Michelle R. (atammcreation) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
Amethyst (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 4)
Amethyst (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 4)
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 8/31/2007


The fourth book in the Dakotah Treasures series winds up the stories of Ruby, Opal and Pearl while introducing Amethyst to readers.
The tale that Lauraine Snelling is able to weave with this series is magical and heartwarming.


Amethyst (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 4) (Large Print)
Amethyst (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 4) (Large Print)
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/10/2007


This is the fourth book in the Dakota Treasures Series.
As with all Lauraine's books, it is a wonderfully heart-warming while at times tear-jerking novel. This book closes the chapters in the lives of Ruby, Opal and Pearl as well as introduces us to Amethyst and brings her into that of the three before her.


Another Stab at Life (Volstead Manor, Bk 1)
Another Stab at Life (Volstead Manor, Bk 1)
Author: Anita Higman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/21/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Another Stab at Life by Anita Higman
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Not really sure what to think about this book. I picked it up because it was cheap and sounded interesting, bu once I started reading it, I had to finish it just to try to figure out what was going on.

It starts with Bailey inheriting an old manor house from her Grandmother called Volstead Manor. From the start the book was hard to follow, she seemed to slip into her mind and her dreams or fears and out of reality so easy it was hard to follow if what I was reading was really happening or not. Then to top it off, there was alot of faith through in that I wasn't expecting and maybe that was my fault, but I didn't realize it was a Christin Fiction when I grabbed it, and yet the way the faith was through in was a little off kilter and struck me as forced and not real.

As I added this book to my list, I see that it is subtitled as a Volstead Manor Mystery or as book one, and I can not see myself ever reading a second book in this series. I am surprised that there is suppose to be a second book.

I just felt it wasn't written well, and that I was struggling to follow along and figure out if she was paranoid or if it was real life, and it was just not fun. I didn't enjoy it and in fact I closed the book and looked at it like, did I really just read that? Oh well, a lesson learned.

View all my reviews



At Wick's End (Candlemaking, Bk 1)
At Wick's End (Candlemaking, Bk 1)
Author: Tim Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 11/13/2011


At Wicks End by Tim Myers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Candlemaking, I've only briefly tried my hand at the simple poured candles, but a cozy mystery set in a candle shop, well that is right up my alley.

The book starts with a phone call, telling Harrison that his great0aunt has passed away and that he has inherited her candlemaking shop, along with the whole building that houses the shop, including some other craft type stores and an apartment upstairs.

The more Harrison gets to know the people and how things work, he is not so sure that his aunts death was actually an accident. Of course no one wants to believe that so it is up to Harrison to figure out what really happened. All the while learning the candle making craft and how to be a shop owner and a landlord.

This was a short book, quick read and the characters were fairly well written, enough so that i wanted to read the next book. I am still finding a few of the characters hard to read and understand, they are being revealed slowly, but i am interested enough to keep reading.

View all my reviews



Barely a Lady (Drake's Rakes, Bk 1)
Barely a Lady (Drake's Rakes, Bk 1)
Author: Eileen Dreyer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 1/26/2012


Barely a Lady by Eileen Dreyer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Historical books have always been a favorite of mine, but lately I have gotten away from reading them, taking more to the cozy mystery side. So when I got a chance to read this book and to get back into a historical vein, I was psyched.

I actually really loved this book. I loved the storyline, the way things move and evolve. I was completely in the dark, along with Olivia, as to what Jack had been up to for the past five years, and I loved that his amensia allowed him to grow and learn what it was to be a real man, a real husband, to have faith in a person and to truley love a person.

So I sorta gave you the storyline. Olivia and Jack, they were married but that was five years ago, and now, when she finds him on the battlefield, he is wearing the enemy uniform and has no memory. He doesn't remember than he not only divorced Olivia, but he turned her out into the street in a dramatic display. Olivia is no wilting violet, she dug in and learned to provide for herself and still keep a matter of pride and respect about her.

The book storyline then revolves around helping Jack to remember what he had been up to, and why someone might be searching for him, especially someone with some not so nice plans for his person, and that are willing to involve his wife in their plans weather she knows anything or not.

It is a really great book, and a teaser of book two in the back has me searching my resources for that second book. I can't wait to follow up on some of the other characters in the book, as well as Jack and Olivia.

View all my reviews



Blood Trinity (Belador, Bk 1)
Blood Trinity (Belador, Bk 1)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon, Dianna Love
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 10/9/2013


I picked this book up on a trading website on a whim. It just looked good, nothing more than that, wasn't sure about it, and it has sat in my to read pile for almost a year because I have had other things that I was interested in or that about to read. Yesterday, I needed a read, nothing in the house and I looked at this book and I thought why not. Oh am I glad I picked it up!

First off, this is a paranormal, alternative life, society book in that the world is here but there are paranormal, or others living in it protecting the humans without them knowing about them. I know, the standard, true, but this is written in a different way, something that just made sense in a way and pulled you in and made you want to uncover that world and figure it out and be a part of it. I couldn't put the book down! Literally, it's 519 pages that I read in one day! It had that much pull!

Evalle (E-val) is the main character, she doesn't really fit the human world or the Belador world. The Belador's take care of the human world. Although Evalle fights for the Belador's and claims to be part of them, they don't trust her or claim her as part of them. She is only half Belador. We see small glimpses of her past, which help us to understand her trust issues, but there is so much of her past that we are still, even at the end of the book left wondering about. Her loyalty and true allegiances are seen.

A number of other characters enter this book that make it interesting and exciting and keep you guessing as to what is going to happen, who the good guys are and who the bad guys are and what is really going to happen.

The book ends on a cliffhanger of a note, which has me in a panic searching for the next book in the series to get my fix. This was such a good book and I felt for the characters and enjoyed the world in which they lived and this was written. I so want to go back.


A Blush With Death (Bath and Body, Bk 2)
A Blush With Death (Bath and Body, Bk 2)
Author: India Ink
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 5/10/2012


A Blush With Death by India Ink
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A Blush with Death is the second book in the Bath and Body Mystery series by India Ink. I read the first a long time ago, then found the second and third at a used book store the other day, so now I can move on.

Venus Envy is a bath and body shop in Gull Harbor, WA. Auntie owns the shop and employes her niece Persia Vanderbilt as her custom fragrance blender.
Persia has a sensitive sense of smell that allows her to pick up on subtle undertones in a fragrance. This works well in her Aunt's shop where she custom blends fragrances for her customers. but also for the line of body products, lotions, oils, bath salts and such that they sell at Venus Envy.

Things were going great until Bebe Wilcox moved to town and opened a competing shop. The problem with Bebe is that she doesn't want to play by the rules, she wants to be top dog right now, and the only way to do that is to run Venus Envy out of business, which she works hard at by spreading rumors about the products at Venus Envy, that the are inferior and shoty materials were used to make them, which is not true of the Venus Envy products, but is true of Bebe's products. Then the roses are sabotaged. Auntie and Persia grow their own roses, and in fact went to all the trouble to make sure that they were certified as organic, but the gardner finds pesticide residue on the roses, so he rushes samples to a friend at the University lab and he gets results back quickly and to Auntie and Persia, someone deliberately put a strong pesticide, and a large amount on the roses. In fact so much that all the roses will have to be dug out, and at least three feet of soil under them and all replace, but it will take two to three years before the roses are mature enough to harvest their petals for the Rose Water that is a hugh seller at Venus Envy!

There isn't enough proof to get police chief, Kyle to do anything, so Auntie and Persia take matters into their own hands by staging a public argument and Persia moving out for show, then getting a job at Bebe's to snoop!

This is just an awesome book. There are recipes in the book for a number of the oils that are talked about in the story. It's a well-written book and the characters are real and easy to relate to in some ways, and different than people you might know in your own life, but at the same time you can relate to them. I really enjoyed the book, and the concept of the upscale Bath and Body shop in a small town. It's a fun read.

View all my reviews



A Bone to Pick (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 2)
A Bone to Pick (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 2)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 366
Review Date: 4/4/2012


A Bone to Pick by Charlaine Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

So after finishing Book one of the Aurora Teagarden Mystery series, it wasn't bed time and so I started on book two!

A Bone to Pick is the second book in the Aurora Teagarden Mystery and in this we find Roe attending her mother's wedding to a former Real Murders Club member, then attending the wedding of her former boyfriend and Real Murders club member, Arthur Smith, only to be shocked by the very visibly pregnant bride, then the funeral of a friend and former Real Murders club member. To add to her bewilderment, she is contacted by the attorney only to find out that the friend left everything to her! Everything being a house, a sizable bank account and a mystery.

Roe decides that she must solve the mystery, it is what Jane would have wanted and she proceeds to work on that. All the while trying to decide if she wants to give up her comfortable, and rent free townhouse for the ownership of the little house on Honor Street, only to find out that the house across the street is the new home of Arthur and his wife! As Roe ponders and puzzles her way through another mystery, she answers questions and makes decisions for her life and her future.

Again, this is so well written that it draws you in, I could almost see myself walking around the little house on Honor Street, I could feel the eyes of the neighborhood, and feel for Roe. I was pulled into the story and into her life and I wanted it to keep going. I wanted to know more and to find out more about Roe, even after the mystery was solved. Guess that means I have to find book three!

View all my reviews



Bookmarked For Death (Booktown, Bk 2)
Bookmarked For Death (Booktown, Bk 2)
Author: Lorna Barrett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 237
Review Date: 4/10/2012


Bookmarked For Death by Lorna Barrett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Bookmarked for Death is the second book in the Booktown Mystery Series by Lorna Barrett. I loved the first book, and this second one did not disappoint me at all. I enjoyed reconnecting with Tricia and her sister, Angelica, coming back to Stoneham, or otherwise known as Booktown.

Tricia owns and runs a mystery bookstore called "Haven't got a Clue", while her sister owns and runs the bookstore next door called, "The Cookery". Although Tricia and Angelica haven't had the greatest of relationships, it is nice to read along and watch them discover new things about each other and bond and build a better relationship than what they had before.

The town of Stoneham, that was dying out, but revitalized when its focus on book sellers and tourist trade was shaped. It just sounds like a place I would love to visit! A town full of bookstores! I mean really, what could be more perfect for someone who likes to read?

Tricia talks a local author into a book signing at her store, but before the night is over finds the author dead in her bathroom. Of course, Sheriff Wendy Adams is still mad at Tricia, and has alot of problems looking past those issues into the murder, wanting to find Tricia guilty, even when he isn't so of course that just means that Tricia will be doing some investigating. What she turns up, shakes her and the town. The best selling books were not written by the author, but by another woman, with a mystery in her life.

I loved this book. I love the idea of Booktown and I enjoy going there in the books. I enjoyed meeting the townspeople, learning more about ones I already knew and growing the town. It has been a blast. I find the mystery and Tricia to be pretty believable as a person and that makes it easier to get into the story.

View all my reviews



Bookplate Special (Booktown, Bk 3)
Bookplate Special (Booktown, Bk 3)
Author: Lorna Barrett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 4/10/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Bookplate Special by Lorna Barrett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In the third book in the Booktown Mystery Series, Angelica has opened a diner in addition to her bookstore, the Cookery. Tricia's friend from college is in town, out-staying her welcome, and the local food panty is moving into a new home, only Tricia never knew the town even had a food pantry.

This was well-written, as Tricia realizes that she has no idea what is going on in her new town, that she spends so much time in the bookstore, she had no idea there was a food pantry, or anything, and she finds herself exploring this world of other people in order to find out what happened to her college roommate, who is found dead behind the diner.

Sheriff Wendy Adams is missing in this book, in fact she never appears to investigate the murder, she sends a new police officer, and finally Tricia feels that maybe the sheriff's department might be capable of handling this investigation on their own. But then again, she ends up getting drawn into the investigation, not out of fear that the new guy won't do his job, but just the past experiences won't let her relax and let it go, she has to figure it out.

This was another great book. I loved getting to know more about Stoneham and the people there and the history and events of the town. It was a lot of fun, I really enjoy these books!

View all my reviews



A Cancer Prevention Guide for the Human Race
A Cancer Prevention Guide for the Human Race
Author: Robert A. Wascher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/3/2012


A Cancer Prevention Guide for the Human Race by Robert A. Wascher
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I got a copy of this book through the Goodreads First-Reads program.

I entered to win a copy because it seemed like so many people in my life had recently been diagnosed with cancer, but at the same time I wasn't sure I was going to like it. I mean, it says lower your cancer risk by 60% on the front cover, and I thought oh this is probably some guy telling me the latest fad to prevent cancer, it's not going to be worth it.b So I put off reading it for a bit, but I can't stand having such a large pile of to-be-read books, and having so many of them that were First-Reads that i needed to read and review, so I picked it up and started reading.

The book was not what I thought it would be. it was not some kook telling me the latest fad to prevent cancer, it was actually someone who did what we all want. He found all the studies, both highly scientific, moderately scientific and even non-scientific, and he took all that information and complied it into useable information. He summarized the research, and told you that this is the gist of what the highly scientific research is showing and this is what the other research is showing, and based on all that, this is what I think would benefit you in your life to reduce your risks.

For each thing that he notes as possibly helping to reduce your risk of cancer, he provide research to back up his claim, and he even tells you that this item has been talked about, but there is no research to show it is effective, and he even tells you if the research has shown something to be non-effective or even harmful.

I was pleasantly surprised, and glad that I read the book. It was not a fad book, but a compilation of the research out there, including footnotes with the exact study information and where to find the study so that you can check it out yourself. It is written so the common man or woman can read and understand it, without a bunch of overused medical terms.

For anyone with a family history of cancer, this is a good book to read. I think it gives good information and it is spot-on and worth the time. it is also a quick read, well organized and helpful.

View all my reviews



A Cast-Off Coven (Witchcraft, Bk 2)
A Cast-Off Coven (Witchcraft, Bk 2)
Author: Juliet Blackwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 1/28/2012
Helpful Score: 2


A Cast-Off Coven by Juliet Blackwell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

If you have read any of my previous reviews, you might already have figured out that Juliet Blackwell is one of my favorite authors. Not only do I love her books, but I think she is a pretty cool person too, as I follow her on Facebook and hear about the new books as she is writing and they are published. It is alot of fun to be able to keep up with your favorite authors!

This is the Vintage clothing, witch series and this particular book happens to be the second in the series, with the book Secondhand Spirits being the first book.

I really enjoy Lily Ivory, the title character. She is a little afraid of people and making friendships, and her history is hinted at each time she explains that. Not much is told, that he father left when she was a toddler, her mother couldn't cope with a child that was a witch and so her "grandmother" rasied her and tried to teach her about her magik. Now weather Graciela is actually her grandmother by blood or not, I am still not sure about, she kinda hints that she might not be, but Graciela also raised her father before her, so she is counted as a relative. Little is really told about her past, although I am finding that with each book, we find just a hint or two more about her.

Lily has only been in San Fransico for a few months, and she was drawn into a child abduction and a murder in the first book withing weeks of being in town. Now it seems like the local Art College is having a problem with a ghost that is scaring the students, and since one of those students is Maya, who works for Lily, she gets involved in finding out what is going on. The day they decide to visit the school, they don't find any ghosts, but a murder and once again Lily is sucked in and the local police are none too happy.

Lily is still investigation a relationship with Max, and weather there is any chance of one occuring or not, especially since he believes that witchcraft is a bunch of hooey and Lily is a witch. They continue to dance around each other and try to figure out what to do, until Max's family gets drawn into this particular event because his younger brother is a profressor at the Art School where Lily is investigating the haunting or rather what turns out to be more serious and scary, a demon on the lose. Max doesn't want to believe any of it, and yet it is right there in front of his faced, but he thinks he can solve everything with science, and this is going to take alot for him to figure out in his mind. He may never be able to deal with it and there goes a relationship out the window.

I really enjoyed this series, and continue to look forward to what Juliet puts out in the written word.

View all my reviews



Chapter and Hearse (Booktown, Bk 4)
Chapter and Hearse (Booktown, Bk 4)
Author: Lorna Barrett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 5/9/2012


Chapter and Hearse by Lorna Barrett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really like this Booktown Mystery series. So I picked up books 4 and 5 of the series, and finished them as quickly as I picked them up!

Book 4, or Chapter & Hearse, starts out with a launch party of Angelica's new cookbook, but no one shows up, except this larger than life cut-out of Angelica. Bob Kelly, Angelica's boyfriend since she moved to Stoneham, is suppose to be there, but his car is parked in from of History Repeats Itself, and never shows up for the party. Tricia has never really like Bob all that much, so she finally decides that she is going down to History Repeats Itself and give Bob a piece of her mind, but before she can get there, she hears a loud whoosh, and the next thing she knows she is lying on her back, in the street with the firefighters and paramedics helping her up and moving her away from what used to be History Repeats Itself, it was the victim of a gas explosion, the store is gone and worse yet, the owner Jim Roth is dead. Bob Kelly is being carted away to the hospital, but he is being uncharacteristically tight lipped and refusing to talk to anyone, including the police.

Angelica leaves on a promotion tour of her book, and strange things keep happening to her, and finally Tricia can take it no more and starts investigating on her own. The twists and turns, and two different yet intertwined stories are going on at the same time, and it turns out that they all are related to Jim's death, actually his murder, turns out the gas meter was tampered with, it was no accident.


Another awesome story, well-written and enjoyable by Lorna Barrett. Will review the 5th next, then I can't wait for the next to come out!

View all my reviews



Colorado Wings: Four Inspirational Love Stories With a Dash of Intrigue (Inspirational Romance Collections)
Review Date: 8/31/2007


Fourn interconnecting novels in one book! The charachters we met in the first story, wind into the second and the third and finally finish in the fourth, spanning a time period of about five years.
Tracie Paterson is a wonderful storyteller and her ability to weave faith into her stories is amazing. The stories are at the same time, tear wrenching and heart warming.


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 336
Review Date: 1/26/2012


Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

It's not a cozy mystery, but the title caught my fancy. Shopaholic, and so I thought I would give it a read.

How do I describe it? It was a good book, but I felt lost in alot of ways. It was like the title character, Becky Bloomwood, is floundering in a world of money writers, when in realty she is not a money person but a shopper, and I felt confused that she kept trying to be a money writer, didn't she realize that she had so much talent as a fashion writer, why didn't she try to write what she loved? I mean if you don't love something, then how in the world can you write about it, and she is a shopper to the ultimate power, why not spend her time writing about it and submitting to magazines until she gets noticed!

The whole "relationship" with the money guy seemed to be far fetched and it never felt real to me, so I felt like it was forced the entire book. I would never pick up any of the books that come after this one, it just wasn't my style in fact, I found myself more upset with Becky throughout the book more often than I enjoyed the book.

So on to another book, and review and another chance to find, the next great thing in the written world.

View all my reviews



Crewel Yule (Needlecraft Mysteries, Bk 8)
Crewel Yule (Needlecraft Mysteries, Bk 8)
Author: Monica Ferris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 11/27/2007


Full review written on my blog http://www.atammcreation.blogspot.com

This is book number eight in this series, and in a departure from the norm, is written entirely in a "vacation" local, in other words not in the hometown of the charachters.

It is a wonderful building novel on the relationship, friendships and lives of those invloved in the story lines; Betsy, Goodwin, and Jill. As the book takes place at a needlecraft convention, these three are the only ones from the series that we really see in this book, but it is a fun departure, keeping the series fresh.

As always, a needlework pattern is included in the book, and this book happens to have a Crewel Pattern, which is not something that I have ever tried, but the pattern looks so neat. Just might have to give it a try.

A great cozy read in the eveing with a cup of tea, fuzzy blanket in front of the fire. Warm and enjoyable is how I would describe this book, in fact this whole series.


Death Waxed Over (Candlemaking, Bk 3)
Death Waxed Over (Candlemaking, Bk 3)
Author: Tim Myers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 11/15/2011


Death Waxed Over by Tim Myers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The third book in the Candlemaking series by Tim Myers. You know, i really wasn't sure i would like a male author, nothing against them, but writing a cozy mystery, I just wasn't sure. He actually gotthe candlemaking aspects and it works. So much so that I have breezed through books one, two and now three!

Harrison is accused of murder! A rival candle shop opens not far away, and the owner is loud and brash about hating Harrison and that she is going to "bury him", when she falls over dead at a festival, a "witness" swears that Harrison shot her, even saying she heard Harrison say he was going to bury her, well that was all well and fine, but it was actually the dead woman that said she was going to bury Harrison. Too bad for Harrison that the witness happened to be the wife of the owner of the only local newspaper. To save his business, and his life, Harrison investigates and figures out what really happened.

This was another well-written and engaging book by Tim Myers. I liked it so much that I researched more about the author to find that her has two other series, which I am now going to have to find and work on reading. Speaking of the series, there is a post on my blog titled Author Tim Myers, and it listed the series i found and the books in order for each series, yes I have a thing about reading books out of order, so i am always working on listing books in order.


View all my reviews



A Flicker of Doubt (Candlemaking, Bk 4)
A Flicker of Doubt (Candlemaking, Bk 4)
Author: Tim Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 11/20/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A Flicker of Doubt by Tim Myers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The fourth book in the Candlemaking series starts with Harrison enjoying a relaxing trip in his kayak on the Gunpowder River, only what he things is a tree stump he bumps in the water turns out to be his former girlfriend.

While the police are sure it was a suicide, Harrison is sure it wasn't, and with the help of his good friend Markum, he sets out to figure out what happened.

This is another good read in this series, introducing us to some new people, letting us learn more about some of the people we already know, and weaving a tale that bounds the shops in River's Edge closer together yet again.

There is still some good candlemaking advice in this book, but fewer long sessions on a particular type, just more general advice.

Still, it is worth the read.

View all my reviews



Glossed and Found (Bath and Body, Bk 3)
Glossed and Found (Bath and Body, Bk 3)
Author: India Ink
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 5/10/2012


Glossed and Found by India Ink
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Glossed and Found is the third book in the Bath and Body Mystery series by India Ink. I am one that just simply has to read books in the order they are meant to go in, but as I read this book, parts of the story seemed familiar, like I had read them before, but yet other parts of the story I knew I hadn't read before, and I know I didn't read the second book before a couple of days ago. I am thinking I might have picked this book up at one time, not realizing it was book three, and then maybe read parts of it, but even if I did, it was a book worth reading again!

Auntie and Persia run Venus Envy in small town, Gull Harbor, WA. It is an upscale bath and body shop that recently added a hairdresser and a makeup artist. Persia has been gifted with a sensitive smell that allows her to pick up on subtle undertones in a fragrance, and so she creates custom blends for her clients, along with all the fragrance blends for Venus Envy's line of bath and body products.

The day of the Thanksgiving Gala in Gull Harbor, Lisa Tremont, the makeup artist at Venus Envy, ducks out early leaving a note that she had to meet someone about the suspicions that she had regarding her late fathers estate. Persia is mad at Lisa for ducking out, but she also knows Lisa wouldn't do it if it wasn't important. Lisa had a date for the Gala, but she never makes it to the Gala, and never calls her boyfriend to cancel. Her sister Amy is worried sick, but there isn't much her boyfriend, the chief of police can do, since Lisa is an adult.

When no one has heard from Lisa in a couple of days, Amy files an official missing person report, but that isn't good enough for Persia and Amy. With the police budget already stretched to the limits and more cuts in the future, Kyle, the police chief can only do so much, especially since there isn't a ransom note and no clues as to what happened to Lisa. Persia is always checking things out on her own, usually to the chagrin or Kyle, but this time she asks his permission to talk to Lisa's clients, as the owner of the shop where she works, and report back to Kyle. This time kyle is glad to have thee help, because he just doesn't have the resources available to do alot on this case.

Another well-written and enjoyable book. I felt pulled in and routing for Persia to find Lisa, and for Kyle to get more money from the council, although that issue is still left hanging at the end of the book, some of the things mentioned in the book about what to do about the council were brought up and I look forward to the next book to see which ones come through and what help it does give the town. I find myself enjoying the town of Gull Harbor and wishing it was a true place that I could visit, but for now I will just have to keep reading about it in this series.

View all my reviews



Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 785
Review Date: 4/10/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Grave Sight by Charlaine Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed Charlaine Harris as an author, so i thought I would check out this series, the Harper Connelly Mystery series.

Harper and her step-brother Tolliver, travel around using Harpers unique gift to solve mystery's. At the age of fifteen, Harper was struck by lightening in her bathroom, and when she survived, she was left being able to find dead people. Not only can she find them, but she "sees" the last moments, telling her their cause of death, but she is not able to see who did it.

The people Harper and Tolliver met on their travels are mixed, some see her gift as a curse some a blessing, some like it and other hate her for it, but then again, what else would you expect of people. Some people are more open minded and open to things of this nature, and others, who don't understand it, just aren't willing to accept it.

Harper has been called to a small town Sarne to find a missing girl. Her boyfriend at the time was found dead in a field, and no one realized that she might be with him for a number of days. His death was ruled a suicide. Walking the field, Harper was able to tell them where the girl was and how she died, and the fact that the boyfriend most definitely did not kill himself. Her job done, she was ready to move on, only to be called back to Sarne. Harper finds herself having to solve the mystery of what is going on, why these deaths and what secret all these people held in order to get herself and her brother free of Sarne so that they can move on.

I found the book well-written and enjoyable. I wanted to get to know Tolliver and Harper more, to learn about them, in fact I found myself feeling for Harper, rough life add a strange gift, and it can be lonely, and I wanted her to find happiness. It was such a draw, and I found I wanted to journey with them, learn more about them, even fight for Harper.

Can't wait to gt ahold of the second book and continue learning about them.

View all my reviews



1 to 20 of 42 - Page: