Catherine L. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 66 - Page:
Always By My Side: A Father's Grace and a Sports Journey Unlike Any Other
Review Date: 1/4/2010


This book was interesting from the perspective of how a child's dream became a reality. It also has some anecdotal stories that were fun to read.


Amazing Grace : The Lives of Children and the Conscience of a Nation
Review Date: 10/4/2010


Older book but still relavant.


The American Plague: The Untold Story of Yellow Fever, the Epidemic that Shaped Our History
Review Date: 6/24/2009


Very interesting and easy to read. Makes you want to go out and cover yourself in netting and OFF!


The American Plague: The Untold Story of Yellow Fever, the Epidemic that Shaped Our History
Review Date: 7/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Incredible read!


Among the Cannibals: Adventures on the Trail of Man's Darkest Ritual
Review Date: 8/6/2012


Very interesting. Many tribes that he visited have all but abandoned the practice of cannibalism but unfortunately, one instance is still in practice. The subject matter is one that makes you wonder how you would react and behave in similar instances.


The Autobiography of Santa Claus
The Autobiography of Santa Claus
Author: Jeff Guinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/17/2007


My book club, comprised of teachers, read this book and thought of many applications for the middle school classroom. It was an enjoyable read for adults and a great way to introduce many historical figures to teens.


The Autobiography of Santa Claus
The Autobiography of Santa Claus
Author: Jeff Guinn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 1/26/2007


Very interesting account of the origin of Santa Claus. Not only does it provide a good read but many historical facts. Good for fun or information useful in a classroom.


Bag of Bones
Bag of Bones
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 386
Review Date: 4/2/2007


Absolutely classic Stephen King.....


Being Dead
Being Dead
Author: Jim Crace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 6/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


It is scary to think just how long a person can be missing, decomposing and soon completely disappear before anyone notices.


Better: A Surgeon's Notes on Performance
Better: A Surgeon's Notes on Performance
Author: Atul Gawande
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 7/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Finally, a doctor's honest story.


The Bielski Brothers: The True Story of Three Men Who Defied the Nazis, Saved 1,200 Jews, and Built a Village in the Forest
Review Date: 1/13/2010


Better than the movie!


Bloody Crimes: The Chase for Jefferson Davis and the Death Pageant for Lincoln's Corpse
Review Date: 2/9/2013


Absolutley facinating! I would suggest reading Killing Lincoln first as this story takes place immediately after the actual assasination. As much as I thought I knew about this era, it only proved that I had only scratched the surface.


Can't Wait to Get to Heaven
Can't Wait to Get to Heaven
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 1/19/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This was an absolute surprise. I chose this book as something to fill time and found a wonderfully written and humorous book that gives hope to what is on the other side. The main character is who I want to be when I am in my 80's;spunky, optimistic and able to take all that she is given with grace and humility. Spend some time with her.


Casting with a Fragile Thread: A Story of Sisters and Africa
Casting with a Fragile Thread: A Story of Sisters and Africa
Author: Wendy Kann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/29/2009


A wonderful read that contains the truth of Africa, its culture, weather, harshness and love of family that somehow makes it all work.


Cell
Cell
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 703
Review Date: 1/26/2007


What can I say.....Steven King.


Charlatan: America's Most Dangerous Huckster, the Man Who Pursued Him, and the Age of Flimflam
Review Date: 3/2/2009


What a fascinating book! Who knew just what went on before the AMA had any teeth and hte airwaves were being used for the first time as a commercial advertising tool. There are even implication of Nazi Germany using some of hte ideas of the Goat Gland King of America.

Read on and shake your head in pure amazement.


The Chris Farley Show: A Biography in Three Acts
The Chris Farley Show: A Biography in Three Acts
Author: Tom Farley Jr., Tanner Colby
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/29/2011


I never knew the tortured soul that was Chris Farley. I wish that someone could have broken through the shell but when you grow up in such a dysfuntional household that isn't capable of admitting the problem, there is only disaster in store for everyone. How sad to lose him so young.


Clean Cut (Paris Murphy, Bk 1)
Clean Cut (Paris Murphy, Bk 1)
Author: Theresa Monsour
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 9/17/2006


I am not sure. My mother read it and I haven't gotten around to it so I thought that someone else might enjoy it.


Dirty Secret: A Daughter Comes Clean About Her Mother's Compulsive Hoarding
Review Date: 2/9/2013


It was different than I thought it was going to be. Although it did cover the hoarder and touch on the reason behind her illness, it was more about the daughter/author and how it impacted her and how she dealt with it. Either way, it was a fast read that I chose to complete and not abandon.


Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Author: Alexandra Fuller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 258
Review Date: 2/9/2010


Very intersting. I have been to Africa and can envision her life so it means more to me than to most people.


1 to 20 of 66 - Page: