Score: 2


All was going well with this book until Patterson decided to take a sudden left turn that really had nothing to do with the storyline or progression of this book. Sometimes I just don't understand what this author is thinking.

A couple of murders in San Francisco has Lindsey Boxer on the run. What does the curious deaths of a glamorous couple and a homeless man have in common. None of the usual clues seem to add up, that is until a quite by chance discovery leads the investigators to a rather unique murder weapon. But to fully understand why these people were targeted leads to quite a few twists and turns.

The storyline is leading the reader down a very interesting and fast paced path, when out of the blue Patterson throw you a sharp left turn about Suki's new love interest. This part had nothing to do with the storyline and I'm still quite confused as to why it was suddenly thrown in there. What was the point that Patterson was trying to make? I'm still confused over that.

This is one of those series that draws you in and from time to time and even though something will hit you wrong, you keep plowing through. Each character has their own story, each book reveals a little more. I like how Patterson is starting to reveal a little bit more about each character, each person is starting to show a little bit more of themselves and that is what keeps me reading the Women's Murder Club.


Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 543
Review Date: 12/8/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Great book, I highly recommend this series.


The Accidental Mother
The Accidental Mother
Author: Rowan Coleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 11/14/2007
Helpful Score: 9


I'm not a fan of Oprah-esque finding your true self kind of books so this one took me off guard when I actually enjoyed it. Sophie is a 20 something year old woman with the job and apartment of her dream, when she finds that her once best friend Carrie has died and her pact to care for Carrie's two young daughters is now a reality. This just isn't part of Sophie's well ordered life so the first thing to do is find the father of these two lovable terrors. In walks the quite handsome Louis who Carrie once described as ""making her pants fizzyâ and the unequipped sudden mother now must put this family back together, but which pieces go where and which pieces need to be chucked. This funny heartbreaking book makes you laugh and cry and in the end you are cheering on an ending that in a way I didn't see coming. I would have chucked the wrong pieces. I highly recommend this book to those that love a fairy tale.
Favorite Quote: It's not wrong for your dreams to change, it's just wrong if you don't pursue them with every ounce of energy and determination that's got you this far.
Amazon Review: Taking Risks is What Life is All About
http://tinyurl.com/385ucn


Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Agatha Raisin, Bk 5)
Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Agatha Raisin, Bk 5)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 10/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Just as Agatha and James are about to say their I Do's in wanders the allusive Jimmy Raisin. Yes, that Jimmy Raisin, Agatha's first husband whom she had thought was long dead.

So with the wedding off and Agatha spitting nails, Jimmy is found dead in a ditch and since it appears no one else knew Jimmy, it had to be Agatha who killed him. But wait, not so fast , there are others in this tiny village that have secrets and Jimmy being there just might throw a wrench into their plans.

This is a very good series, humorous and with an interesting cast of characters that follow Agatha from book to book.


Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener (Agatha Raisin, Bk 3)
Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener (Agatha Raisin, Bk 3)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 7/19/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Somehow I had gotten these books out of order and had to go back and read this one. For some reason I had confused it with a Nancy Atherton book; well, at least that is who I think it was.

After taking a break from Carsely and James Lacey, Agatha returns from her cruise with a few extra pounds and finds that she now has competition for James affection and its none other then a tall, beautiful, well put together woman by the name of Mary Fortune.

When Agatha finds that Mary has taken the gardening club by storm she sets out to beat her at her own game. Since Agatha is not against cheating to win at all costs, remember the cake incident in the first book, she sets out to win both James and the gardening award.

When mysterious incidents start happening around Carsely and a curious murder occurs, its up to Agatha, with the help of the wayward James, to solve the crimes and to find out how much Carsely really loves and appreciates Agatha.


Agatha Raisin and the Terrible Tourist (Agatha Raisin, Bk 6)
Agatha Raisin and the Terrible Tourist (Agatha Raisin, Bk 6)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 4/15/2010


With Jimmy Raisin now dead and James Lacey hightailing it away from their wedding, Agatha is aghast that James would leave for their intended honeymoon destination without her. It was just a misunderstanding that she really was not a widow, but Agatha knows she can make amends if James would just give her a chance. Therefore, off to Cyprus and God willing she will get her man, but first she has to find him.

Agatha finally meets up with a very cold and brusque James and they are quickly drawn into a group of Europeans that somehow involve Agatha in yet another mystery. With the help of an old friend Sir Charles Fraith, one that Agatha really should avoid but yet makes for a very interesting twist to anger James, Agatha continues her investigation into not one but now two murder mysteries, which at times has Agatha in danger of losing her own life.

Though not a very imaginative book, the Agatha saga has me following story after story just to see what lie Agatha will tell next and how she will get herself of out her next sticky situation.

The one endearing part of this book is a very interesting conversation between Agatha and James when he explains his conflict with her and for the first time I see James really opening up. Now if only Agatha could see it that way and stop throwing Charles in his face.


Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, Bk 2)
Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, Bk 2)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 2/3/2008
Helpful Score: 2


#2 in the series. I love Agatha Raisin. This is a no holds barred woman that says what she thinks and lets the pieces fall where they may. Once again Agatha has found a murder where no one else sees one. She is still after James Lacey and Bill Wong is still a step behind. The new Carsley vet is found dead in a stable, but there seems to be too many women that wanted to see him gone so where do you begin. It is up to Agatha and her cats to save the day. **Amazon Review


Agatha Raisin and the Walkers of Dembley (Agatha Raisin, Bk 4)
Agatha Raisin and the Walkers of Dembley (Agatha Raisin, Bk 4)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 3/7/2009
Helpful Score: 2


The further this series goes, the more I enjoy it.

Agatha Raisin has spent the last six months back in London and away from her beloved Cotswold village. No sooner is she home but there is a murder for her to solve. Ever eager to be of any help when there is a mysterious death involved, Agatha and her nosey pushy ways jump right on in.

Posing as husband and wife with her hottie neighbor James Lacey, Agatha sets out to find the murderer of Jessica Tartinck, a local hiker who has angered local landowners by insisting that her walking club has the right to cross through their fields.

Agatha gets to live out a secret wish that might not just be wishful thinking after all. These are quite endearing little books that keep the cozy genre quite cozy. Bundle up and enjoy.

Nancy


Al Capone Does My Shirts (Newbery Honor Book)
Al Capone Does My Shirts (Newbery Honor Book)
Author: Gennifer Choldenko
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 2/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


"If you love someone, you have to try things even if they don't make sense to anyone else" Moose Flanagan and his family arrive on Alcatraz Island in 1935 so his father Cam can work as an electrician and guard at the prison and his sister Natalie can have a chance to attend a "special" school for children with Autism. At the time it's not called Autism, but that is what the reader of today is lead to believe. Moose is caught in the middle of Piper the wardens daughters' schemes and her mad drive to meet Al Capone and his mothers desperate need to get Natalie into the only school that can help her. Moose is the only one that can really reach Natalie and the decisions and realities that the family has to face can just be too much for a 12 year old boy. Maybe Al Capone is his only option.


All-Star Sampler
All-Star Sampler
Author: Roxanne Carter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/28/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Makes a beautiful quilt with a center medallion


Anne Orr's Charted Designs (Dover Needlework)
Review Date: 8/28/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Cross Stitch Designs that can also be incorporated into Postage Stamp type quilts.


Anything Goes (Grace and Favor, Bk 1)
Anything Goes (Grace and Favor, Bk 1)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 2/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Great start to a new series. Lily and her brother Robert inherit a home from a little known uncle during the depression. The conditions of the home ownership are a bit murky, but the town has a few secrets revealed when a man is found murdered in their kitchen.


Ashes to Ashes (Kovac/Liska, Bk 1)
Ashes to Ashes (Kovac/Liska, Bk 1)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 11/20/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Enough already with the metaphors, similes and idioms. I get it. In this laborious story, Kate Conlon, a former FBI agent and currently a child advocate is brought in to help a young witness identify a man, the Cremator, whom she saw in a park late at night setting a body on fire. As this very long story goes, it gets quite twisted as to who are the good guys, who are the bad guys and which characters are brought in to confuse the story even more. When the third victim of the Cremator is identified as the damaged daughter of a billionaire the big guns are called in, in the form of Special Agent John Quinn, who just happened to be the ex-lover of Kate. One more twist. And of course, now Kates life is in danger. The only thing that kept me reading was that I couldn't figure out who the Cremator was; too many major and minor characters were thrown at you in hopes that something would stick and lead you down the wrong path and yet again you would be bouncing back and forth with possibilities.I dont think I will be reading this author again since about one-third of this book could have been removed and the story would have flowed much better and as an experienced author, for me, she just couldnt keep up the momentum


At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 679
Review Date: 8/2/2005


First in the Series. Father Tim, a cherished small-town rector, is the steadfast soldier in this beloved slice of life story set in an American village where the grass is still green, the pickets are still white, and the air still smells sweet.


Aunt Dimity and the Deep Blue Sea (Aunt Dimity, Bk 11)
Aunt Dimity and the Deep Blue Sea (Aunt Dimity, Bk 11)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 12/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I can not get enough of this series. I adore the characters, I adore the settings and I adore the fallibility and the deep caring that binds Lori Shepherd to her friends and family.

Loris rather calm life is suddenly turned upside down when death threats hit home and her and the lives of her twin 5 year old sons are threatened. Bill calls in a trusted family friend, Sir Percy Pelham and his gigantic helicopter to whiz them away while Bill stays home going through old files to see who is holding a grudge.

But life cant be that simple for Lori, after arriving at Percys castle on an island off of Scotland, she begins to notice things that just do not make sense. Like why do simple sheep ranchers need satellite dishes and gourmet food in the market? What are these villagers up to and can Lori figure it out, before jumping to too many conclusions, before the true danger arrives.

Peter a character from previous books makes reappearance and its nice to see what he has been up to. I highly recommend this series - its a great breakaway from the heavier stuff in our TBRs.


Aunt Dimity and the Next of Kin (Aunt Dimity, Bk 10)
Aunt Dimity and the Next of Kin (Aunt Dimity, Bk 10)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 3/15/2008
Helpful Score: 3


"Needing a break from heavier books, I always return to Aunt Dimity for a bit of R&R.

During Lori's volunteer work at Radcliffe Infirmary, she is saddened to learn that Elizabeth Beacham, a legal secretary, has had no visitors during her stay. Well, that just can't be, so Lori packs off with her book cart and approaches Elizabeth with books and conversation. Soon a kindred friendship develops, but it ends way too soon.

Finding out that Elizabeth did have a relative, one who could have visited, she sets off to find this wayward brother and of course this is where the mystery begins. Being left with a letter and two keys, Lori finds out about Lizzie's life; and of course it wasn't what it appeared to be. Elizabeth was a much more extraordinary woman than even Lori could have imagined and because of Lori's kindness, the loved ones in Lori's life will benefit from a woman that they didn't even know.

I enjoyed this book, may of the previous characters are mentioned and their storylines are moved forward. I had been disappointed in the previous book (Aunt Dimity Snowbound) but this one has made up for that. Amazon Review: http://tinyurl.com/yofpyh

"


Aunt Dimity and the Next of Kin (Aunt Dimity, Bk 10)
Aunt Dimity and the Next of Kin (Aunt Dimity, Bk 10)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 3/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


"Needing a break from heavier books, I always return to Aunt Dimity for a bit of R&R.

During Lori's volunteer work at Radcliffe Infirmary, she is saddened to learn that Elizabeth Beacham, a legal secretary, has had no visitors during her stay. Well, that just can't be, so Lori packs off with her book cart and approaches Elizabeth with books and conversation. Soon a kindred friendship develops, but it ends way too soon.

Finding out that Elizabeth did have a relative, one who could have visited, she sets off to find this wayward brother and of course this is where the mystery begins. Being left with a letter and two keys, Lori finds out about Lizzie's life; and of course it wasn't what it appeared to be. Elizabeth was a much more extraordinary woman than even Lori could have imagined and because of Lori's kindness, the loved ones in Lori's life will benefit from a woman that they didn't even know.

I enjoyed this book, may of the previous characters are mentioned and their storylines are moved forward. I had been disappointed in the previous book (Aunt Dimity Snowbound) but this one has made up for that. Amazon Review: http://tinyurl.com/yofpyh


1 to 20 of 331 - Page: