Reviews - Rachel (bigrachwoowoo)

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir
Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir
Author: Nick Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/28/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"An interesting read about a young man working in a homeless shelter and dealing with his father's homelessness. Tells the story of his growing up in Boston."


The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream
The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream
Author: Barack Obama
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 1/18/2008
11 member(s) found this review helpful.


"It was inspiring to read the thoughts of someone who thinks that things can actually change. While some of these ideas might be a bit naive, they are refreshing."


The Book of Salt
The Book of Salt
Author: Monique Truong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 3/24/2009


"This book was very well written. Excellent descriptions and character development. It's one of those books that I liked so much that I won't send it out on PBS because I know I'll want to read it multiple times."


The Borrowers (Borrowers, Bk 1)
Review Date: 7/13/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a very entertaining book I read as a child and just re-read. It has a great ending leaving the reader wondering whether "The Borrowers" are real or imaginary, and allows the reader to imagine the characters' future however you want. A great book for a child or adult."


The Crazed
The Crazed
Author: Ha Jin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/29/2006


"A little dry. Interesting account of Tienanman square."


The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
Author: Jean-Dominique Bauby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 7/5/2008
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book was not at all what I expected after seeing the movie. The movie essentially told the story of J.D. Bauby's life, his stroke/seizure, and his life afterwards in the hospital. The book is more about his reflections on life. While some of the stories are the same, the effect is not. Both are good in their own ways, but don't expect to love the book just because you loved the movie. I was expecting more of a narrative, and it is more a series of vignettes."


Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything
Review Date: 6/13/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A fast read, organized into chapters like individual studies so you can pause easily. Interesting concepts, but occasionally has flawed reasoning. Attacks other people's assumptions while ignoring his own. Innovative thinking however."


The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing
The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing
Author: Melissa Bank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 7/27/2009


"Even though I would agree this is chick lit, I don't think it's as simplistic as most other books in that category. The people in Jane's life are just like people you know, or people you will someday meet. Some of the lines in this book will stick with you. It has its sad parts, which make the ending sweeter. I would highly suggest this book, especially for women in the 18-30 age range."


Icy Sparks
Icy Sparks
Author: Gwyn Hyman Rubio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 605
Review Date: 11/24/2006


"Some of the descriptive passages get a bit dull. Found myself skipping paragraphs. Great insight into the mind of a child with a disability."


If Andy Warhol Had a Girlfriend
If Andy Warhol Had a Girlfriend
Author: Alison Pace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 11/24/2006


"A good love story. Not on my favorite books ever list, but a decent read."


Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl (Signet Classics (Paperback))
Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl (Signet Classics (Paperback))
Author: Harriet Jacobs
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/24/2006


"An interesting story, but the book seemed to go slowly."


Interpreter of Maladies
Interpreter of Maladies
Author: Jhumpa Lahiri
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 696
Review Date: 5/19/2008


"A good collection of stories. Interesting insight into Indian culture, and interpersonal relationships in general."


Keith Haring Journals
Keith Haring Journals
Author: Keith Haring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 4/10/2008


"Tells a lot about Haring's inspirations, philosophies, and life story. If you are a fan of his work, you will find this collection of his writings very interesting."


Misty of Chincoteague
Misty of Chincoteague
Author: Marguerite Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/5/2009


"I read this book when I was young and loved it. I'm going to Pony Penning Day this year, so I decided to re-read it. It's just as good as I remember (although of course it is simpler than I remember). What a great children's book. It's a magical story with a great moral."


My Name Is Red
My Name Is Red
Author: Orhan Pamuk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 12/28/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I wanted to read this book mainly because the author won the Nobel Prize. During the first 50 pages or so, I thought I was in for a real treat. The chapters are each told from the point of view of an alternating character and are sometimes very inventive (like the point of view of a painting of a dog, or a gold coin). Somewhere in the middle, the book becomes bogged down with the love story between Black and Shekure. There are also extensive descriptions of paintings which are Dickensian in length. This book became a chore to read near the end and I found myself not even really caring who the murderer was anymore. If you majored in Arabian art and literature or love Dickens, then this book is for you. If not, I wouldn't bother."


The Namesake
The Namesake
Author: Jhumpa Lahiri
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 818
Review Date: 12/18/2007
17 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I just read this book in 6 hours, the day after I received it in the mail. Very well written, excellent description but not drawn out. Not predictable. Definitely worth reading."


Never Let Me Go
Never Let Me Go
Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 7/6/2009


"Ishiguro uses an intriguing style throughout the book; introducing a hint of a topic that will be more fully discussed later, and then eventually getting to it. In the meantime, you wonder and come up with your own theories. Most of the loose ends are tied up at the end, but the ones that aren't allow you to feel a sense of mystery even after the book is over. His other books that I have read (The Remains of the Day and A Pale View of Hills) had a similar style, with details left untold.

The characters are described through their words and actions. There is little physical description given, which allows you to picture them however you like. Ruth is a particularly interesting character, and the contrasts and conflicts between Kathy (the narrator) and Ruth are the most complex parts of the story.

If you have enjoyed anything else by Ishiguro, you will like this book also."


A Pale View of Hills (Vintage International)
A Pale View of Hills (Vintage International)
Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/19/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Creepy and intriguing. This book had me wondering what really happened for hours afterwards. A very different side of this author than in The Remains of the Day."


Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs:  A Low Culture Manifesto
Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs: A Low Culture Manifesto
Author: Chuck Klosterman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 231
Review Date: 2/7/2008


"This book is funny, and sometimes thought-provoking. It's not meant to be a call to arms or anything, it's humor. This is the kind of book that you'll reference to in a conversation with your friends."


Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2086
Review Date: 8/16/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book was excellent. The descriptions of the classical culture, including foot binding, arranged marriages, and traditional female roles, were incredible. The ending was perfect, not in a "everything turned out great" way, but in a realistic way. I am reading "Peony in Love" now, and I think I'm hooked on this author."


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: