Anna S. (Bustercaesarmom) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 69 - Page:
1 Dead in Attic: After Katrina
1 Dead in Attic: After Katrina
Author: Chris Rose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 3/6/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This was not an easy book to read, but returning to New Orleans after Katrina was not an easy experience for Chris Rose, or for anyone else. This is a compilation of columns that Chris Rose published in the Times-Picayune for a year and a half after Katrina's landfall. They are fascinating and heart-wrenching.


The Accidental Pope
The Accidental Pope
Author: Raymond Flynn, Robin Moore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is an interesting look at what life might be like when an "ordinary" American man is elected Pope. The personal relationships developed in the book are very interesting, but the long sections on international politics were not interesting to me. The material also feels dated, referencing the "new millenium" of 2001 several times.


Amazing Grace
Amazing Grace
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 12/6/2007
Helpful Score: 3


THIS is why we love Danielle Steel! She's broken free of the boring "template" that she's used on so many recent books and written a great story, with many interesting characters. Strong women, real problems, and interesting circumstances.


The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 429
Review Date: 2/21/2008


Although Grisham has returned to his popular courtroom setting, it doesn't feel like the magic is back with this book. The cast of characters is so large that it's hard to relate with any one, and easy to get them confused with one another.

In the author's notes at the end of the book, Grisham admits that he was making a political point with this novel. Frankly, in an election year, another dose of politics is the last thing that I'm looking for.


The Bad Mother's Handbook : A Novel
The Bad Mother's Handbook : A Novel
Author: Kate Long
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/12/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is a little bit more difficult to read than it has to be, because it is written from three different perspectives, without the perspectives being labeled. I would have enjoyed it more if I didn't have to keep flipping around, trying to figure out whose point of view I was reading now.


The Book of Ruth
The Book of Ruth
Author: Jane Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 3/11/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Throughout this book, the narrator hints at a big event. She teases it, dances around it, and keeps us wondering. But personally, I found the "event" unsurprising, over-written, and frankly, disappointing. If you like a straightforward read, skip over "The Book of Ruth."


The Broker
The Broker
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/20/2007


This is one of John Grisham's best stories, and true to the form of his early successes. If you enjoyed "The Pelican Brief," "The Firm," or "A Time to Kill," you will find this book hard to put down!


Bungalow 2
Bungalow 2
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 7/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A bit of a disappointment. Like many of her newer books, this book seems to rely on old plotlines with new characters, rather than entirely new ideas. I felt like the ending was very rushed.


Certain Girls (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 2)
Certain Girls (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 2)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 365
Review Date: 4/19/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I enjoyed this book a lot, but to me, it felt a little bit forced, and wasn't as enjoyable as "Good In Bed." Weiner does a good job of illustrating the difficulties that teenage girls and their mothers encounter, but I felt like Cannie's feelings weren't explored as fully as they might have been. It was a good book, but it pales when compared with "Good In Bed."


Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1430
Review Date: 11/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


We all know Cinderella's side of the story, but what about her stepsisters? Living with a beautiful, wealthy girl isn't easy, and some details may have been "accidentally omitted" in the original telling of the story. This book provides "another perspective" to the classic tale. It is a much easier read than "Wicked" (also by Maguire), in my opinion.


The Deep End of the Ocean
The Deep End of the Ocean
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 271
Review Date: 11/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Oprah's first Book Club selection. The book was a good read when I was in college, but now, as a mother, the plot (which revolves around a missing child) gives me bad dreams. The writing is excellent, however.


The Devil in the Junior League
The Devil in the Junior League
Author: Linda Francis Lee
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 1/9/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Frede Ware learned the "Four Nevers" and the "Three Don'ts" at Little Miss Debutante, and has been using them to live a successful, classy, discreet life. Unfortunately, Little Miss Debutante didn't offer Frede any rules for dealing with life after her cheating husband has left, taking all of HER money with him.

Fortunately, Frede has brains and social connections, and leverages them both to regain her money, her social standing, and her happiness.

A great read; especially delightful if you know a true southern lady. Have your maid bring you a glass of sweet tea and settle in to enjoy!


Diana: The Last Year
Diana: The Last Year
Author: Donald Spoto
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/9/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I didn't find a lot of new information in this book. I enjoyed Andrew Morton's book "Diana" much more. If you only have time to read one book about Princess Diana, I would recommend choosing one besides this one.


The Dirty Girls Social Club
The Dirty Girls Social Club
Author: Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 6/7/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This book was hard to read since I don't speak any Spanish. The plot was good, but I think that a lot of subtleties were lost on me...


Dirty Little Secrets from Otherwise Perfect Moms
Dirty Little Secrets from Otherwise Perfect Moms
Author: Trisha Ashworth, Amy Nobile
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/20/2008
Helpful Score: 5


A very (VERY) quick read. It's similar to the PostSecret books, but without the great artwork, and all of the secrets are mom-centered. Personally, I wish I'd saved my credits for something else and just read truemomconfessions.com or the PostSecret blog.


Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood
Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood
Author: Rebecca Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/9/2008


Love it, love it, love it! Vivi Walker and her friends did the sorts of things that "nice girls" only dream of doing. So much clean fun!


Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
Author: Eric Schlosser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 595
Review Date: 11/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


"Fast Food Nation" is not for the faint of heart or weak of stomach. Although the sections on the history of fast food and its more successful chains are interesting, the book as a whole is more of a textbook than an entertaining read.


The Full Cupboard of Life (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Bk 5)  (Large Print)
Review Date: 1/9/2008


As with the other books in the "No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency" series, this book isn't as good as the original. The descriptions of Africa are still wonderful, and the bits of local flavor injected through language choices and food are nice, but the plot is a little bit thin. There's only one "case" being investigated by the agency, and it is only lightly explored. If you want a mystery, this isn't your book. But, if you want to sip a cup of bush and tea and spend a few hours hanging out with Mme. Ramotswe, this book is a pleasant way to spend an afternoon.


Gates of Paradise (Casteel, Bk 4)
Gates of Paradise (Casteel, Bk 4)
Author: V. C. Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 1/9/2008


The Casteel family tragedies continue. Annie seems like a more sympathetic character than Heaven, to me. She is an innocent girl in a tragic situation. Somehow she escapes the recent V.C. Andrews "formula," to feel like a real person.


God's Brothel
God's Brothel
Author: Andrea Moore-Emmett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 11/20/2007
Helpful Score: 6


The first section of the book provides an overview of polygamy, with emphasis on outlining the major polygamist groups in the Americas. I found this section to be very dry, and difficult to read. The majority of the book is comprised of brief histories of different women's experiences in polygamy. These stories are interesting, but lack the details and length necessary to be compelling reading.

This book reminds me of a textbook, rather than memoirs. I did not enjoy it as much as "Shattered Dreams," by Irene Spencer.


1 to 20 of 69 - Page: