Stacey R. (Stacelito) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 79 - Page:
Absolutely Normal Chaos
Absolutely Normal Chaos
Author: Sharon Creech
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/2/2008


This is a good book which is loosely connected to Walk Two Moons by Creech. It is a journal that was required writing during the summer and it chronicals the life of a young teenage girl. It is a cute book but not as good as Walk Two Moons.


The Always War
The Always War
Author: Margaret Peterson Haddix
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/16/2013


What a great plot and fun read!


The Atonement Child
The Atonement Child
Author: Francine Rivers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 266
Review Date: 3/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


What a fabulous story of real issues and putting God in the center of it. It really makes you think.


Barbie: Fairytopia (Step into Reading)
Barbie: Fairytopia (Step into Reading)
Author: Diane Wright Landolf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/2/2008


Cute book. My 2nd grader liked it but it seemed a little young for her.


Baseball Ballerina (Step into Reading, Step 3)
Baseball Ballerina (Step into Reading, Step 3)
Author: Kathryn Cristaldi, Abby Carter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/2/2008


Adorable book which kept my 2nd graders attention! The character wanted to be a "tomboy" and a "girlie girl" and couldn't figure out how to be herself.


Beatrice's Goat
Beatrice's Goat
Author: Page McBrier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/16/2013


What a fabulous story explaining how buying a goat for someone in another country can make such a huge impact! LOVE IT!


Black (Circle, Bk 1)
Black (Circle, Bk 1)
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 5/2/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Ted Dekker brilliantly creates a mythical world which parallel's this world. It took many chapters to "get into" the plot but when I did, I WAS HOOKED and FLEW through the second half!!!


Blink
Blink
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 3/29/2007


Ted Dekker weaves an impossible tale and somehow makes it seem possible!


Building Her House: Commonsensical Wisdom for Christian Women (Marigold)
Review Date: 2/4/2007


Good insight for the Christian Woman. It is an easy afternoon read but still has stuf to "chew" on.


Review Date: 1/5/2012


This is a very deep theology book which required several trips to the dictionary but WELL WORTH the investment of time to learn about Ethiopia in the Bible! It took three months of reading in bits and pieces and four hours to formulate my thoughts and notes about the Biblical Cushites! I would encourage anyone to read it if they are interested in Ethiopia in the Bible... just keep plugging along!


The Celebrity
The Celebrity
Author: Robert Elmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


GREAT story! The plot kept you thinking. It was very well written and made me want to keep reading...even when I shouldn't have been!


Christmas Memories
Christmas Memories
Author: Terry Meeuwsen (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/28/2006


Memories of Christmas past from people like Naomi Judd, Twila Paris, Anna Hayford, Babbie Mason, Shirley Boone,Barbara Johnson, Liz Curis Higgs, Vonette Bright. There are a total of 33 stories.


Clean Living in a Dirty World (Dialog)
Clean Living in a Dirty World (Dialog)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/2/2008


This is a fantastic look at the Media and Christianity! It is a relaxed reading and yet makes you think about how the media influences us...even when we are focused and aware that it has influence...it can still sink into our worldview.


Dave at Night
Dave at Night
Author: Gail Carson Levine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 11/26/2006


This book is a great way to get children to learn a little history about the 1920's and life in an orphanage. It is a little long for those 4th-5th graders but well worth it!


Dear Whiskers
Dear Whiskers
Author: Ann Whitehead Nagda
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/14/2007


Everyone in Jenny's class has to write a letter to someone in another class and pretend they are a mouse. Jenny's penpal writes back...Something seems mysterious about Jenny's pen pal. Wil lJenny discover her secret?


Dog Lies (Bob's Books: Amazing Ethics)
Dog Lies (Bob's Books: Amazing Ethics)
Author: Bob McGrath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/26/2007


A young girl lies to her mother about feeding her dog and ends up having to tell more and more lies to keep out of trouble. This book reminds children that you have to lie to cover up other lies and you WILL eventually get caught!


The Doll People (Doll People, Bk 1)
The Doll People (Doll People, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Godwin, Ann M. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 5/2/2008


Passed down from one generation to the next, the Doll family has lived in the same dollhouse, located in the same room of the Palmer family's house, for 100 years. Then the modern, plastic Funcraft family has moved into Kate's little sister's room. It is an interesting plot...dolls that move and are "real" when you leave the room. Didn't every little girl believe that at one time or another?


Emma's Vacation
Emma's Vacation
Author: David McPhail
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/7/2006


From School Library Journal
PreSchool-Grade 2 As with other stories about Emma, the little bear ( Fix-It 1984 and Emma's Pet 1985, both Dutton), McPhail provides a simple, enjoyable solution to a hectic or otherwise troublesome situation. This time, Emma is on vacation with her parents. But while her parents need to fill their days sightseeing rather than interacting with each other, Emma would rather spend her vacation going on a picnic, taking walks, singing songs, and telling stories. In the end, Emma wins out, and her parents learn what relaxing and a family vacation are all about. The soft watercolor illustrations give a peaceful feeling to this short, humorous story. This story would be a welcome addition to preschool storyhours, and the text is easy and short enough for beginning readers. McPhail's warm illustrations and clever story will hold the attention of youngsters who know what it is like to have to always do what adults want to do. Carol McMichael, Greenfield Public Library, Ind.


Eragon (Inheritance, Bk 1)
Eragon (Inheritance, Bk 1)
Author: Christopher Paolini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 566
Review Date: 10/28/2008


This is a fabulously vivid book. There are so many things left out of the movie! It is a "must read"!


Fairest
Fairest
Author: Gail Carson Levine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 5/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


An excellent book! One I own! I read it prior to allowing my "tween" daughter read it and it is abou 300 pages and I read it in two days! It is an EXTREEMLY well crafted story! My 6th grade "reluctant reader" chose to read this after reading Levine's "Two Princesses of Bamarre" and hopes to read others by Levine.


1 to 20 of 79 - Page: