Monty F. - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
A Beautiful Mind: The Life of Mathematical Genius and Nobel Laureate John Nash
Review Date: 1/14/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Reading this award-winning biography was a can't-put-it-down experience for me, and I generally don't like biographies. A very interesting portrait of a brilliant, complex person. It's much better than the movie.


A Bridge to Inspired Declarer Play
A Bridge to Inspired Declarer Play
Author: Julian Laderman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/1/2013


This is a very good bridge book. This author's first book won the "Book of the Year" award from the American Bridge Teachers Association, and I can see why. The hands are carefully constructed to explain the point in question, and the presentation and analysis are refreshingly instructive. I was shocked at how helpful this book is, because, frankly, I had never heard of the author. (I own a lot of bridge books, and follow the national bridge scene at least somewhat.) I recommend it to players of any level.


the culture of disbelief
the culture of disbelief
Author: stephen l. carter
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/19/2007


The subtitle is "How American Law and Politics Trivialize Religious Devotion." That pretty much says it all. Carter, and African-American, also wrote "Reflections of an Affirmative Action Baby," and is (or was) a law professor at Yale University.


Five Weeks to Winning Bridge
Five Weeks to Winning Bridge
Author: Alfred Sheinwold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The best-selling bridge book of all time. For good reason. The small-book format is irritating, but stick with it. It's worth it.


Galileo's Daughter : A Historical Memoir of Science, Faith, and Love
Galileo's Daughter : A Historical Memoir of Science, Faith, and Love
Author: Dava Sobel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 9/25/2005
Helpful Score: 1


This is really a biograpy of Galileo; the 'daughter' part is something of an artifice to give it a more human touch. That said, I think it's a pretty good biography. Galileo has always been one of my heroes, and this book did not disappoint.


Junk Politics: The Trashing of the American Mind
Review Date: 9/25/2005


This is one of those books of collected essays that is a bit uneven. Some really hit home; others seem a bit of a stretch. One thing can be said for the author: he doesn't mince words. You will never have to guess his thoughts on a subject!


The Language Instinct : How the Mind Creates Language (Perennial Classics)
Review Date: 1/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


If you have ever wondered about language--how it is learned, how the brain "makes" it, how it is universal, how it changes--this is your book. This award-winning bestseller is absolutely comprehensive. I found it a bit daunting at first--448 pages plus notes, glossary, etc. But I had to read it for my book group, and I'm really glad I did. Erudite but accessible. I recommend it highly.


The Poet (Jack McEvoy, Bk 1)
The Poet (Jack McEvoy, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 440
Review Date: 9/25/2005


I love Connelly; I've read all of his books. So of course I liked this one. Fair warning, though: the baddie in this book is just about the most evil person I've encountered in literature. (N.B.: when done with this one, read Connelly's "The Narrows.")


The Rule Of Four
The Rule Of Four
Author: Ian Caldwell, Dustin Thomason
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 507
Review Date: 6/29/2006


I couldn't put this book down. Engaging plot, with a lot of interesting factual and historical detail. It'll make a much better movie than "The Da Vinci Code" did!


Ship of Gold in the Deep Blue Sea
Ship of Gold in the Deep Blue Sea
Author: Gary Kinder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 9/25/2005
Helpful Score: 2


I was at a loss when my book club selected this book, but after I started reading it I couldn't put it down. One of those "truth is more amazing than fiction" things. A truly incredible story, well told... like a good suspense novel, but true.


1 to 10 of 10